We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manor House Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Killadeas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2007

My husband and I booked 2 nights B+B plus 1 evening meal mid week at this hotel. Upon arriving at the hotel we were very impressed by the hotel and the grounds it is situated on. There is a beautiful lake and marina, gardens and golf course.
We were allocted room 205 (old wing) by a very disinterested receptionist and were escorted to it by another member of staff. When we arrived at the room we were totally horrified by the dirtyness of the room. The floor had not been hoovered and had a number of stains on the carpet. The television, dressing table, bedside lockers and headboard were covered in dust. No attempt had been made to clean them. The mirrors were filthy and a chair was covered in food from previous guests. We rang recpetion and complained immediatelty who said they would move us to a better room straight away. We were moved to room 203 and the room was exactly the same. Dust and food everywhere and the furniture had stains all over it. The room was totally unhygenic. Along the skirting boards was a very thick layer of dust - it had obviously NEVER been cleaned. Basically both rooms were not only filthy but they were very run down and needed to be completely renovated. Again we rung down to recpetion who sent up the Housekeeping Manager. He seemed totaly uninterested in what we were showing him and said that he had no other rooms available and that he could offer us a complimentary drink in the bar while he got the room cleaned. To us this was not good enough. We refused and rang down to reception to tell them that we would not be staying in the room and that we would be checking out and wanted a full refund. The receptionist asked us to give her 5 minutes and the Manager if the hotel rung us back. He immediately changed us to another (cleaner and modern) room in the NEWER part of the hotel which was new and fresh and most improtantly CLEAN! This whole process took almost 45 mins to sort and to be honest put a dampner to the start of our stay. However, after that it did get better. We found the hotel pleasent to stay in and found the food in the main restaurant and the bar lovely. The golf course was also good.
However, the last moan is again about the housekeeping and their obvious lack of training. When our room was serviced after the forst night we actually laughed at what they did, or didn't do! The bed had been made but a 5 year old would have done a better job. The towels were changed and that was it! The floor wasn't hoovered, the glasses wern't changed, the water bottles hadnt been replaced, nor had the biscuits with the tea and coffee. Basically a very poor attempt.
BIG HINT: If staying in this hotel request a room in the NEW part of the hotel. If you don't get it complain until you do as the old part needs major renovation and is no better than a 1 star cheap B+B not a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank shearty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,447 - 1,453 of 1,466 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2007

The Manor House Hotel has the potential to provide an excellent overall experience, but unfortunately there is a significant gap between expectation and experience. First impressions were positive - a bright, colourful display of flowers around the entrance set a good tone. Rooms (most of which seem to be in a brutally unsympathetic extension block) are well-designed and well-equipped, but poor housekeeping and maintenance standards mean that shortcomings can not be disguised. On this occasion Room 208 suffered from shabby and scruffy furniture, accumulated dust, food debris from previous guests, and greasy smeared windows which were revealed on opening torn curtains. Food served during dinner in the main restaurant suggested a competent kitchen team, but the overall experience fell short of the standard implicit in the menu cost. Main courses arrived lukewarm, and an unco-ordinated service team ignored (e.g.) dirty glasses left on the table throughout the meal. The atmosphere in the bar after dinner was far from relaxing as staff made preparations and discussed plans for handling a drinks reception for yet another wedding the followng day. The wonderful setting on the shores of Lough Erne compensates for a hotel where there is a real need for professional standards to be introduced, and which seems unable to view the experience provided from the guest's perspective.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
2  Thank Strathallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

I had been bought a stay here in an executive room. It was a really disappointing stay. It was for a special occasion and my husband and I were very much looking to a lovely weekend away.
The welcome was dismal, truly dire, staff were so unfriendly at front desk during entire weekend, it really left a bad taste in our mouth.
The room was large but rather unappealing with blank white walls.
A friend had sent champagne to our room but the staff didnt even bother to leave a card to say who it was from so we had no clue! When I rang down to ask who it was from they were disinterested and said they didnt normally leave out notes for people?!

At dinner, they had run out of the dessert we both wanted which considering it was early in the night was disappointing.
This hotel looks beautiful from the outside but needs a makeover for the customer service and staff training and for their executive rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank s300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We stay in this hotel every New Year with a selection of family and friends as well as a number of weekends during the year mainly due to it's excellent value. In fact I was engaged at the hotel a few years ago and was made a real fuss of by the staff!!

We have always found wonderful warmth from the Fermanagh staff but perhaps less so from management, Gary at the front desk is particularly helpful and you'll often find him doing every job in the hotel!!

The food in the restaurant is great and if you prefer something less formal the bar is also great.

One tip is to request a room in the new wing of the hotel as this is where I always stay!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Traveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

I stayed at this hotel with my wife & young daughter for two nights during December 2006 which was available as a pre Christmas Special Offer. The room which was clean, modern and spacious had a great view over Lower Lough Erne. All the Reception, Dining Room and Cleaning Staff at the hotel staff were both polite and courteous.

As our child was under 4 she was able to stay for free. There is ample car parking available, a modern bar and excellent food available. The surrounding area has some fantasitc scenery, walks, boat trips, forests etc and I would recommend the Hotel and Location without hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank excelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2006

Just returned from a wedding here. It was great The food was served promptly and was nice and hot despite there being 300 guests. The family room was a good size for the four of us and the leisure centre was very enjoyable. I would definitely recommend it for weddings.

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2006

In search of another hotel/guesthouse that happened to be closed, we found this one via the tourist information center. At first glance, the place seemed spectacular. The grounds are gorgeous and the hotel sits directly on a lake. Fabulous views could have been had if it hadn't been raining. However, once we got our room, we were less than thrilled. We had somehow got the room obviously designated for a handicapped person (and neither of us are) as seen by the bathroom design. Any person relying on a wheelchair would have been able to manuever well in the bathroom, but would not have been able to do so in the sleeping area as there was not sufficient space. Although manueverability would be easy in the bathroom, it is certain that bathing there would have been an unpleasant experience. The mold growing in the shower area was outrageous for such an expensive place. After the maid first came in, I had to leave a note asking specifically for the mold to be removed. While there was an attempt at it after prompting, the issue was not resolved.

We had to request a bedside lamp as the original one was missing. Although the bar area was nice, the bar staff were disinterested in us. The food was marginal at best (we left the first night to find a local, fabulous Indian restaurant) and, again, the staff with one exception, were disinterested.

Most things such as the above are to be expected no matter where one decides to spend time. However, what was not expected related to an experience in the ladies lockerroom of the ggymnasium. I went through the lockerroom to change and go to the hottub (which was chilly, not hot). While there staff appeared to be attending to a young woman in physical distress related to either overexertion or illness. Forty minutes later I returned and nothing had changed. At that point I intervened and offered assistance to the staff who inquired if I were a physician. I said that I was not but had some medical knowledge. I asked if a doctor had been called. One had not. I began assessing the young woman, who it turned out did not need medical intervention, and was able to resolve the situation. It was very clear that the staff working in the gymnasium (that serves guests and the general public) were not trained in how to deal with (potential) medical emergencies. If this situation had indeed been one necessitating emergency medical services, the outcome may have been much different. I sought the manager of the gym immediately after the incident but was informed she was not available. I went down the next morning and left a message asking to be contacted immediately. There was never any contact made.

For the amount charged per night, this hotel should not have to be reminded that staff should be adequately trained in cleaning services, customer service or basic first aid. In addition, two people who are not handicapped should not have been given the handicapped room.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ingrdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killadeas
2.3 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#4 of 6 in Enniskillen
1,539 reviews
7.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
6.4 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#1 of 6 in Enniskillen
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#5 of 6 in Enniskillen
581 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mahon's Hotel
Mahon's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Irvinestown
334 reviews
20.8 mi away
Corick House & Spa
Corick House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Clogher
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Country Hotel

Address: 210 Killadeas Road, Killadeas BT94 1NY, Northern Ireland (Formerly Manor House Resort Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Killadeas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Killadeas
Price Range: $156 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Manor House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Killadeas
Manor Hotel Killadeas
Manor House Country Hotel Killadeas, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing