We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hellifield Peel Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hellifield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hellifield Peel Castle
Ranked #1 of 4 Hellifield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Simply the best bed and breakfast I've ever stayed in. Karen and Francis have a beautiful home and we were made so welcome. It was well worth waiting 15 months from when we booked the Attic Apartment to when we stayed (you have to book early!)
We'll definitely be going back, as soon as we can.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaveSTaunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeelCastle, Owner at Hellifield Peel Castle, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review, it is lovely for your stay to be called 'perfection'!

We hope you can stay again.

Best Wishes Karen & Francis Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
185
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2010

I booked a night at Peel Castle, Heillifield for my Husbands birthday as a surprise. When we arrived we were blown away with its beauty and location, simply breathtaking on a sunny day. Our hosts were excellent and had thought of every home from home comfort and to a high standard. We stayed in the square room which was beautifully furnished.
We booked ourselves a taxi with skipton taxis but if failed to turn up but managed to rebook so just double check if you use them. We ate at the devonshire arms brasserie which was lovely but a good 30 mins drive from peel castle. We would love to return to the castle again and can understand the owners vision.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HampshireJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeelCastle, Manager at Hellifield Peel Castle, responded to this review, August 15, 2010
Thank you for for taking the time to write a review we are really please that you found the castle 'stunning'! We aim to please!

Best wishes Karen & Francis Shaw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Stayed in the old bedroom for sadly just 1 night, when you enter the room it certainly has the wow factor. Huge tall bed, very grand, superb wet room. Log burner, too hot to use on that evening, but must be lovely when it is cooler. Fridge in room to chill the wines provided and the fresh milk - nice touch. Hand made chocs and flowers added to the luxury touches. The building and furnishings are stunning, very classy. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really hope we will be able to stay again in the future. Karen & Francis very friendly and helpful. Not cheap but boy is it worth it !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2010

We booked a year ago but couldn't quite get the date of our Anniversary in 2010. However we have booked for 2011 and are in the Attic.
This year we stayed in The Old Room for 3 nights but having seen all the rooms they all have something individual to offer. The special touches that Francis and Karen have added are really welcome .... from the wine to the white fluffy towels and bathrobes. Wonderful.

Each room has a copy of the Grand Designs original programme and it is worth watching again to appreciate the mammoth task that these two special people took on all those years ago (2004 - 2007). Absolutely amazing.

We loved everything about The Peel and it was great to actually see the place 'in the flesh' at long last. Francis has gathered together a host of historical details and information about the building and it makes really interesting reading.

Life here is made very relaxing thanks to the owners laid-back approach and attention to the small details. Breakfast is wonderful and caters for small as well as hearty appetites.

Thare are many good places to eat nearby and being in The Yorkshire Dales the countryside is just stunning.

Can't wait to get back next year. A million thanks to Karen & Francis. You both deserve a host of medals.

Janet & David Gribbin

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gribbling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

My husband booked us in for a two night stay as a birthday treat, as we had watched this castle featured on Grand Designs and revisited, and this was our favourite (couldn't geat booked in last year as it was so popular). The house is stunning. We stayed in the Square Bedroom, with a fantastic four poster bed, carved stone fireplace with woodburning stove, and an amazing bathroom with granite bath big enough for the two of us, with stunning views over beautiful countryside, including a striking twisted beech tree. The extra touches were great - wine, chocs, cake, candles, robes...it was all so relaxing. Breakfast was great, and Karen was a great host, pointing us in the right direction for pubs, restaurants, places to visit, maps and books for walks, and telling us about the history of the house. Nothing was too much trouble. The local pub was great - good grub and friendly locals, and the Angel was also good. Bolton Abbey and Strid walk beautiful. It was inspiring to see the fantastic work and design that Francis and Karen have put in to achieve this vision, which is still ongoing. We have rebooked for next year in a different room - can't wait! Don't miss out on booking this gem - it won't be a B&B forever.
Sally and John MCCann
Warwickshire

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally-Mc-West-Mids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter,Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed at Peel Castle to celebrate our 4th wedding anniversary. The trip was eagerly anticipated after seeing the castle on Grand Designs, we were not disappointed one bit! We stayed in the square bedroom which was large and luxurious with views to die for. Some wonderful touches included a four poster bed, handmade chocolates, woodburner, fresh flowers, an amazing bath big enough for two, fresh milk for tea and homemade shortbread. The breakfast was delicious especially the local beef sausages. Karen and Francis were wonderful hosts, we commend them for their vision and thank them for sharing this wonderful special place with us. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoDietitian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

You don't often get to sleep in a castle, especially one set in the wonderful Yorkshire Dales and one that has so obviously been restored as much as a labour of love than as a pure business venture. Watch the efforts that went into this place on Grand Desgins on Channel 4 and then go and visit and you will fall in love with the place as Karen and Francis have. We stayed in the Old Bedroom which is a fantastic size ( i work in the property industry and I have seen smaller flats than that room). The whole expereince shows touches of thought and class from the choclates ont he pillows to the lovely cooked breakfast each morning. Whilst I agree it's not cheap but if cost is all your going on your kind of missing the point and you might be better in a nearby travelodge if you are afte endulgence and tranuility in a historic setting go for it.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellifield
2.2 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Skipton North (Gargrave) Hotel
11.0 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
9.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
5.6 mi away
Littlebank Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellifield Peel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellifield Peel Castle

Property: Hellifield Peel Castle
Address: Peel Green | Hellifield, Hellifield BD23 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hellifield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hellifield
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellifield Peel Castle restored from ruin to Castle and featured on Grand Designs in 2007. Four bedrooms with antique four poster beds are available for Bed & Breakfast and the "Attic Apartment" can be B&B or on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hellifield Peel Castle Hotel Hellifield
Hellifield Peel Castle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing