We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“totally relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Just returned home after a weekend at wayside and had a lovely relaxed time, our room was lovely and totally spotless, as was the rest of the accommodation. Steve and Lynn made us feel very welcome in their home. After dinner we relaxed with a drink in whisky barn, a lovely little bar that's perfect for a nice evening after a busy day out, my wife and I will be back again in the near future and highly recommend wayside, thank you for a lovely time! ps cant wait to take mika out for a walk next time, cheers again! craig (Edinburgh)

Room Tip: we only saw 1 room, (rm 2) but i'm sure the others were off equally very high standard
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Hi Craig and Terry, Steven and myself are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Wayside and that you will be returning for another visit. Meeka really loved all the attention and looks forward to her walk with you. Thank you for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 210 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

my wife and I recently stayed at wayside for the third time, and once again it was fantastic, the rooms are excellent and the bathrooms are just amazing,the food is delicious and the bar area is just what you want from a country hotel, me and my wife spent the evenings having a few drinks playing chess, it is truly a wonderfull place to relax and get away from it all.
A special thankyou to lynn and steven who are simply the best hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

Thankyou Kayleigh and Rob for your kind comments, it is always a pleasure to see you when you stay with us, maybe next time we can persuade Rob to go horse riding, we know you travel and stay in lots of places so to hear you like staying at Wayside makes us feel very happy. We look forward to your next visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a great chance visit to the wayside in lovely settings with a great welcome. We had a lovely relaxing time with great walks & a short drive to Muncaster castle which was superb. The highlight was the relaxing night with a log burning stove and an amazing array of the best single malt whiskys i've ever tasted with the help of steven's vast knowledge of the wee dram you're bound to have a superb relaxing experiance,all can say is thankyou for a lovely break.

Zaal & Alex Edinburgh

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaal E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you Zaal and Alex for your great review, Steven and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you can stay longer next time, Muncaster is a great day out for all ages, I bet the boys loved the playground and all the open space to run around. I think Steven enjoyed talking about the whisky's as much as you enjoyed sampling them, do let us know when the wee one arrives, look forward to seeing you again in the future, Lynn and Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My Wife and I stayed at the Wayside for four nights and must say it is the best small hotel we have stayed at.
Steven & Lynn made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble,the accommodation was cosy and warm and fitted out to the highest standard. Bedroom was excellent size, spotless and tastefully fitted out, with the view of the Black Combe through the window is outstanding.
Excellent choice of breakfast and evening meals all perfectly cooked and served by Steven.
Many Thanks Steven and Lynn for your hospitality will be back very soon.
Barry & Wyn

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for the brilliant review on Trip Advisor, it is so nice for us to hear that guests have enjoyed themselves, if you would have stayed another couple of days you would have been snowed in at Wayside, everywhere is white at the moment. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future and warmer weather. Thanks again Lynn and Steven xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

After a long day at the office, there is no where better to stay. The food is fantastic and the room is very good, only problem is that the bed is too comfortable!! There is a good chance that I will sleep in tomorrow. Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

We are so glad you enjoy staying at Wayside, thanks again Mike for taking the time to put another review on Trip Advisor, we hope we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a wonderful place to escape and enjoy the beautiful surrounding landscape. I booked on the basis of the reviews on TripAdvisor,and it looked and sounded too good to be true. But, I can verify that it really is a lovely place. The double room, was beautifully decorated, the bed incredibly comfortable, with a spotlessly clean en-suite bathroom. The guest house is a converted barn and restored to a very high standard, with some lovely original features. The weather was awful though and after a very exhilarating walk to the coast, I was very grateful to come in to a welcoming fire and a drying room to hang my wet things. Steven is a very attentive host, and the evening meal and the cooked breakfasts were superb. I was so impressed that I have already recommended this place to many friends and this is the first time I've felt compelled to write a review but I felt was so deserved and shall be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

It was so nice to read the review you posted and that you enjoyed yourselves even though the weather was not so good, it was also nice to hear that you will be visiting us again in the future, Steven and I look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at Wayside several times since they opened for business a couple of years ago.
The standard of room is way up there and even after two or three years of wear and tear it doesn't appear to show - everything still looks fresh and new leaving you enviously wishing you had that kind of quality at home!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back with a fell view.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we do try to keep the standards up and it makes it worth while when guests appreciate the rooms and the property. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitbeck
7.5 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
355 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast
Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Haverigg
98 reviews
9.9 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn

Address: Wayside | Millom, Whitbeck, Millom LA19 5UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Whitbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitbeck
Price Range: $116 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayside Farm was built in approximately 1637 on the west coast of the Lake District, Cumbria. Wayside guest accommodation & Whisky Barn is situated at the base of Black Combe, surrounded by stunning scenery and the Cumbrian coast. It is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend or for the more adventurous we provide an excellent base for walking, hiking, mountain biking, wind surfing, horse riding, and after an exciting day out, why not relax with a cold pint of beer, good homemade food from our a la carte menu or a warming single malt whisky.All our bedrooms are spacious with en suite bathrooms, including a seperate shower and large double ended bath in rooms two and three and a large bath with shower over in room one.The Annexe is seperate to the main building, it has oak flooring in the bedroom and slate flooring in the bathroom, there is a large cast iron bath in the large bathroom. We have washing and drying facilities in a seperate building and a wash pad for hosing down bikes etc. There is a direct private path leading to Black Combe.The beach is not far away and you can get to it by car or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing