We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mistley Thorn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mistley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Whitstable, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night and had a fabulous time. The room was of a generous size (2 adults, 1 child and 2 dogs were accommodated easily), the view was great and it was lovely and warm. Fab bathroom as well and everything was sparkling clean.

The service was great and we had some excellent food here - both at dinner and at breakfast the next morning. They have a wonderful kitchen/cookery shop as well which is dangerous to go into as they have some lovely and very useful things....as well as an excellent wine shop (try the Gavi).

The only odd thing was that although as a dog friendly place to stay they provided a sausage for each dog at breakfast, we were asked not to give it to the dog in the restaurant. Similarly, we were allowed the dogs with us while we ate but were told we might have to move if people objected (maybe these are H&S or legal regulations?). It all worked out fine though (and I suspect people don't complain often) but it did seem a bit strange. NB - we had a young puppy whom we didn't want to leave in the room on its own!

However, this did not affect the stay at all - it was a lovely place and we would definitely visit again. The food and the room really were first class and there are wonderful walks to be had nearby as you leave the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room that looked out over the estuary and was, therefore, on the road side, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    69
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
25
156
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Had a superb evening at the Thorn on Friday 7th March. Warm welcome, very comfortable room, lovely views (we were in room 1). Great beer, excellent food for both dinner & breakfast. Faultless! Looking forward to visiting again soon and sampling yet more that the Thorn has to offer!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Wow - what a fantastic weekend. Back for a third time but this time filling the hotel with 22 people - easy now there are 11 rooms. The hotel itself is fantastic - wonderfully decorated, excellent attention to detail and very classy. The food was fantastic - you expect it would be as it is owned by a chef but it really does surpass expectations. We were a large group and Sherri, Danielle and her staff handled everything brilliantly - we had our own dining room and all food was superb and on time, as were the breakfasts which is no mean feat when dealing with large numbers. Will be coming back again - AND dog-friendly which makes it just about PERFECT!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nealdavidthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

We had a meal on quite a busy Sunday evening. All staff were friendly and welcoming...the food was excellent....we both had fish and would totally recommend eating here. We particularly liked how a bottle of tap water came to the table immediately without having to ask or being offered expensive mineral water!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The quality of food is superb and cannot fault it, however, unfortunately poor customer service lets this lovely place down...staff were too few and unhelpful, we had such a long wait for our breakfast. Basic Items were missing or forgotten, we had to ask several times for basics coffee, toast & butter.
We suffered this problem when we visited a few months ago but thought we would give it a another chance for a weekend break.
Customer service issues need to be addressed.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Harveyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hesitated to write this: we stayed last summer for one night and after a good night's sleep, nice room, etc. we had a disastrous breakfast. Had to wait over an hour before we got anything to eat. The place was horribly understaffed, and I felt really sorry for the poor waitress who got the brunt of it because clearly it wasn't her fault. At this room price the management should just pay for more staff - it's a really simple solution. BUT - the most disappointing thing was that I wrote a careful review directly to the management, rather than putting something up first on TripAdvisor, and never heard a peep back from them. Clearly they weren't at all concerned that we left frustrated, annoyed and feeling that this was vastly over-priced for what it is.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the estuary are surprisingly noisy in the morning as it's on quite a busy road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckad, Owner at The Mistley Thorn, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are mystified by this review. The main complaint (apart from the breakfast delay on a very busy Sunday morning for which we apologise) is that we failed to respond to an earlier ‘review’ dated August 4th 2013. Yet that review was largely positive and posted on a third party site (a booking engine) rather than directly to us. We respond promptly to any comment sent to us directly, but we feel no obligation to reply to those posted on third party sites (including those on TA). It is also beyond us why this customer would produce a review six months after the first that partly contradicts the original! Here is the first review:
‘ Our room was lovely, clean, well decorated, comfortable with a really pretty view of the river and a great king-sized bed. The service was generally very willing and helpful and the facilities were good. Easy parking. At his request my husband was served his dinner in double quick time because he had an appointment elsewhere. However there was not enough staff on at breakfast to cover the number of guests - the waitress was great but horribly overloaded. It might have helped if we could have ordered and booked a time for breakfast the night before? Not sure. As it was, we waited 55 minutes for our food. The food was very good when it came but by that time I was stressed. A shame to spoil what was otherwise an excellent stay, and a false economy on the part of the management not to provide enough staff, given that this is quite a highly-priced b&b in the area. ' We leave it to TA readers to decide whether these comments invite a response on our part.
David McKay, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Love this restaurant, it ticks every box and never fails to impress. The food, wine list, staff and prices are fantastic. Can't wait to go again. Seared prawns to start then Sutton Hoo chicken was simply fantasic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flossie501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
16.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
8.9 mi away
Alma Inn
Alma Inn
#2 of 7 in Harwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing