We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Every Penny”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hellifield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hellifield Peel Castle
Ranked #2 of 4 Hellifield B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 28, 2013

There is very little that can be added to the other reviews. We stayed in the Attic Apartment for one night.The whole place is stunning. The views from the attic are stunning. We even saw a steam train passing in the distance! The cakes & chocolates etc. in the room are a very nice touch and the breakfast delicious. In the interests of balance....the water pressure in the shower was rubbish and some of floors very creaky (hope we didn't disturb the guest below too much) Knowing some of the trials and tribulations Francis, Karen and family had to endure to bring this fabulous building back into use just leaves you in awe of what they have achieved and an inspiration to others. Some of our fellow guests commented on how lucky they were to live in such a place..... luck played no part they deserve every piece of it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 227 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Looking at the web-site gives an idea of what to expect but from the moment you arrive the castle exceeds any expectation you might have.
We stayed for two nights in the square bedroom, it is expensive but everyone deserves a little luxury and I consider we received value for money.
Karen met us at the door and was happy to show us all of the other rooms, everyone was totally unique and luxurious, but I felt we made the right choice by booking the square bedroom, a large four poster bed, a bath that seemed to resemble an olympic swimming pool and all the little touches one could wish for, chocolate cake, shortbread, bottles of water, bottles of wine, sweets,the list is endless.
This is not the sort of place to stay at because you are passing through the area, book for a special occassion and revel in the luxury of the place.
Do be sure to watch the Grand designs DVD.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harfly0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our expectations were high after watching the renovations and also reading the other reviews. It is fabulous. We stayed in the Old Bedroom which is huge and has everything you could think of, from complimentary wine and sloe gin, to chocolates and shortbread. There were even candles to light and a wood burning stove all prepped and ready to go. The wet room was an experience. It was like washing in a tropical monsoon (in a great way). Breakfast was delicious and the breakfast room is beautifully decorated as is the whole castle. The attention to detail is very impressive and a real testament to the hard work that Karen and Frances have put into making this such an amazing home. And even better we get to share this, even if it is only for a little while.

Room Tip: Karen let us see all of the rooms which were all great but we loved the Old Bedroom which had the am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband brought me here as a 50th birthday treat - our destination remained a surprise right up until we left the track through the cowfield and the castle virtually popped out of the ground in front of us. Breathtaking, beautiful, quiet, elegant yet homely luxury. I loved every minute of our stay here. We were welcomed by Karen and as we were the first arrivals we had the chance to take a quick peak in most of the other rooms - all beautiful. We stayed in the Old Bedroom which was simply fabulous...huge, atmospheric, cosy, luxurious. The enormous bed was so high off the ground I felt like a kid again. Our bathroom was formed from the old castle tower with a wonderful wet room. We had fresh shortbread with strawberries, wine and chocolates, fresh milk for tea and coffee...all special little touches which made our stay here so perfect. The breakfasts deserve their own review page...cooked breakfasts seem so simple but are so difficult to get right...the breakfasts here are just perfect, the scrambled egg alone deserves a hymn of praise!
All in all, an amazing birthday surprise. We can't wait to go back and try some of the other rooms. This is a beautiful, special place and Karen and Francis are so welcoming and relaxed. We loved it here and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nod63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When you book into five-starred accommodation there’s a basic level of luxury that goes with the grade: fine bed linens, luxury en-suites, high quality fixtures and furnishings, electronic gadgets to entertain and amuse. What in my opinion makes a venue truly earn its five stars are the little details, the superfluous extra touches that the management does to really make the stay as sumptuous as possible. Peel castle does that in abundance. The exceptional nature of the setting aside (12th Century castle, deep in the heart of unspoilt Yorkshire countryside), what really makes the stay at Peel Castle so unique is: the granite bath built for two (with candles for added ambiance – refreshed every day), the four poster beds (antique in age, contemporary in comfort), the welcome chocolates, the wood burning stove to while away an evening whilst supping complementary wines, local brews (Yorkshire sloe gin, chocolate vodka) and the handmade cake of the day. Nothing is too much trouble and everyone goes out of their way to make your stay truly memorable – for all the right 5 starred reasons, mind – with a genuine warmth. Did I mention the delicious, locally-sourced, home-cooked breakfasts? In short, our stay at Peel Castle was a complete and utter joy.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a romantic getaway - choose the Square Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have wanted to stay here for a long time and booked for our 1st anniversary, well because of the popularity we actually booked before we got married and it was definitely worth the wait. The restoration of the building is truly magnificent and the interior design stunning. We stayed in the attic which is spaceous, has everything you need and views to die for. Karen and Francis are perfect hosts and have a fantastic knowledge of the surrounding area. The little extras, homemade biscuits, wine and vodka were unexpected but well appreciated. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choice including homemade Granola, cereals, fresh fruit and of course the full cooked breakfast all seved in a fantastic dinning room. We were so impresed with our stay we have booked for next year in one of the other fantastic rooms. A beautiful house in a stunning location with outstanding views, everything you could ever want for a special break.

Room Tip: They're all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank batleybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

From the moment you lay eyes on the building you know its going to be magical! We stayed one sunday night as a treat to ourselves to relax which is exactly what you get here. The whole castle is sumptuous but what makes it even more so is the little touches that karen & francis have added such as the hand made chocolates, the shortbread, wine in the fridge. The breakfast is fabulous all i can say is make sure you have room for it! We stayed in the "old" bedroom, it has that WOW factor when you open the door, the room is huge!!!!!! We'd planned to go out and have a meal but the room needed to be appreciated. We put the fire on, poured our wine, snuggled up and enjoyed the silence :D If you are looking to create memories I strongly recommend this place & so you can appreciate first hand the love and dedication that has gone in to this building. We are most grateful to you both for sharing your beautiful home.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hellifield
2.2 mi away
The Coniston Hotel Country Estate & Spa
5.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Black Horse Hotel
The Black Horse Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hellifield
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hellifield Peel Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellifield Peel Castle

Address: Peel Green | Hellifield, Hellifield BD23 4LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Hellifield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hellifield
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hellifield Peel Castle restored from ruin to Castle and featured on Grand Designs in 2007. Four bedrooms with antique four poster beds are available for Bed & Breakfast and the "Attic Apartment" can be B&B or on a self-catering basis. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hellifield Peel Castle Hotel Hellifield
Hellifield Peel Castle Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing