We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon deal”
Review of The Lord Binning - CLOSED

The Lord Binning
Price range: $14 - $34
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I recently enjoyed a meal here using a groupon deal (£50 food voucher for £25).

The venue is very nice, modern but still with a traditional pub feel. The staff were all very helpful and friendly.

The food itself was good on the whole. We had a shared platter for starter and both had the burger as the main. Portions were huge for both. Only thing to let the food down was the brisket which had chunks of garlic and was still tough. Apart from that though it was all lovely.

Our table was booked for 7pm on a Friday. It was quite quiet so I suppose the evening felt like it was lacking something.

Overall though great food and service in a nice venue/location and worth a visit.

Thank Gazj04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at The Lord Binning, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for taking time to review us. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (555)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 308 of 555 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

We took some friends to lunch in July at The Lord Binning and it was awful. There was a query about the bill which we hoped that Trading Standards would sort out, hence the delay in posting this report. We had read in Trip Advisor that the service could be poor, so I contacted The Lord Binning and they assured me that the service would be good, which it was. However the good service could not make up for the food, which was just terrible. I wrote to the owners the next day, and a few days later the manager rang me, but as far as he was concerned the food was OK. For the coastal plank, they need to visit Sheldrakes in Heswall and see how this can be properly prepared. My wife's seafood tagietelle was weak and watery. My sea bream was greasy. One of our guests had the duck, which she described as dry and over spicy - and gave it 4 out of 10. The other guests rump steak was full of gristle and was awarded 6 out of 10. We had bought 4 vouchers via TravelZoo and had two left, one of which we used elsewhere, but the last one we preferred not to use as the food was just so bad. We have had excellent food in 2013 in many restaurants, and have posted many positive reviews, but our meal at The Lord Binning was the worst meal anywhere in 2013.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at The Lord Binning, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, we do remember your visit. You have mentioned that you involved Trading Standards and I just wanted to clarify the outcome for those reading your review that Trading Standards did not support your query.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We have eaten at The Lord Binning on a number of occasions and will continue to do so.
If you are after a good hearty meal with excellent service (always with a smile) than The lord Binning is the place to go.
Short, sweet and to the point - we recommend, highly!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RehanHearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at The Lord Binning, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you. We're delighted you love it here and that you come and visit us regularly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

this was the second time we have been. it was again very good with the exception of the fish dish which was very average - I think it was probably down to the quality of the fish. overall, a good place to eat. I also like the fact that the tables are spaced out,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dcwjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at The Lord Binning, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon. If you could email and let us know which fish dish you had that would be great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Honestly quality and quantity of food was superb!!! Beautiful fish board and amazing burgers and the dripping pig just wow!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheHotelGuru2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul N, Owner at The Lord Binning, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. Glad the dripping pig was a hit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Binning also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing