We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of normal life. The rooms were very nice and cozy. We always had our windows opened for the island air to circulate. If you want to stargaze or watch the sunset, you can walk out on the property sit in a chair and stare at the sky and even hear the whales blowing in the back ground. Christian and Lea take wonderful care of their property. There are a flower beds and pretty landscaping all over. The breakfast was delicious! I couldn’t stop eating the scones and biscuits Lea made. The eggs are fresh from their chickens. The orange juice, strawberry, and banana drink that Christian whipped up was very tasty. Both Christian and Lea the area very well and know where to go eat and for sightseeing. There is a book of local restaurant reviews from guests that had stayed. We had a great time talking to Christian, Lea, and the other guests that were staying there. It felt very homely and relaxing. There is WiFi available if you feel the need to connect. We’ll be sure to head back to Olympic Lights when we go and visit the San Juans again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank blazingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2014

Our stay at Olympic Lights was wonderful. Christian and Lea were the perfect hosts and provided us with excellent suggestions for places to visit and restaurants to try. The accommodations were very comfortable. The breakfasts were fantastic. The grounds were very special and provided the perfect setting to relax and reflect. Olympic Lights and its owners, Christian and Lea, will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

You know when you have found something very special, it sticks with you and you reflect upon your experience often, well, Olympic Lights is very special! Not only the beautiful setting rife with abundant refreshing stimuli for all the senses, ( wild flowers, fruit trees, garden, and surrounding fields, gentle salt breeze, and the occasional spouting sound of passing Orcas. I have left out much, for every experience is different!)
The Inn itself is clean, neat, and well adorned with all kinds of interesting items and artwork (some from the owner herself), and wonderful books. The rooms are very comfortable and ample for a good nights rest, you feel like your at home.
I have saved the best for last, the owners, Christian and Lea Andrade are the gifted people that show everyone else how it is done! The love that they have for their special place, and for every guest that chooses to receive their warmth, is unparalleled. From attention to detail, to the gifted way they make you feel like family, they are amazing and talented and very accommodating! After running the B&B for over 30 years, they know everyone on the island. There is no better place to get info as to where to go for sights, food, drink, or anything you desire! How many B&B's give you a hug when you leave, it is standard at Olympic Lights.
I can't wait to return and greet my new friends with a smile and a big hug!

Room Tip: If it's warm outside, the Garden room is always cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Olympic Lights B and B offers more than most. The hosts are fantastic and every aspect of their establishment reflects their love, care, and concern for your well being, all presented in an atmosphere that has been carefully created and nurtured over the years to a point of perfection. It is a great place to base yourself for your explorations of San Juan Island, which is a treasure to behold, but it is also place to stay, recover, and soak up the positive energy that abounds. The gardens, the trails through the long grass, the barn, and even the chickens and their coop have been thoughtfully and artistically arranged to encourage you to relax and indulge yourself. A few hours sitting under an apple tree and taking it all in with the setting sun, mountains and sea, make one ready to take on all that life has to offer and enjoy it to the utmost. It is hard to put a price on something as valuable as that.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LennyJRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

We have been visiting the San Juan's for 24 years and we have stayed at Olympic Lights for
18 of those anniversaries. Christian & Lea are the consummate hosts. They LOVE their Inn, and they LOVE their guests. We have always enjoyed our stay, and marvel at how they make every
one feel special. They know the island so well and are quite intuitive as to what you might like to do while you are there! It truly is our home away from home!!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are impeccably clean, our favorite is the "RA" room for it's bay wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

From the tree lined road to the charming 1895 farm house, to the gracious host, Christian and Lea, this was a wonderful start to our 10 day vacation. There was nothing I could or would complain about. Christian and Lea were most helpful with places to see and eat. We even got to see them perform in their Marimba Band, what a treat!! There were fresh bouquets in our room and bathroom everyday. Breakfast was wonderful. Lea is such a great chef...fresh eggs, fruit, fruit juice and home made biscuits every morning. We stayed in the Olympic Room overlooking the gardens and with a view of the water. We had our own bathroom that was very nice. The kitchen had the original wood burning stove and other unique furnishings throughout the house. I could go on and on about what a wonderful place this is and how Christian and Lea made everyone feel so a part of their family. I hope we will make this a yearly trip. Ron & Sylvia

Room Tip: Our room,The Olympic Room, was the smallest but had the best view. Even though it was the smallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Olympic Lights is beautiful in every respect. From the physicall beauty of the inn and the surrounding land and panoramic views, to the spiritual beauty that eminates from owners Christian and Lea. This is our second visit to Olympic Lights for my wife and I. We just decided that we are going to come back every year forever. Everytime we are at Olympic lights we feel welcome and well cared for. Christian and Lea's warmth and hospitality combined with the spectacular natural environment creates a sense of personel well being that should not be missed. Olympic Lights embraces you as you are, and you are free to soak up as much of the warmth as you desire. We were able to experience the company of our hosts as well as the splended guests that Olympic Lights attracts. We also had as much peace and quite as we desired. We have been to many different types of b@b establishements and small lodges but Olympic Lights is in a league of its own. Our stay was an experience of pure joy and beauty that we were able to carry back to our daily lives when we returned home. See you next year, Olympic Lights.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a distinct character and view. Read the descriptions on the web site to find th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
16.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
105 reviews
4.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Inn to the Woods
Inn to the Woods
#7 of 24 in San Juan Island
60 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
363 reviews
4.9 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 146 Starlight Way, 5.5 miles south of Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7152
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range: $125 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Olympic Lights Bed And Breakfast San Juan Island, WA - San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing