We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hellifield Peel Castle
Nearby Hotels
$79
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Craven Arms(Giggleswick)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Skipton(Skipton)(Great Value!)
$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Traddock(Austwick)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$118
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveler rating
218
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
218
8
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 227 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed here to celebrate a birthday, having avidly watched the restoration on TV. We chose the attic room/suite and weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived, Karen made us feel totally welcome and at ease - letting us have a nosey around the other rooms. The attic room is different to the others - being modern and minimalist - everything is very sleek and beautiful. The cherry on the cake is the large roof terrace with amazing views, which enticed us out over and over again even though it was frosty!! The little touces, such as chocolates, yummy bubble bath and homemade shortbread, along with cosy dressing gowns made it feel super luxurious. It is posible to stay in the attic on a self catering basis, and the kitchen is so well equipped that this would be a joy.
Fantastic breakfast, with lovely local sausages.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauraebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgenYorkshire, Owner at Hellifield Peel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2010

Thank you so much for your review, we are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your night in the Attic Apartment and the roof terrace in February!
I'll let local farmer who's sausages you had for breakfast know you enjoyed his Hellifield Highland beef!

Many Thanks and hope to see you both again sometime.

Karen & Francis Shaw
p.s Love the photo's that you have taken!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We've just returned from an amazing long weekend staying in the attic at Hellifield Peel Castle. We had been looking forward to this trip for some time and my gosh it didn't disappoint. Karen and Francis were warm and welcoming hosts and everywhere we turned there were thoughtful little touches which added to the whole experience. Karen cooks a delicious breakfast too which added to the treat. The attic room with terrace views over the rolling hills was just incredible and it was hard to drag ourselves out each day to sightsee. Each of the rooms have a special charm so don't despair if you can't book the attic. We cannot praise Peel Castle too highly and thank Karen and Francis so much for opening up their home and piece of history for us to share.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sausages121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgenYorkshire, Owner at Hellifield Peel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2010

Thank you for your great review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the 'whole' experience and the roof terrace with its view! It has looked fabulous in the frost this February.

Many Thanks
Karen & Francis Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay, sheer delight, out of this world. It is a definite get away from it all place to stay with superb hosts Karen and Francis Shaw. The castle is just stunning in every possible way, the grounds, countryside, the rooms. Little touches in each room of bath robes, wine, chocolates, fresh flowers, homemade biscuits, complimentary toiletries, torches, note pads....the list is endless. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. There is not one single thing to criticize at all. It is so lovely to stay at the Peel knowing about the history and the restoration that Francis and Karen have so hardworking put into the Peel.....We will most definitely be visiting again

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spendy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MorgenYorkshire, Owner at Hellifield Peel Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2010

Thank you for your lovely review and for your repeat booking for 2011. Next year hopefully without the fog!

Glad to hear you loved all the little bits and bobs we left in the bedroom for you to enjoy!

See you both for your 2nd wedding anniversary next year!

Kind Regards,
Karen & Francis Shaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We had the most wonderful 3 day trip. The Peel was gorgeous, we stayed in The Attic and my husband's grandparents stayed in The Old Bedroom. They are in their 80's but had no trouble with all the stairs. The weather was fantastic and we enjoyed coffee on the terrace every morning and then again every evening with drinks and nibbles after our days out on the Yorkshire Dales, Fountains Abbey and Skipton Castle. Karen joined us for drinks on the terrace on one of those beautiful evenings. Try the Angel Inn in Hetton for lunch, food guide listed and a nice drive. We cooked dinner every evening in the well organised kitchen and had the best time finding local places to buy our ingredients.

The entire Peel is kept very clean and still feels as though it was brought back to life yesterday. Breakfast was superb and served in the very grand dining room and was a great start to every day. Karen and Francis Shaw have created a magical place and would recomend both the Old Bedroom and The Attic for a family gathering or just a romantic retreat. The other rooms are lovely too.

It's a little expensive compared to other luxury B&B's but there really is nothing else to compare it to other than perhaps a stay in a Landmark Trust which is just as expensive and not as clean or as nice in some cases. Peel is booked into the end of 2010 and they are using this money to help pay for the restoration of the castle so a very worthwhile cause. Sparkling and still water, chocolates, tea and coffee and hot chocolate is all made available 24/7. They also brought up home made baking for an afternoon treat.

They may not run it as a B&B forever so book now and stay in this historical and magical place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Trip-Never-Ends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

I only stayed one night at the Peel but it was a really special experience. We stayed in the old bedroom and it was just what you would expect for a luxury castle. There was a four poster bed, a real fire, a walk in wet room and a huge TV with a DVD. I loved the personal touches like the box of chocolates and the provision of bath robes and I really cannot fault the service at all. Very friendly and helpful overall.
The onlt fault I could find was that I do think they need to up their game a little bit with regards to breakfast. This is a luxury break and the food needs to reflect this. What we had was plentiful and well cooked but not much of a choice and not luxury. At the moment the attraction is the fact this was on TV's Grand Designs (which is why we stayed there) and for the future the hosts will need to make their own way and not rely totally on the short lived 'fame' generated by this and providing a higher standard of breakfast will ensure that people still come to the Peel.
I can't see me being able to afford to go back there again as the prices next year have gone up considerably. It was a unique and wonderful experience and I shall treasure the memories and hope that one day I will be able to return.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elfy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews