We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Ranked #1 of 1 Whitbeck B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed at the amazing Wayside for 2 nights 3/4th Aug '12 for a special birthday treat! It certainly was special, very special!! Our room was just beautiful, extremely comfortable,with views to die for, and a really lovely bathroom. Our hosts Lynn and Steve were delightful, very helpful, and fab company. Steve is a mine of information when it comes to whiskey! We ate there on Saturday night, and it was truly delicious; definately to be recommended! A stay at the Wayside is a must, but then keep it secret!!!!! Absolutely one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: most rooms are on the back, (we stayed in the twin room), and the views of Black Combe mountain are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbiandKevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    8
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
27
102
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitbeck, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Steve & Lynn are the perfect host in a perfect place, the rooms are as breathtaking as the views. Steve also puts together a very good evening meal. The only place to stay for me if I'm in the area. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jamie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Whyskey barn is a stunning place to relax and unwind with great freindly hosts always to cater what ever you like. The accomodation is breathtaking with great vintage features and a modern feel it realy is a nice little hotspot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redgrave
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

First time guest, will be back again and again. Room very high standard, so was the food. May well divorce the wife and move in!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is one of the best places my wife and I have stayed.
Excellent facilities, great service, fantastic food and close to the most beautiful places in the Lake District

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Wayside for 2 nights and cannot praise the welcome, the food and the accommodation enough. The place is amazing. Steve and Lynn make you feel really welcome and the whisky barn is like the cherry on top of the cake. The bed was wonderfully comfortable, the room was spotless and the bath I wanted to bring it home. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We came here for our 25th wedding anniversary we stayed in the annexe for two nights .We were made to feel very welcome by the owners.We had a meal there on the following night and the food was excellent way above average.Cannot fault the place even sampled a few whiskeys.We will be booking again for another stay in the annexe thanks for a great weekend cheers

Room Tip: go for the annexe you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ade-Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitbeck
9.7 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast
Foxcroft Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Haverigg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
No photo provided
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Plough Inn
#4 of 14 in Millom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.4 mi away
Brockwood Hall
Brockwood Hall
#1 of 3 in Millom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn

Property: Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn
Address: Wayside, Whitbeck, Millom LA19 5UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Millom > Whitbeck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whitbeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wayside Farm was built in approximately 1637 on the west coast of the Lake District, Cumbria. Wayside guest accommodation & Whisky Barn is situated at the base of Black Combe, surrounded by stunning scenery and the Cumbrian coast. It is the perfect location for a relaxing weekend or for the more adventurous we provide an excellent base for walking, hiking, mountain biking, wind surfing, horse riding, and after an exciting day out, why not relax with a cold pint of beer, good homemade food from our a la carte menu or a warming single malt whisky.All our bedrooms are spacious with en suite bathrooms, including a seperate shower and large double ended bath in rooms two and three and a large bath with shower over in room one.The Annexe is seperate to the main building, it has oak flooring in the bedroom and slate flooring in the bathroom, there is a large cast iron bath in the large bathroom. We have washing and drying facilities in a seperate building and a wash pad for hosing down bikes etc. There is a direct private path leading to Black Combe.The beach is not far away and you can get to it by car or walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Wayside Guest Accommodation and Whisky Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing