We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay at Wayside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The setting and the accommodation was wonderful. Everything was immaculate and very tastfully restored keeping the very best of an old building with lovely modern touches. The food was 5 star and the owners Steve and Lynn, gave us a very warm welcome and were extremely helpful and friendly throughout. We would highly recommend the Wayside to anyone. Fantastic, a real gem.

Kevin & Joanne Ryan
Halifax

Room Tip: We recommend the Annexe however we are sure all the rooms are of a high standard
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
There are newer reviews for Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

What a great place, loads of wow factor. Immaculate rooms finished to the highest standard with luxury bathrooms, fabulously comfy beds, loads of storage space,views and comfort.
The meals both breakfast and dinner are of a very high standard, plenty of choice, cooked fresh to order, by Steve, mine host, who is friendly, knowledgeble and a really nice chap, we enjoyed the meals so much we ate there every night and then relaxed in the lounge getting drinks from the Whiskey Barn, perfect.
There are also facilities to dry wet clothes, store bikes etc.
Definitely reccomend and will return.

Room Tip: All seem good and each one slightly different I suspect.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emjay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at Wayside a few weeks ago and what a great find this was. The rooms were lovely and views from room 2 were wonderful. The breakfasts were very nice and so much choice too and we had our evening meals there too. The evening meals were local produce and cooked to perfection and very reasonable too. The whisky barn was brilliant and as we are 2 whisky drinkers we were able to try many different varieties and buy a bottle too to take home as Steve has about 200 different varietys to choose from. They also have other drinks available and lager on draught too. I had been riding at the local Cumbrian Heavy Horse Centre and when I got back they had even put some radox in the bathroom for me to have a relaxing soak. Very friendly people.

Room Tip: Rooms all seem to be at the back apart from the annex which is on the roadside. The views from the b...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane_duckworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

In the past year, Wayside has become a fast favourite place for us to get away from it all. Steven and Lynn have created a wonderful place in which to relax and recharge. Our room is always immaculate with a great big comfy bed ensuring a great nights sleep. We always look forward to having at least one evening meal when we stay, the steaks are a real treat. Breakfast, well you just have to go full English and clean that plate.
The Whisky Barn is also part of the treat, there really is a whisky for every taste :)
As a base for exploring the Western Lakes, Wayside is perfectly located - we've really enjoyed discovering this quieter side of the park.
All in all a great place with great hosts - we'll definitely be back...again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippincomestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

we stayed here for 1 night on the 2nd aug 2012, we travelled over 2hrs to here & were overwhelmed when we arrived, my fiancee booked this as a suprise for my 40th birthday,it made my birthday even more special with the warm welcome, excellent spotless room (room 3),& outstanding food, the hosts Lynn & Steve were excellent & we will definately be back HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the amazing Wayside for 2 nights 3/4th Aug '12 for a special birthday treat! It certainly was special, very special!! Our room was just beautiful, extremely comfortable,with views to die for, and a really lovely bathroom. Our hosts Lynn and Steve were delightful, very helpful, and fab company. Steve is a mine of information when it comes to whiskey! We ate there on Saturday night, and it was truly delicious; definately to be recommended! A stay at the Wayside is a must, but then keep it secret!!!!! Absolutely one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: most rooms are on the back, (we stayed in the twin room), and the views of Black Combe mountain are...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarbiandKevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Steve & Lynn are the perfect host in a perfect place, the rooms are as breathtaking as the views. Steve also puts together a very good evening meal. The only place to stay for me if I'm in the area. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitbeck
7.5 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
355 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
Grizedale Lodge
Grizedale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Grizedale
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast
Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Haverigg
98 reviews
9.9 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn

Address: Wayside | Millom, Whitbeck, Millom LA19 5UP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Whitbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitbeck
Price Range: $115 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayside Farm was built in approximately 1637 on the west coast of the Lake District, Cumbria. Wayside guest accommodation & Whisky Barn is situated at the base of Black Combe, surrounded by stunning scenery and the Cumbrian coast. It is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend or for the more adventurous we provide an excellent base for walking, hiking, mountain biking, wind surfing, horse riding, and after an exciting day out, why not relax with a cold pint of beer, good homemade food from our a la carte menu or a warming single malt whisky.All our bedrooms are spacious with en suite bathrooms, including a seperate shower and large double ended bath in rooms two and three and a large bath with shower over in room one.The Annexe is seperate to the main building, it has oak flooring in the bedroom and slate flooring in the bathroom, there is a large cast iron bath in the large bathroom. We have washing and drying facilities in a seperate building and a wash pad for hosing down bikes etc. There is a direct private path leading to Black Combe.The beach is not far away and you can get to it by car or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing