We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good To Be Back”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Reviewed August 29, 2013

After seven years' hiatus we finally made it back to San Juan Island, Friday Harbor and the Olympic Lights B&B. It was as if we never missed a beat. We felt at home at once. We first visited the island and the B&B in 1997 with our family. After that, just my husband and I would travel out to the island and stay at Olympic Lights. It became "our" retreat. We always marvel at how quiet and serene it is at the B&B. We are refreshed by the wonderful views of the mountains and waterways. Our hosts, Lea and Christian, are the epitome of graciousness. We can hardly wait for next summer so we can return. We will never let the years slip away again without a visit to the Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is by far the most private but all of the rooms have special features and all are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieka58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 153 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were first timer's to Olympic Lights and we will definitely be back! Lea and Christian have created such a welcoming B&B. They are so fun to talk with and the breakfasts were delicious. The other guests we met there were almost all return visitors and nice people we were grateful to meet. Everything about our stay was fabulous! Thank you for a special and memorable stay. We look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Garden Room on the main floor. I'd be more than happy to stay there again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

and our second stay was, if possible, even nicer than our first. The main house had been painted and generally spiffed up, there was a new, large coop for "the girls", the flock of fancy chickens who supply the eggs for Lea's delicious and healthy homemade breakfasts, and the garden is glorious, with Adirondack chairs set out for lazing about. The location, just across the road from American Camp is very much to our taste, well out of Friday Harbor, which has grown so much since we first came to the San Juan Islands. Horses grazed in an adjoining meadow. If you want some of the laid-back old island flavor, this is a great place to be. Lea and Christian could not be better hosts, and even entertained us, since we got to see them perform one evening with their marimba band. They are also very reliable guides to the island's restaurants and activities.

As in most B&B's, the rooms are devoid of modern "conveniences" - no phone or TV, though there is Wifi. In my opinion, getting away from those things is why we seek out places like this, and we hope to come back to more of the same.

Room Tip: If having a private, connecting bathroom is important to you, be sure to book the Heart Room, as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidnora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a grand introduction to San Juan Island! Christian and Lea made us feel so welcome at the B&B as well as making terrific suggestions of activities in the area.

If we visit the Pacific Northwest again, we will again visit Olympic Lights where the lodging, breakfast, garden, and views are stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROBERTA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I have just had our fourth fabulous stay at Olympic Lights. It has become our tradition to celebrate our June birthdays here each year. Each time we've come the experience has just gotten richer. This time when we arrived, as we sat outside in Lea's gorgeous flower garden, sipping our wine, watching innumerable hummingbirds feeding from the blooms, we tried to put into words the feelings we had just being at Olympic Lights. We felt our stress melt away, an atmosphere of softness and coziness welcomed us, and we felt so happy to be back at this favorite retreat. Lea and Christian are wonderful hosts, enthusiastic, engaging, always helpful and full of great suggestions and ideas of how to enjoy San Juan Island. We have settled on staying in the Heart Room, which is beautifully appointed, perfectly spotless, cozy and comfortable. The breakfasts Lea and Christian prepare are absolutely delicious and set you up for a great day. Egg dishes made with eggs from the resident chickens, always homemade biscuits, scones, or other delicious treat, fresh fruit to start the meal, a wonderful "fruit smoothie" each morning of orange juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, blended expertly by Christian. That gives you an idea of what breakfast is all about!!! We'll be back next year, if not before!!

Room Tip: Each room is special and unique. The Heart Room, a little more expensive than the others upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Variedthrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and we spent the weekend at Olympic Lights B&B. Lea and Christian are most gracious hosts, looking after every detail. They made us feel like we were home. It is so peaceful there, beautiful views and tons of wildlife. We were wowed by Lea's healthy, filling breakfasts, everything made from scratch and gluten-free. The experience was phenomenal and we will go back for sure.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Heart room. Large spacious room with private bath and king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Olympic Lights offers several very nicely furnished rooms. A couple offer spectacular views of Haro Strait and the Olympic Mountains. The only drawback to these rooms is that their private bathrooms are across the hall (robes are provided).

The tasty and ample breakfasts are vegetarian (not vegan). Everything -- the individual and common rooms, the bathrooms, and the large and pleasant grounds, are spotlessly clean and well maintained.

One thing that some may find irritating (or charming, depending on your philosophy) is that the hosts will not accept credit cards. Personal checks are OK, however. Also, while you can check availability online, to make a reservation you have to call, and securing the reservation requires mailing a check. Another limitation is that Olympic Lights is only open during the tourist season, so if you prefer to make your San Juan Island visits in the off-season you will need to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: The Olympic Room upstairs has the best view, but it's also the smallest and its bathroom is acro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeptic2241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
16.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
4.7 mi away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
105 reviews
4.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Inn to the Woods
Inn to the Woods
#8 of 24 in San Juan Island
60 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
4.9 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 146 Starlight Way, 5.5 miles south of Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7152
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range: $125 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Olympic Lights Bed And Breakfast San Juan Island, WA - San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing