We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Nearby Hotels
The Pennington(Ravenglass)
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chequers Hotel(Dalton-in-Furness)
$129
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abbey House Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$170
$165
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chetwynde Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisdoonie Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)(Great Value!)
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ambrose Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$92
$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel(Barrow-in-Furness)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
204
10
1
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
10
1
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh standardlake districtevening mealwestern lakesfantastic stayblack combenear futuretwo nightslittle gemgreat weekendcumbrian heavy horsescooked to perfectionfeel very welcomefantastic placeroom was spotlesslittle touchescan't wait to come back
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 218 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed here with 2 children (3 and 7) while going to a wedding in the area and had a fantastic stay.

Our room was spacious and well equipped with a great bathroom. Lovely views out to the hills at the back of the hotel.

Food (both evening meal and breakfast) was simple with great flavours and cooked excellently.

Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TehSaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Just returned from two nights in the family room at Wayside. Myself, my two kids, my friend and his daughter booked up here after being impressed with the imagery on the website and we certainly weren't disappointed. The whole place has been superbly converted, retaining many old features but mixing in a touch of the modern too such as glass components to the staircase. Everything had a feel of quality to it.

Initially I was a touch nervous at our three kids invading such a small establishment, as inevitably children aged 3, 4 and 6 don't always understand the need to talk at a decibel level less than a helicopter or that some people prefer not to hear a 3 hour 'Bed Trampoline' practice session above their heads. However, the owners were extremely welcoming to the children, even stretching to buying in kid's yogurts and a Kinder Egg each. The lady owner took the 3 of them off to feed the ducks and chickens, obviously part of her daily routine anyway but a thoughtful touch to involve the kids too. I couldn't praise her handling of the children enough, to be honest.

We ate in the Wayside one night, and had a very nice meal with some good real ales and Peroni on tap. Breakfast was very tasty as well, although I'm glad we weren't there for a midweek break as it's only served until 8am which is a bit too early for me! On a weekend end of breakfast is 9am.

A visit to the South Lakes Wild Animal Park is highly recommended. It's around 30 minutes from Wayside and really interactive, with snake holding sessions, giraffe feeding and the chance to touch various other animals that wander freely around. The kids loved to see the lions and tigers being fed and were fascinated by a daredevil monkey that thought biting a bear's bum would be a sensible thing to do. We also had an hour or so on the beach, about 10 minutes drive from Wayside. Not a soul on the beach and plenty of rock pools to keep the kids busy. Overall, this is a much quieter area of the Lakes but still beautiful and full of things to do.

if you are concerned about the possibility of road noise, I can only say that from our point of view there was no interference at all. I'm easily disturbed by external noise and I only heard one car on the first night and two or three on the second, but none of these were actually during the night - just early evening or early morning. There certainly didn't seem to be any large trucks or half deaf teenagers with howitzer exhausts going past.

Overall, this was a great stay. The owners were very helpful and accommodating, the establishment beautiful and comforting and the food and beer excellent. Combined with the lovely setting, this has guaranteed and we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JInch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews