We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with fantastic hosts”
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mistley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Anchor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Mistley B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Happened upon the Anchor Inn whilst looking for a B&B - what a great find. Hosts could not have been more welcoming and helpful. Rooms were lovely, super view, simple clean decor, comfy bed, tea & coffee making facilities, TV and a fab shower! The only very small negative was that there was no hair dryer but hey, if that's all there is to complain about I think you're doing OK!

The restaurant was not open on the Monday evening that we were there but hosts phoned a pizza order through for us and set up the dining room just for our use! That's service! Breakfast was superb - we didn't need any lunch!

Great value for a couple sharing a room. As a singleton it would have been nice to get a little reduction but overall super value.

Would certainly recommend the Anchor Inn

Room Tip: Both rooms we had were upstairs and super!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzienowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
There are newer reviews for The Anchor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2011

Our room was lovely and clean, with a comfy bed, tea and coffee making facilites a lovely shower and a view of the estuary. The owners made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was superb. however i found the pub itself a bit off putting and didn't enjoy sitting downstairs in the evening. I would definately stay there again but would probably give the pub a miss.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisabak_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

A lovely pub with superb accommodation. The rooms are large and bright, with a comfy bed, loads of hanging space, modern bathroom, tea & coffee, TV, table & chairs etc. Absolutely everything you could want really. There are only 3 rooms, which means you do get the personal touches. What is very noticeable is the genuine friendliness and desire to provide an excellent experience.
Breakfast superb. No mass catering here.
Location is also very good. Out-of-the-way feel but only a few minutes drive off the A12, or 4 minutes by train from Manningtree station, which is on the main London to Ipswich/Norwich line. A strong recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandJHove_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I cannot recommend this place more highly for a quick escape. It’s not as easy as you would think to get away from it all within an hour of Central London without a car. Manningtree is at the mouth of the Stour river, where lush green countryside is slowly introduced to the sea via a long estuary. Tranquility and indolence saturates the air here. You can hear the creak of yourself unwinding. Turn one way out of the station (which is what we were intending to do) and you are in so-called Constable country. But I’m glad we turned the other way. It’s a short walk into the quaint little market town and down to the peaceful harbour. We were planning to head back to the marshes, when something caught our eye. Every corner we turned yielded new surprises. The Anchor in Mistley is a fitting grand finale to this trail of pleasant surprises and is one itself. That corner room overlooking the estuary is a little piece of heaven. The place is still spotless and the welcome unusually warm. These people really know how to look after you. It’s a one-in-a-million kind of place. We still can’t believe our luck. You can get a train straight to Mistley, station, but I wouldn’t skip Manningtree. After all, what’s the rush?

Room Tip: Go for the corner room overlooking the estuary.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taistealai_fanach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed at The Anchor overnight a couple of years ago and were so impressed with the accommodation and value for money that we didn't hesitate to rebook when we wanted somewhere to stay after dinner at the Mistley Thorn. Our room was huge with a great view over the estuary. The en-suite shower room was spotless and the power shower excellent. The owners were friendly and welcoming and were happy for us to bring our small dog too. Breakfast was very good and portions were generous. My husband was also impressed with the quality of the Spitfire bitter served in the bar! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mistley
0.5 mi away
The Mistley Thorn
The Mistley Thorn
#1 of 1 in Mistley
284 reviews
23.6 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clare
135 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Marlborough Head Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Anchor Inn

Address: Harwich Road, Mistley CO11 1ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Mistley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mistley
Price Range: $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Anchor Inn Mistley, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing