We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn to the Woods

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn to the Woods
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a wonderful time at this B&B. Patrick was a very welcoming and generous host. He made us comfortable and provided us with helpful information about the island but also provided us with plenty of privacy to relax and enjoy ourselves. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I would recommend this B&B to anyone spending time in Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This place is really a run down home. The price is extremely high in comparison to ammenities you may find at a different B and B. Our room was titled the Nautica room and the furnishings are extremely uncomfortable. The bed is extremely soft and the remaining furniture is very undesireable. The website stated private bath that is actually not attached to the room but is in a common hallway that is blocked off from other guests. (You never really know if someone is in the hallway.) The suite did have a private hot tub on an attached deck however the deck was literally a foot or two from the owners deck. (It was nice though to sit in it and look at the stars.) The inn keeper did make us a nice breakfast which is the reason the review is not "Terrible." The common area for all the guests lacked proper furnishings that you would expect for $225.00 per night. Also, if you need ice you don't have direct access to it as the kitchen is kept locked and the innkeeper is not found when needed to get ice. Also, the cleanliness of the property is not very well kept. Cob webs, stained carpeting, lack of vacuuming, etc...

Do yourself a favor and stay at a different location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LandMinDesMoines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

There are a few places to stay on Friday Harbor, but I guarantee this is the best place. Patrick is an excellent host! Upon our arrival, he took the time to give my husband and I a mini tour of the premises, and to also give us advice on how to get around, and the best places to go. Local wine is complementary; found in the common area fridge of the house.

We stayed in the Forest Room; which I recommend if you want the most bang for your buck. The decor was elegant; and I normally don't even think about such things, but I was actually impressed by the bathroom, it was very spacious and cozy. Of course, what truly made the room was the personal hot tub outside (((!!Romantic!!!))) The room is very much surrounded by a "forest" of trees; you kind of feel like you're camping, but camping in luxury. Leave your cell phones elsewhere, because there is no reception; but that's a good thing if you want temporary relief from the annoying stress of life.

The absolute only thing I would change is for the owners to add a featherbed to the mattress, because it was extra firm. However, this place still gets my highest rating, because I know not everyone likes a soft mattress, and you're so enamoured with everything else in the room that the mattress becomes a minute complaint. And of course I won't forget about mentioning the great breakfast served by Patrick. There's so much thought put into preparation; very colorful, fruity, nutritious and delicious. PLEASE STAY HERE when visiting Friday Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our first Bed and Breakfast Experience. Attention, Attention, Attention to details is the best way to describe our stay at the Inn to the Woods. To say the least, Inn to the Woods exceeded our expectations. Patrick is the best Host and both of our Breakfast's were 5 star. We stayed in the Forest room. The bed was very comfortable and the hot tub was a welcomed addition after 6 hours of kayaking.
We can hardly wait for our next vacation to Friday Harbor, we will differently be staying at the Inn to the Woods.
Thank you Patrick
Everett and Christine Mason

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cowboynup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Inn to the Woods was our first B&B experience and it was lovely! The innkeepers have two cats, who were there to greet us upon our arrival. The innkeeper was friendly and even recommended a restaurant for dinner, which turned out to be one of the best meals I had while on San Juan Island. Our room, as well as the common room and kitchen were full of personal touches and decorations. Everything was clean and well kept. Every little detail was thought of, from sugar cubes (real sugar cubes!) for the coffee, to chocolates on the bedside table, to fresh flowers in our room and on the kitchen table. We stayed in the Nautical Room, which has a hot tub on the balcony, surrounded by the woods. It was very quiet and serene. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious! The first day, we had Belgian waffles and a variety of fruit and the second day we had the fluffiest omelets, ham, muffins and fruit (served in little ramekins!). I would certainly stay here again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kelseytravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The accommodations at Inn To The Woods are so comfortable, beautiful and clean. Patrick was very friendly and the 2 breakfast meals were both 5 Stars! I felt refreshed and rested after the 2 day/ night stay there. If I go back to Friday Harbor, I will definitely go here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 32283Travelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We had the most amazing experience at Inn to the Woods. The drive from downtown (the ferry) is short and scenic. We saw deer and a red tailed fox on the way there. Patrick, his wife and two friendly dogs greeted us upon arrival. The place was well lit, there were candles all around and a fire in the fireplace.

It was off season (November) and so we were upgraded to the nicest suite. Every detail in the room made you feel at home. The hot tub for our room was private and surrounded by Evergreen trees. The location is beautiful and quiet if you are looking for a relaxing get away.

The breakfast Patrick prepared was amazing! We had omelets, cranberry muffins and fresh fruit.

So many places call themselves a Bed and Breakfast, but once you arrive you discover it is more of a condo or apartment set-up. Inn to the Woods is definitely the traditional Bed & Breakfast and has so much to offer. We are definitely going back there and will recommend this place to all of our friends. Thanks again to Patrick for making our stay so incredibly wonderful! We really appreciate it! =) (Chris & Lynne)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
3.2 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 349 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
3.7 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
5.0 mi away
Deer Harbor Inn
Deer Harbor Inn
#1 of 2 in Deer Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn to the Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn to the Woods

Property: Inn to the Woods
Address: 46 Elena Dr, San Juan Island, WA 98250-6924
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Inn to the Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn To The Woods San Juan Island, WA - San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing