We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healing Medicine for the Soul”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Juan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Pala Indian Reservation
1 review
“Healing Medicine for the Soul”
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed at Olympic Lights in early spring 2008 when the nights were cool and the days were touched with the warming breeze and swelling buds of a new year. We've traveled a bit and stayed in several B&B's, and we can say this was one of our most pleasant experiences. The quiet country setting, the beautifully restored old farm house, and the magnificent views of the Olympic mountains were healing medicine for our souls. The bedroom and bathroom were tastefully furnished, comfortable, and very clean. And the sitting room, with its wood-burning heater, was delightful and inviting. But most of all, we appreciate the sweet and sincere attention our hosts, Christian and Lea, provided, along with elegant home-cooked breakfasts. Our next trip to San Juan Island will certainly include another stay at Olympic Lights.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank MuchasSmuchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    8
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
108
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, CA
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2008

For us, this is a magical place. Regardless of the weather, the surroundings bring the individual to a very peaceful and private place. This was our 2nd visit and we were welcomed like old friends.. (By the way, that's the way we were welcomed on our first visit too.) Christian and Leah are the ultimate hosts. Conversation and comradery when you want it, peace and quiet when you want it. The rooms are pristine, with views of water and/or beautiful terrain from every window. Walk to the water or walk to town. When it is cold, Christian keeps the fire going in the parlor, all the time.

The breakfasts are a real treat. Once you've eaten a fresh egg from their own resident hens, you never want to go back to the "store boughten" type again. And don't hesitate to ask Lea for any "overrun" on her incredible blueberry scones.

Suggestion.. don't go to Olympic lights unless you want to relax, renew or fall in love again.

  • Liked — The feeling of being an honored guest
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Globud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, wa
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2008

From the moment we set foot in the Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast, we felt right at home. Lea and Christian are such a well balanced, healthy and happy couple. We learned so much and took so much more away from that weekend then just a nice stay at a cozy B&B.

Even though the weather didn't cooperate, the overall experience was one we'll never forget. The town of Friday Harbor was welcoming and friendly, and just minutes from our doorstep. Lea's breakfast was unbeatable and Christian's hard work was evident. He kept the fire going for us the entire weekend!

We will definitly be back to see Lea's amazing garden this summer! Thanks again, Lea and Chrisian!

Michell & Liz

  • Liked — The Inn Keepers! They are wonderful!
  • Disliked — The cold weather (but it was December so...)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank photoladyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2008

Very nice visit! This B&B is near American Camp on San Juan Island. We hiked during day and night very close to this B&B, including South Beach, which is also very close. Excellent scenery! The B&B is very quiet and peaceful - with an open feel in nature - a positive retreat for any city dweller. The owners are an awesome, caring couple who have owned and operated the B&B for 20 plus years. The B&B itself is a very well kept, updated late1800's converted farm house. The room was tight, the King bed & matress very comfortable and the room was pristine & clean. No mold at all! The breakfast was a delight, with fresh fruit, scones, spicy egg dish, juice and coffee. Yum! I higly recommend this place!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank duraldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Just returned from a brief stay at Olympic Lights. The B&B is a lovely yellow farmhouse surrounded by a garden and fields. Delicious breakfasts cooked every morning. We were all encouraged to abscond with any leftover biscuits and scones, an offer which we all took to heart.

Our bedroom was spacious and well appointed with soothing pastel colour scheme. The decor could perhaps be updated a bit, but I have to say that of all the B&Bs we stayed in over the course of our vacation, I had my best night's sleep there. I would happily return and definitely recommend the accomodations.

Warm and welcoming hosts!

  • Liked — Gorgeous surroundings, fabulous food (take any extra biscuits!)
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agate10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2006

This B&B was so enjoyable for a group of us who booked the three rooms on the second floor of this lovely home. The hosts were welcoming, helpful, informative, fun, and warm. We had the extra pleasure of hearing them play in their marimba band, great! Breakfasts were good, with homemade biscuits/scones and fresh egg dishes. Beds were comfy and we all slept well.

The setting was lovely, visually and energetically peaceful for us all. There is much beauty within and around the house. The B&B is located out of town, so having a car is required, but we were happy to park it and sit on the deck or walk around the beautiful grounds and down to bluffs near the water.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zusclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2006

Stayed here for several nights in late summer. Had a very pleasant stay. We had the BEST sleep we have ever had on a vacation. This is the only vacation I can look back on and remember being well rested and comfortable. The B&B is very quiet, there are no TVs and no phones in the rooms. There were no locks on the rooms, and the house itself was never locked. While this added charm, it is still something to consider if you are thinking of visiting. The rooms themselves were simple, but fine. We had a private bath attached to the room, which was adequate although nothing luxurious.

The hosts are very friendly and helpful in providing suggestions on places to visit. The breakfast they provided every morning was always very good. The eggs were taken right from the chickens that lived outside of the house.

The view from the B&B was breathtaking, although you cannot reach the water from there. The whole property is fenced in, so when you arrive/leave the property you have to get out and open a gate, which can be a bit aggravating. However, in the end we would like to go back and visit. The place had alot of charm which overcame any negatives. It was well worth the reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syrurs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Juan Island
4.9 mi away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
4.9 mi away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
488 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
492 reviews
6.9 mi away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
133 reviews
16.9 mi away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast

Property: Olympic Lights Bed and Breakfast
Address: 146 Starlight Way, 5.5 miles south of Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7152
Location: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in San Juan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Olympic Lights Bed And Breakfast San Juan Island, WA - San Juan Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing