We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunbirds B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunbirds B & B
Ranked #2 of 12 Southbroom B&B and Inns
Durban,South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Great location. Johanathan and Liz excellent hosts as well as excellent chefs :) breakfast a real treat. Be prepared to spend a while at the breakfast table...after all that food.

If relaxing and lounging at the pool is your kind of holiday then this b and b is for you.

Very safe @ night with all the necessary security required.

All amenities close to Sunbirds as well as the beach.

Well worth a visit.

Thanks to our hosts for a very delicious and unexpected anniversary gift.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlicious4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
There is something pleasing about seeing other people's pleasure and so it was in this case with you celebrating your wedding anniversary. As for your comments about breakfast, delighted as always to share recipes with happy guests and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
89
7
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We chose Sunbirds based upon its excellent reviews and were not disappointed in the least. We stayed for just one night to break up a long drive but from the moment we arrived we saw that it was a place where we could easily have stayed longer. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast 'surprises' served by our British hosts Jonathan and Liz were a nice touch. Thanks to you both!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveGloucester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are thrilled that for the second year running we have been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. This is in part due to your very kind review, for which we thank you again. We hope that it won’t be too long before we can welcome you again. Jonathan and Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We only had one night at Sunbirds. We were very well looked after with a spotless room, comfy bed and a great breakfast.
They even made a reservation for us at a very good localish restaurant.
We would certainly stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are thrilled that for the second year running we have been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. This is in part due to your very kind review, for which we thank you again. We hope that it won’t be too long before we can welcome you again. Jonathan and Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unterfohring, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

However you intend to spend your holiday, sightseeing, sports or just relax on the pool or beach, Jonathan and Liz will anticipate your every wish and assist you in the most effective and subtle way. My wife and I spent 5 days at Sunbirds and felt welcome and at home the moment we arrived. The Sunbirds is tastfully furnished and primaryly located on the Indian Ocean with just a 4 minutes walk to the beach and the first class Trattoria down there. We plan to come back to the South Coast and if we do so we will for sure stay with Liz and Jonathan.
Gabriela & Alexander, Germany

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are thrilled that for the second year running we have been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. This is in part due to your very kind review, for which we thank you again. We hope that it won’t be too long before we can welcome you again. Jonathan and Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

My husband and I have just returned after spending a wonderful 7 nights at Sunbirds. Jonathan & Liz really are the perfect hosts. The breakfasts are "to die for" - unbelievable and no oil - how do you do it Liz?? Reading through all the reviews there really is nothing more we can add except to say thanks again we had a lovely relaxing week and we defintely will be back.
Joan & Pieter Brink
Kloof, Durban

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Joan and Peter,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review, which was so kind. We're delighted you enjoyed the breakfasts and found them "to die for", but we would just prefer you returned so we can treat you once more. Regarding the no oil - maybe this will go a little way to countering the "greasy spoon" image of too many English breakfasts!.

With thanks again.

Jonathan and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Sunbirds in Southbroom is perfectly located for any kind of holiday, whether its to rest or just sight seeing along the South coast. Jonathan and Liz are amazing hosts. They supplied us with all the information about the area and where to dine prior to our arrival. On arrival we were welcomed like old friends. We felt welcome. The rooms are tastefully furnished and comfortable. Breakfast is perfect. We would definately go back to Sunbirds and Southbroom.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROdendaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Renee

We were just delighted to enable you guys to relax and find out what a great location we have on the South Coast, as well as some really sumptuous eating, some of it of a really high technical skill level. We also, as you found have great beaches, with some wonderful relaxing watering holes.....

With thanks for having taken time out to write us a review, as a small establishment, it is particularly appreciated.

we hope to see you again.

Best regards

Jonathan and Liz

Jonathan and Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I just got back from the most relaxing 6 nights in Southbroom. This B&B was really a treat. The rooms are immaculate, the service is second to none and a highlight are the breakfasts lovingly prepared by the hosts and served on the veranda overlooking the sea. the house is a short 5min walk from the beach and a short drive into town for restaurants. The house boasts a really beautiful and refreshing swimming pool where we lazily spent many hours. We absolutely loved it and will keep going back. Thank you to the owners for a truly stunning holiday.

Room Tip: The cottages separate to the house are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Limor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentling, Owner at Sunbirds B & B, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
We are thrilled that for the second year running we have been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. This is in part due to your very kind review, for which we thank you again. We hope that it won’t be too long before we can welcome you again. Jonathan and Liz.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Southbroom
1.2 mi away
San Lameer Resort Hotel & Spa
9.2 mi away
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
The Estuary Hotel & Spa
#1 of 4 in Port Edward
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.4 mi away
Coral Tree Colony B&B
Coral Tree Colony B&B
#1 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
Alan's Rest Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golf House Guest House
Golf House Guest House
#3 of 12 in Southbroom
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albatross Guesthouse
Albatross Guesthouse
#11 of 12 in Southbroom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbirds B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbirds B & B

Property: Sunbirds B & B
Address: No 54 (Lot 643) Outlook Road | Southbroom, Southbroom, Margate, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Margate > Southbroom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Southbroom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbirds B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let Liz and Jonathan look after you in their award winning luxurious home. 2011 and 2012 Certificate of Excellence Winner with TripAdvisor.Stylish modern en-suite bedrooms.Huge pool & terrace overlooking the sea where an outstanding breakfast is served.Lounge, bar and lovely indigenous garden. 4 minute walk to beach and restaurant. 6 fantastic golf courses within 20 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbirds B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing