We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mistley Thorn
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Ipswich Capel St Mary(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Court House(Great Bromley)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Colchester(Dedham)(Great Value!)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Muthu Belstead Brook Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$89
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Colchester (A12) Hotel(Colchester)(Great Value!)
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ipswich South Hotel(Ipswich)(Great Value!)
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
195
78
24
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
78
24
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmistley thornmusselsriver viewhomemade biscuitslarge bathroomtop floorbed and breakfastcheesecakenorth essexbreakfast and dinnercomfortable roomsenjoyable stayfull englishmoseleyflatfordquaypub
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
241 - 246 of 305 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Mistley Thorn for two nights at the end of October, and loved every second. We both work long hours and were stressed and in need of a quiet retreat to spend time together... and the Mistley Thorn delivered exactly that! The food was amazing- my boyfriend is already talking about a return visit in the new year, so desperate is he for another meal! Great fresh seafood, beautifully and simply cooked. Great wine list. Fantastic breakfast. We had a room right at the top of the building with a great view over the water.... on a cold and wet weekend it was lovely to watch the water in the warmth of the room!
One of the the lovely members of staff let us have a little 'snoop' around the empty rooms one morning, and they were all different sizes and shapes, but I would have happily stayed in any of them.
The only complaint of sorts is that the bar area is not very welcoming/comfortable unless you are eating. We came down before dinner hoping we could relax for a little while with a drink and have a chat, but it was quite awkward as the staff were setting up for the dinner service and seemed surprised to see us.
All in all, we loved it, and are definitly planning to return in a few months (no sooner-- my waistline will suffer too much!).

Room Tip: All rooms looked great. Some have a view over the estuary, some are VERY large, and one even has a small kitchenette! Also, good to know that dogs are welcome (and they supply dog biscuits!)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I simply love this place, the room is clean, nice and, comfy! They have nice soaps and cream in the bathroom. They cook local food and the dinner is really nice, desserts are incredible and the hot breakast is amazing! The people are nice and they make you feel at home. Really good value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed for one night following a recommendation from a family member and were not disappointed. Our standard room was large and comfortable with a sizeable bathroom. All the amenities you could want - bathrobes, tea & coffee making facilities, nice toiletries, hairdryer and iron/ironing board. The only negatives - we were next to a laundry area and we were aware of the vibration of the washing machine - although the bed was comfortable with lovely linen, we felt that the mattress was coming to the end of its life as the edges were not that supportive.
Our stay was on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis and we were very impressed with the food and service. The 3 course dinner was delicious and there were several options that we would have liked to have tried had we been staying for another night. The breakfast was also excellent apart from slightly overcooked poached eggs.
We really enjoyed the area around Mistley; the Stour estuary with its fantastic diversity of birdlife, Manningtree, where we visited the sister restaurant of the Mistley Thorn called Lucca (great Italian), Dedham with its lovely high street and church and lastly Flatford, the site of many of Constable's famous paintings including the Haywain.
The Mistley Thorn and the surrounding areas are definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: We were in a standard room which was good but you may prefer to try a deluxe room with a river view.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just one night here on business, wish I could have stayed longer. Loverly large room and bathroom. Modern with a touch of older furniture, perfect for the place.

The food was good, it was mussels night, so a great plate of mussels and frites, glass of house wine and a pud, around £11.00. Need to return as the main menu looked good, lots of fish and sea food.

Good staff and service. Great breakfast, and as a single traveller on business, much better then a chain hotel at not much more money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGBCMYK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a lovely 2 night stay at the Mistley Thorn. It is a great pub/restaurant, nice feel and the staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were lovely! We stayed right at the top, room 7, and though the room was a bit smaller than most the bathroom was very large. Good bed linen, comfortable beds, wonderful shower and everything you could want in a room, toiletries, iron/ironingboard, hairdryer, tea/coffee making facilities. It was extremely hot on the Sunday but we had an excellent fan in the room. Clean and comfortable. Reminded me of a North Norfolk hotel. On the second afternoon, there was a very strong smell of cooking in the room but we had the windows open and it didn't last for long.
The food was good and we played cards after dinner. We were made to feel very welcome and even told we could stay in the bar after closing to continue our game.
The only negative for us was that the menu was a little limited, okay for the first night but when we had to choose on the second night it was difficult to find something different, in fact, two of us had exactly the same dinner on the both nights! The locals menu is marked with the day and date and obviously changed each day, but the choice of food is the same, no change! We couldn't have eaten there a third night.
All in all, we had a great stay, loved the rooms, loved Mistley, had nice staff, was a very reasonably priced deal, as we enjoyed the area.
We would certainly recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilarythehut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews