We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Find”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a wonderful place to escape and enjoy the beautiful surrounding landscape. I booked on the basis of the reviews on TripAdvisor,and it looked and sounded too good to be true. But, I can verify that it really is a lovely place. The double room, was beautifully decorated, the bed incredibly comfortable, with a spotlessly clean en-suite bathroom. The guest house is a converted barn and restored to a very high standard, with some lovely original features. The weather was awful though and after a very exhilarating walk to the coast, I was very grateful to come in to a welcoming fire and a drying room to hang my wet things. Steven is a very attentive host, and the evening meal and the cooked breakfasts were superb. I was so impressed that I have already recommended this place to many friends and this is the first time I've felt compelled to write a review but I felt was so deserved and shall be making a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dinky68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
It was so nice to read the review you posted and that you enjoyed yourselves even though the weather was not so good, it was also nice to hear that you will be visiting us again in the future, Steven and I look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    9
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
31
113
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have stayed at Wayside several times since they opened for business a couple of years ago.
The standard of room is way up there and even after two or three years of wear and tear it doesn't appear to show - everything still looks fresh and new leaving you enviously wishing you had that kind of quality at home!

Room Tip: Go for a room at the back with a fell view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we do try to keep the standards up and it makes it worth while when guests appreciate the rooms and the property. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This place is a hidden gem, I almost don't want to tell everyone about it. We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Wayside. We celebrated our friend's 40th birthday there and from start to finish I can not fault this place.
The warm welcome from its owners; Steven & Lynn made us feel instantly as ease. Our room (three) was of the highest standard. The decor, furinshings, bedlinen were all very high quality and we have not stayed in a cleaner room ever. The bathroom was excellent with a great bath tub and a seperate shower cubicle and lovely toiletries were provided. The room was full of character but also had all the amenities you would expect from a high class hotel. The views from our window & skylight were amazing.
We ate two evenings here & also had two breakfasts. The food was delicious, prepared and cooked to a high standard. There were eight of us and all our meals arrived at the same time, were piping hot and of the same excellent quality.
On our 2nd evening we had a whisky tasting, expertly presented by Steven. This was both very informative (I'm a total whisky novice) and great fun. With no pressure to buy at the end.
I cannot recommend this place highly enough and its the perfect place to stay as a couple, family or as a group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali-Manchester63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Steven and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Wayside. It was so nice to hear that you relaxed and had a good time, it was our pleasure to have you stay. We hope you enjoy your whisky and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Lynn and Steven.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a great guest house, however the booking system needs to be addressed. I booked a room with a double bed and walk in shower and double ended bath for a birthday break. My partner and I are both very tall, and struggled with the small bath and tilting roof over the shower which was over the bath. We recieved a phone call whilst driving to say we did not have the room we had booked but had been given a twin room instead. Whilst the room was lovely it spoilt the weekend. An offer of finding other accomodation was given but when you have been travelling for 8 hours the last thing you want is to have to traips off to somewhere else. No discount was offered for the inconvenience and a smaller room. It was suggested that I should have made the booking on the phone, I had tried this and was unable to get through. The landlord did say they had been away and that was the reason for the incorrect booking. A free nights stay was offered if we came on a second visit? A weekend break that was sadly not up to what we booked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayside059, Owner at Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We are truly sorry for the error in the room booking, it happened while we were away on holiday and unfortunately the room had already been booked by email and we could not log into our online system to close the room out, we did telephone the guests as soon as we realised and offered to relocate them to a similar type of accommodation, they would not have had to travel any further but they declined. We did feel bad about this and put a nice bottle of wine in their room, we knew it would not make up for the error but it was a genuine gesture on on our behalf. The bath in room one is a roll top and although not double ended it is an above average size. Had we have known the couple were very tall and were coming for a birthday treat we would have recommended they stay in the Annexe as it has a free standing cast iron bath, larger ceilings and a king size bed. As a gesture of goodwill we have offered the guests one nights stay free of charge if they ever visit the lakes again, we feel that we made every effort to make their stay as pleasant as possible under the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Lovely location, cosy atmosphere with all the right ingredients for a relaxing place to stay. The building has been restored to an exceptionally high standard and the many original features dovetail perfectly with quality state of the art finishing touches.
The food was absolutely first class and whiskey fans will be in their own wee corner of heaven on earth!
Steve and Lynn were welcoming, friendly and interesting people to talk to- thanks for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_downing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in Wayside guest accommodation over the weekend. Highly recommending for everyone who is looking for quiet and peaceful place. Great food!!! We stayed in Annexe accommodation, it’s brilliant, bed comfortable, and all other furniture is highest quality. All house is clean, very warm, and tasteful. Owners very pleasant and friendly. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E6LEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The setting and the accommodation was wonderful. Everything was immaculate and very tastfully restored keeping the very best of an old building with lovely modern touches. The food was 5 star and the owners Steve and Lynn, gave us a very warm welcome and were extremely helpful and friendly throughout. We would highly recommend the Wayside to anyone. Fantastic, a real gem.

Kevin & Joanne Ryan
Halifax

Room Tip: We recommend the Annexe however we are sure all the rooms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitbeck
19.7 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,107 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
146 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
340 reviews
15.1 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn

Property: Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Address: Wayside | Millom, Whitbeck, Millom LA19 5UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Whitbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayside Farm was built in approximately 1637 on the west coast of the Lake District, Cumbria. Wayside guest accommodation & Whisky Barn is situated at the base of Black Combe, surrounded by stunning scenery and the Cumbrian coast. It is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend or for the more adventurous we provide an excellent base for walking, hiking, mountain biking, wind surfing, horse riding, and after an exciting day out, why not relax with a cold pint of beer, good homemade food from our a la carte menu or a warming single malt whisky.All our bedrooms are spacious with en suite bathrooms, including a seperate shower and large double ended bath in rooms two and three and a large bath with shower over in room one.The Annexe is seperate to the main building, it has oak flooring in the bedroom and slate flooring in the bathroom, there is a large cast iron bath in the large bathroom. We have washing and drying facilities in a seperate building and a wash pad for hosing down bikes etc. There is a direct private path leading to Black Combe.The beach is not far away and you can get to it by car or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing