We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“candle wax on table .. blergh”
Review of The Lord Binning

The Lord Binning
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kelsall
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Weaverham, United Kingdom
1 review
“candle wax on table .. blergh”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

we got there for lunch the pub was empty.. lots of tables to choose from so we sat near the open kitchen. first table we sat on was covered in hard dripped candle wax as was the second. the waitress wasnt especially helpful and service over all was slow even though throughout our experience only a handful of people walked in. really not the way to attract new customers. me and my partner shared one of the 'planks' which the menu says is great for sharing. thats a grave misjudgement. it was small, just enough for 1 really and the most filling part was an apple. hmmm indeed. we both had burgers both unimpressed and the chefs looked it too. wont be trying again for a while.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    106
    68
    60
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Gastropub with great service”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to the Lord Binning for the first time last Monday and had a lovely meal with excellent service. We were surprised how large the place is and how cosy and warm it still was. We had our two children with us but we were still able to enjoy pre-dinner drinks on a relaxed sofa area before going to our table (our choice as our table was ready) There was a good variety of dinner choices and a kids menu for our 8 year old. Our 13 year unfortunately (for price) likes to eat from the adult menus. We had a very nice, reasonably priced bottle of wine too (and took some home with us). Every course was excellent and we were waited on the whole time by a lovely, friendly waitress.

I also like to measure places to some degree by their chips! Not that I usually eat them - apart from a few pinched from my kids but the chips here were superb. Obviously, cooked in good fresh clean oil, from nice pototoes and just tanned to perfection. Not the dried up, twice fried, fat dripping articles you get in some places. Quality chips. My daughters lobster ravioli was superb too.

We enjoyed it all so much we went back on Thursday. It was busier this time but service was still good (Although not as good as Monday. We had two different waitresses - the first one lovely, polite and friendly, the other - not so much. She made it look hard work to put one foot in front of the other and did not respond at all to my comment that there was too much pepper on the vegetables, hence the reason they were untouched.) The food was still excellent though and we didn't let one unresponsive waitress spoil another lovely meal.

Great place with great food. We will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skipmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Where else before our holiday?”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The night before we fly away we like to go out for a meal, so (at lunchtime) we decided that sharing a Coastal Plank and a bottle of Green Fish would do nicely for our evening meal.
Well! We have just had the most delicious meal and a fantastic welcome from Harriet.
Paul and David have done a few things to the menu and decor and the place is even better than before.
We like the Lord Binning and the Old Sessions. The Hanging Gate still needs to convince. Looking forward to the Montgomery.

Lots of love
Roger and Sue

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rogerfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Notch Gastropub with Service to match”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

First time visit to Lord Binning, we ordered starter plank and main courses. Generous portions and good ales selection. For families good play area outside too. Try it if your local but plenty of excellent choices closer to Chester too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveDSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eat Here !”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent food. we were kept abreast of events - Sunday service was slowish and we were therefore able to keep ourselves amused during the wait. Garlic mushrooms were excellent, and the Bream sublime. Harriet as floor manager was efficient and polite and Mark unobtrusively attentive. Delicious apple pie - Eton mess also good.

Luckily another of our party had to drive me home !

Highly recommended

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Binning also viewed

 
Tarporley, Cheshire
Tarporley, Cheshire
 

Been to The Lord Binning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing