We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number ONE on our local list”
Review of The Lord Binning

The Lord Binning
Ranked #3 of 4 Restaurants in Kelsall
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Number ONE on our local list”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We went to the Lord Binning straight from Liverepool Airport after arriving from Portugal, having also been the night before we departed. That should tell you a lot!!!
The food is fairly priced in terms of the quality and taste. The sharing platters are superb. Do not think that the boss does not have an office - he is there keeping a close eye on everything and is always ready to help and give information. Soimeone used the word "pretentious" and gave a lousy review. Hopefully he or she will not be there in future.
The staff are superb and trying really hard. They will gain experience and polish, but heaven forbid that they lose their charm and thoughtfulness.
Keep on the good work. I promised a positive review and here it is.
Roger and Sue

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rogerfrost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    106
    68
    60
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wouldn't go again”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Limited choice of unexciting menu. Expensive for what we had. Went with a group of ladies and although the menu choices were made beforehand the service was very slow.
Drinks very expensive, shan't go again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeannieChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“At last a gastro pub that lives up to the pre-opening hype!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Early Bird menu fantastic value.
Service good.
Prices very reasonable.
Will return and soon.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little treasure”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were so lucky to get a table at the Lord Binning tonight. The restaurant was buzzing with atmosphere. We were greeted by a friendly member of the team who showed us to our table which was right next to the log fire, a welcome extra after a pretty horrible journey through wind and rain. There was plenty of choice on the menu to suit all tastes and very reasonably priced. The food was presented to a very high standard and the waitress was very informative about the dishes. The owner even came over to our table to make sure everything was ok, and when talking to him discovered he was a real wine buff, he not only suggested a good wine selection to suit our meal choice, we even got to sample a suggested red after telling him I have never found a red wine I like.
I chose the flat iron steak with pepper corn sauce which was cooked to perfection and my husband had the venison pie followed by the choc brownie, not sure how we managed to eat so much, there was so much food on the plates. The restaurant was getting very busy but the staff obviously trained very well remained consistent. After our meal we went through to the other side of the restaurant to the bar where live music was on offer. Even though the bar is connected to the restaurant the music doesn’t interfere with the ambience of the restaurant. We certainly will return to the Lord Binning. My only negative was we drove, next time it’s a taxi for us so we can enjoy the great selection of wines on offer.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great first impressions for this new Cheshire gastro-pub”
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were regualrs at the Residence in Nantwich and interested to visit Paul's new venture The Lord Binning. We met freinds there, were greeted by Paul and his business partner and promptly seated by the fire: pleasant on a blustery Autumn evening. Drinks service was speedy and the menu met with oh's and ah's from all of us. There is a specials board but sadly one of our party who wanted fish was told it had sold out (at 7:30?) and then we were amazed to find that the only other fish dish was also sold out. Under ordering or huge demand? Still we all ordered and the food was great we universally agreed. Repeat drinks orders were a little slow and the staff although willing may be just finding their feet: they've only been open six or seven weeks. But...don't take this as a negative review at all, with a little polishing this would be a really great regular dinner venue and we've already rebooked. The food is really good and not bad value: with pre-dinner drinks, wine and two courses for the four of us it was £100 which we all thought was good value.

The mushroom starter and terrine were our favourites but all round the food looked and tsated like they really cared about it. Sorry other people didn't rate it so highly but we found it an enjoyable place to spend an evening and will be heading back soon and recommending this to local friends

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lord Binning also viewed

 
Eastham, Merseyside
 

Been to The Lord Binning? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing