We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a nights stay”
Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Great rooms.
Wonderful food.
Very friendly staff.
Scenery in the area is fantastic.
Alot of history about the plot in which the building stands.
The only thing I could pick up on is the fact the rooms could have better mirrors. Great mirrors in the bathrooms but not much space to get two people in.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laird M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

First time we had visited this part of the world. We were welcomed at check in and shown up to our very comfortable and spacious room. The bed was very comfortable and the en suite had a tremendous power shower! The dining room is light and airy and service at breakfast was courteous and efficient. Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank robocor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Loved our few days at this hotel. An old building keeping it's charm but cosy and very comfortable. Our room was a deluxe, was spacious with huge bed. Must say it was the comfiest bed I have slept in when at a hotel. Nice touch was a fan in the room as it was hot. Surprised how quiet the room was. We were next to the laundry room but had no noise at all. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were very good, lots of choice. Food was cooked fresh for each customer so there is a little wait. Not a problem, just remember it is not a fast food chain! We decided to have a meal one evening, was excellent. Good quality food cooked and served to a high standard. Elderflower jelly was delicious. Can be busy especially at the weekend so best to book a table. Our bill was adjusted to Bed, Breakfast and Evening meal for that night as it would be cheaper for us. A nice touch. My only negative was the 'person eating' shower curtain. This is probably a personal phobia! Car parking can be difficult at the weekend. There is parking on the streets to the side.

Room Tip: We were in room 5, a deluxe room. Overlooked the car park but was very quiet. No river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerbyshireScotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is prominently sited on the main road in Mistley, but the good news is that the road is very quiet at night, so we didn't notice the traffic. Actually, by most standards, it's not very busy during the day either.

We were welcomed and taken to our room in a very pleasant manner. We had chosen a room with a sea view, and ours was up quite a lot of stairs. That would be my only concern if mobility was a problem. The rooms are accessed from the restaurant, but once again, even though the restaurant is very busy, we never heard it, and it doesn't go on too late anyway.

The room was delightful. Quirky, in that nothing is straight, even the floor slopes, but a very attractively designed décor in pale shades. The bathroom was modern and huge. Most importantly the whole place was totally spotless, gleaming, and welcoming. The bedclothes were probably the best quality we have ever slept in, and the bed very comfortable. If you don't like quirky old buildings, there are other rooms.

Hot drinks, water and biscuits were provided in the room.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant, which was already neatly layed-up for lunches on other tables. Cereals and fruits were buffet-style help yourself, but everything else was served at the table. And what a choice of menu. We were there for three nights, so were able to try a few different things. All cooked to perfection. The coffee was served in a Cafetiere and was as good as the meal.
Whatever was asked for, never seemed too much trouble.

Regretfully, because we were there to visit folk, we didn't get the chance to use the restaurant in the evening, so canot comment on that. Next time though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ski_Wrinkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Always a delight to return here; Sunday lunch on our wedding anniversary, a proper menu not just unimaginative roasts. Deilcious Cioppino Cal-Ital fish stew; amazing hot coffee poured over perfect ice cream. This is real foody food, great tastes and excellent service, fantastic value. Excellent selection of wines by the glass so can enjoy new wine with each course. Wonderful strong coffee, better even than our lovely Nespresso. This is the North Essex restaurant of choice, we come back time and again; have stayed over in a lovely room; and it's worth the trip just for Sunday breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles15556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

first impressions were ok. Staff friendly on arrival. Room(7) could only be described as the "wonky room". Everything was on a slope and you slid to the end of the bed when trying to sleep. Even if you hadn't had a drink you felt like you had if you tried to go to the toilet during the night! Had a meal in the restaurant for our anniversary and was disappointed as dogs were allowed in the restaurant while you were eating and also a very poor selection of "spring vegetables" were offerd with the meal which consisted of lots of spinach and mange tout only. Lacked colour and variety for time of year and local produce available. Chicken however was excellent flavour and texture. Breakfast seemed unorganised and a lot for one waitress to cope with. Orange juice had run out, eggs had hard yolks, tea was forgotten and the home made bread could have broke your teeth when toasted and was served way before your cooked breakfast even arrived. Wouldn't return and found the area to lack anything to keep you there for more than just a couple of hours visit..

Room Tip: bring ear plugs due to noise from road. Also need to keep fan on all night as no air-con.No dressing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mckad, Owner at The Mistley Thorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

We were sorry to see that your reviewer did not enjoy their stay. We would like to point out, however, that one of the party's demeanour changed completely when she saw two small dogs in the dining room (see previous review 'welcoming and pleasant for us and 4 legged companions'). She immediately said that she would post a negative Trip Adviser review. We bought them complimentary drinks and pointed out that small dogs (which were as distant from them as is possible in the room) were allowed if well behaved. This is clearly posted on our web site. As to the other points the vegetables on offer were locally grown organic spinach, rainbow chard, a selection of green beans and mange tout. She refused to accept that the chard was not spinach. Room 7 is part of the hotel completely rebuilt 2 years ago. The bed is completely even and the room has spectacular views over the estuary. The points made regarding the breakfast service are mostly justified for which we apologise. We had a number of walk-ins that morning that placed demands on service that we could not meet.
As to the area, we are a tiny village directly on the estuary, but there are wonderful local walks as well as easy access to delightful villages such as Dedham and East Bergholt. In just a few weeks we will also be opening a cookery school, deli and fine wine shop right next to the hotel that will enhance the whole Mistley Thorn experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Recent overnight stay was pleasant , recommended by friends as a well kept character place to stay . Required for us was a short break with our 2 quiet terriers . All was welcomed and even seated with our four legged companions. This was respectively done with it being a quiet Monday night and set to our own corner table . Would be nice to be immediately adjacent to the estuary , although this was only 50 yards away . Room and decor very good and staff and food deserve the good reviews . We hope to return

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_Michelle_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
322 reviews
7.1 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
743 reviews
16.4 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
8.2 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
11.3 mi away
Chudleigh
Chudleigh
#1 of 16 in Clacton-on-Sea
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range: $141 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mistley Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing