We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCWLLENT FIND”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelsall
Certificate of Excellence
chester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“EXCWLLENT FIND”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just back from lunch at the Royal Oak...what superb value it was. Two courses for less than a tenner.Excellent choices on both starters and mains. The food was beautifully cooked,nicely presented and ,much to my delight,piping hot. The service was brilliant,dont know how they do it for the money....cant wait for the next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennielib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    73
    11
    8
    1
See reviews for
49
210
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We went for a family birthday, as always the food was beautiful, great service and wonderful surroundings!
Always made to feel welcome, and nothing is too much trouble for them!
Would happily recommend the Royal Oak, time and time again!
Lovely beer garden in the summer too!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daisy1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Had a one night Bed, Breakfast and Evening Meal deal from Travelzoo here at the weekend and had a great time all round. Shopped at Cheshire Oaks on route, checked in and then Chester centre a £15 cab ride away, few drinks in town and then back for Dinner. Food and wine was very nice and reasonably priced in my opinion, ok the staff are mostly on the young side but from what I saw they handled peoples needs well. We are fairly well travelled and have slept in countless hotel rooms and for comfort of the bed this has gone into our top 5, room warm and clean, spacious bathroom with seperate shower and bath. Breakfast was tasty, all in all a successful trip for us.

Room Tip: Was a bit apprehensive when taken to one of the smaller upper floor rooms but they are still of a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maldivesb0und
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
182 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome on a miserable Tuesday night.
Spacious, comfortable seating.
Extensive menu, good value.
Excellent ox cheeks, delicious all round.
No room for pudding, boo!
Looked after very well, mostly by Frankie.
Thumbs up all round.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ChalmersChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

The Royal Oak is a great place to stay. We saw the place as a Travelzoo offer, it was brilliant. Just outside Chester, ideal for both there and Cheshire Oaks. Arrived and were shown straight up to our very new looking, spacious and beautiful room, ( TV bigger than ours at home). Super bathroom with lovely towels an toiletries. We went down to dinner which was extremely well cooked and served, unfortunately we were unable to sample the desserts as we were to full from a starter and main. The bedroom was warm and the bed very comfy. Breakfast was ok. We had a great visit and would return. The staff were friendly, polite and nothing was to much trouble.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelsall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Having booked a table in early November I was surprised that my husband was told there was no record of our booking for Christmas Day. As a result we were demoted to the "canteen" area of the restaurant today. The food was quite nice but the service was poor. We were clearly not a priority being left with dirty plates for long periods of time. The staff were stressed and on the verge of tears and the room had no atmosphere. Fortunately we celebrate Christmas in style tomorrow and today was supposed to be an easy stop gap but I will never eat out at Christmas at the oak again. Disappointed!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavinaKelsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidjgughes, General Manager at The Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thanks for your comments, I am quite surprised you say your husband told you that you had no booking as i greeted you myself, and admittedly had you on my booking sheet as a table of 2 and not 3 a minor mistake, if we didn't have your booking we wouldn't have had your pre order that took me several emails and finally got on Christmas eve. And if we didn't have your booking we wouldn't have had your table.
you arrived half an hour early and wanted to be sat straight away, that's why you sat on the table in our brasserie(not canteen) next to our 20 foot Christmas tree,and not your table as it was still in use. if you had been a little more patient especially on a busy Christmas day you may have enjoyed your selves a little more.your food was served within the correct timings and you didn't wait long at all, as i kept an eye on your table myself 1 hour and 45 mins for a 3 course meal on a busy Christmas day i think that's pretty good going myself , once again thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Went here for a night with my boyfriend & was very impressed with our room, very well furnished & spacious, definately not what I expected when he told me it was a pub, they deserve a 5 star rating. The food was amazing & the service, was made to feel like royalty. Very clean & lovely surroundings.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kelsall
7.0 mi away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 44 in Chester
2,075 reviews
10.7 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
7.4 mi away
Roomzzz Chester City
Roomzzz Chester City
#3 of 44 in Chester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Queen, Chester
7.1 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 44 in Chester
648 reviews
7.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#10 of 44 in Chester
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak Hotel

Property: The Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Chester Road | Chester, Kelsall, Chester CW6 0RR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester > Kelsall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kelsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Oak Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 16 new beautifully appointed modern boutique bedrooms all with en-suite, tea coffee making facilities, flat screen television, Free wifi, bathrobes and daily maid service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing