We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and showed us to our room, which was very large and overlooked the main street and the river. The room was very clean and had all the facilities needed, including bathrobes and an iron and ironing board. The milk was in short supply so we asked a member of staff for some more and she was very obliging and gave us fresh milk in a jug- a nice touch.The bed was large and very comfortable with crisp white linen. The food in the restaurant was good, but the mussels rather lost their flavour as they were over powered by copious amounts of garlic and the litres of liquor in the dish. On the other hand the scallops were perfection on a plate. There was a large selection of hot and cold food available at breakfast, the hot food all cooked to order.
Overall an excellent stay and good value for money. We will return.

Room Tip: Room 2 is superb with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    75
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
169
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2014

My mum and I stayed here as part of our Essex Way walk - we loved it so much we stayed 2 nights! Amazing staff, rooms, unbelievable food and all round wonderful experience. I can highly recommend this place - we got a wonderful online deal for 99 pounds for dinner, b&b and breakfast. Amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We were winding our way up the North Essex coast towards Suffolk and stopped at the Mistley Thorn for two nights in July. A well appointed, airy room, if a little on the small side (I am 6'5") but with an extremely comfortable bed and a great bathroom. However, what made the stay exceptional was the quality of the food offer. It was simply stunning! Home baked bread, home smoked/cured fish, locally sourced meat plus fresh & fruity deserts. All at a very reasonable price - good wine list too. Well worth a stay and plump for the D, B&B option!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

we live locally and thought we'd visit the restaurant for the first time. Although it was midweek the restaurant was already busy when we arrived (around 7pm) The meal and service was great, we will definitely be returning. The waiting staff were young but there seemed to be someone older present who was overseeing the service (I say older..he was over 25!)
Having eaten at the sister restaurant Lucca's (disappointing) I was pleasantly surprised by the Mistley Thorn.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wezzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed on a Thursday evening in July £85.00 B&B for single occupancy. The hotel is easy to find with parking right outside.
The bed and pillows were soft and beautiful white cotton sheets. An excellent night's sleep.
Good size clean bathroom with a raindrops shower. I recommend room 2.

Room Tip: Room 2 was at the front but the road is quiet in the evening/night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin042042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Friendly welcome , unique and spotless rooms. Lovely view over the river with swans running up and down. well equipped room with the usual plus iron and board. free good quality wifi.
my room rate included £30 towards my meal which allowed me to dine like a king. Washed down with a pint of Adnams. Breakfast cooked to order - a lesson the big chains could learn from.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed one night recently and had a great stay. We chose it because it was recommended by Alister Sawday as a great place to stay with dogs. The room was absolutely fine (room6), great view now problem, even with two dogs (1 big, 1 small). But, there were no dog treats or sausages for the dogs for breakfast, so disappointed they were not as dog friendly as we hoped. However, the food was fantastic, could not fault it, brilliant chef! So go for the food!

Room Tip: Had a peek at room 1 when the cleaners were in looked big, with a sofa and a great view of the estua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
7.1 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
695 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
8.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,008 reviews
7.9 mi away
Best Western The Rose And Crown Colchester
8.8 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Mistley Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing