We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome at the Thorn”
Review of The Mistley Thorn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mistley Thorn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Certificate of Excellence
Cuckfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“A warm welcome at the Thorn”
Reviewed March 18, 2008

Having just read the previous review (thankfully after we have returned) then hopefully I can provide a different and happier review.

We too stayed in Room1 which was spacious and warm, had a great comfortable bed, 2 wicker chairs and good views across the river. The bathroom was large, suitably equiped and warm. Which was welcome because it was quite cold outside.

There was no problem with eating in the restaurant which was busy but not full. We got the time we wanted and felt in no rush to leave the table. There was a large range of fish dishes which suited us and presumably were sourced locally.

The breakfasts were good too. Choice included full english, kippers or smoked salmon. On one morning they seemed keen to clear away the cereals and fruits but then we were the only people staying and they did ask first which was okay.

In terms of value for money it was brilliant but we did get a special internet rate as we stayed on Sun/Mon - check out their website.

Finally, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay and I felt that if there was a problem it would have been easily resolved.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixStowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    75
    24
    4
    4
See reviews for
28
168
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

We stayed 1 night in Room 1 paying £105 per night which included breakfast - we also ate in the restaurant the same evening, the total bill came to approx £190.

We arrived at 3pm to find the room was freezing cold the guy who showed us the room even commented on how cold it was and said we may want to turn the rad up, which we did! Half an hour later we were still cold, the guy came back and adjusted the thermostat to 20 degrees -still far to cold we later turned up the main thermostat to 24 degrees - you don't expect that kind of penny pinching in a hotel charging £105.

The room -

Broken bathroom windows which meant cold air in the bathroom at all times (with a stone floor this wasn't a very relaxing experience)

1 chair to fight over!

No biscults for our tea - petty but don't put it on your website if you are not going to provide it!

Room noisy (next to the road) and over the restaurant

Our meal -

Booked for 7.30pm to be told we only had 2 hours before the next guests need the table! By 8pm we were on our deserts, all rushed, no break inbetween even when we asked for a breather and our wine turned up half way through our main course. Can't be certain but my husband had osyters and ever since has been suffering from food poisoning. The restaurant was extremely busy but it really felt so impersonal and a money making exercise.

Breakfast -

The hoover started at 8am on a Sunday morning (I know they have to clean the place but really at this time in the morning) we went down to breakfast at 8.30am hoover still going and inbetween serving us the waitress was emptying the bins! We also felt that we had intruded on their time no one said good morning. Again breakfast rushed husband had not even finished his ceral when his cooked breakfast arrived, instead of taking it back to keep warm the waitress just made room for it on our table and walked off, no offer of a refill for his 1 cup of coffee. Again our breakfast experience was over within 20 minutes.

Overall, what a shame I hate writing such a poor review we really did have high expectations for this place but for us they were clearly trying to offer nothing for quiet a high price. I'm just glad previous reviews had a great time and perhaps the hotel was having a bad day.

Sorry but I can't recommend nor will we be back....

  • Liked — nothing!
  • Disliked — everthing - especially being rushed and freezing cold!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SLBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2007

We have just returned from a three day break away, the only downside being that not all of it was spent at the Mistley Thorn!

We arrived on a Friday evening and were checked in efficiently by Harriet who looked after us thoroughly during our time there.

Our room (room2) was fantastic, huge, spotlessly clean with a beautiful double ended bath. The decor was carefully chosen, modern but without being over the top.

The surroundings are also lovely. We walked to Manningtree, the next village along by the estuary and fed the swans. The hotel itself is opposite 'Swan Basin' and the view from room 2 overlooks this.

Our meal really was superb. I wanted a light white wine and Harriet gave me a some to try before we picked a bottle. For starters we had the Haddock chowder and the Crayfish cocktail, both very good. The Crayfish came with a spicy salsa type sauce, very alternative. I chose the fillets of Brill with sauce Vierge, garlic mash & Samphire. I couldn't have chosen better - absolutely delicious. Moonface had seared Tuna with mango & pineapple salsa, also gorgeous. Puddings, like everything else on the menu were so obviously home made. The Strawberry cheesecake was enormous and the Chocolate & Hazelnut cake was even bigger. I'm afraid it beat me!

Breakfast was also a gastronomic event. There was nothing that we were left needing and we were left alone to enjoy it at our leisure with the hotels free papers. Harriet was very informative about the local area and things to do even though she has only been there for a few months.

Don't be put off by the fact the hotel is on main road. Although it is fast, it was not very busy when we stayed there, so quiet in fact that a lot of people were sat outside drinking.

The hotel provides a fabulous base to explore the prettier side of Essex and the food and rooms really do offer excellent value for money. We have stayed in many a place for the same sort of price and not got anywhere near the quality or service.

The owners are opening an Italian Bistro in Manningtree soon, one to watch out for!

Our next stay will be for longer, I am sure!

  • Liked — All of it!
  • Disliked — Having to leave!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jamie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2007

Stayed here to get away from it for a night and also ate at the restaurant. Staff were very freindly and well trained, dinner was excellent as was breakfast (all locally sourced and organic). The rrom was comfortable and good value with views of the River Stour and Mistley quay, spotlessly clean, huge bed, modern bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2005

We stayed at the Mistley Thorn after a wedding in the locality & wished we could have stayed longer. The room was spacious, airy & beautifully decorated. Very tranquil & relaxing. The bed was fabulously comfortable. The ensuite was large, clean & had a good shower. Breakfast yummy (extra charge for full english, but well worth it).

Only problems I would say are noise from the restaurant downstairs - If you're after an early quiet night, you may be disturbed when the restaurant is busy.

Would recommend.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
7.1 mi away
Wivenhoe House
Wivenhoe House
#1 of 1 in Wivenhoe
682 reviews
4.7 mi away
Milsoms Hotel
Milsoms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dedham
210 reviews
4.3 mi away
Maison Talbooth
Maison Talbooth
#1 of 3 in Dedham
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Colchester
8.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Court House
The Court House
#1 of 1 in Great Bromley
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mistley Thorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mistley Thorn

Property: The Mistley Thorn
Address: High Street, Mistley CO11 1HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mistley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mistley Thorn is located in the centre of the historic coastal village of Mistley and is two minutes walk from Mistley station, which has direct services to Colchester, Harwich and London Liverpool Street. Built as a coaching inn circa 1723, The Mistley Thorn offers award-winning dining and accommodation in tastefully designed surroundings opposite the River Stour. American born executive chef Sherri Singleton has developed a menu using the best of the area’s seasonal produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Mistley Thorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mistley Thorn Hotel Mistley
The Hotel Mistley
The Mistley Thorn Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing