We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruiser hire trauma - total nightmare”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Manor House Marine and Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We (my husband, I and 15 year old daughter) hired a Noble Duke cruiser from Manor House Marine and Cottages Ltd for a week in August 2012. We were kept waiting for over an hour for the cruiser as other families arrived later than us and were allocated their boats. Our payment was taken (over £1000.00 - not a cheap week!) and we were fobbed off and told our boat was being cleaned as they "..wanted it to be as nice as possible for us". What they never once mentioned was that there might have been a mechanical problem with this boat that they were trying to fix and that was the reason for the delay. The starter motor shorted out a few days into the holiday filling the boat with acrid black smoke and absolutely terrifying us all. Although they were able to tell us (by phone) how to isolate the battery thereby stopping the motor we were left overnight moored up in a remote location with no offer of immediate help. My daughter spent the night crying as she (and I) was terrified that the boat would go on fire. Thank god this hadn't happened during the night as we were sleeping at either end of the boat and would have been separated and trapped by the smoke. The engineer, Brian, arrived with us mid morning next day and replaced/rewired the starting motor but again no offer of taking us back to Manor House, we were left to sail the boat back by the return date, not knowing if it would happen again. When we got back to the marina although the managers knew what had happened no one even asked us if we were ok. Not much customer service there. My daughter was so distressed by the whole experience we just unloaded and left as she just wanted to get home. Fermanagh lakes are the most gorgeous location but Manor House Marine displayed a serious (and disgraceful) lack of honesty about the safety of their boats and jeopardised the safety of a family. Never again. If you fancy a crusing holiday seek out another provider.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorMarine, Manager at Manor House Marine and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback.

All our boats are allocated to customers well in advance and it is not possible to chop and change based on the arrival order. This is due to individual customer and booking requirements and unfortunately sometimes some boats are ready sooner than others. Our check-in time for our boats is from 3pm and we normally have all boats ready for this time. On the day of your arrival we discovered a mechanical fault – not related to your problem. This took some time to repair and meant that our housekeeping staff were delayed getting on the boat to prepare it for you. From memory your boat was not ready until 4.30pm and I apologise for this inconvenience.

The mechanical fault that developed during your stay was extremely rare. This particular fault has never occurred before. Our technician rewired the complete ignition to ensure that this fault did not reoccur. I apologise that the fault occurred. Your boat was perfect safe after the repair but I apologise for the lack of reassurance you received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 87 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

We took a cottage for a long weekend and, as the past owners of a five star self-catering property in England, were most impressed by the well thought out design and practical arrangements of the cottage. It was also delightfully peaceful with lovely views over Lough Erne and can be thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruralgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fantastic and brilliant most comfortable place I have stayed in years and scenery outstanding people that work their very friendly and polite and easy to fine
I would recommend it to anyone including using their boats for trip on the lougherne the service is brilliant

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen Cardwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed for 5 days in August, cottage lovely and clean, had everything we needed. Hired a puffin boat for son and friend to fish, all staff very polite. Only negative was the kids games room, it was just a small garage, not very inviting.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmckl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went for a family holiday with 2 children and hired a Noble Chief. This was my 2nd boating holiday in as many years. If you are not an experienced boater, it is still a straightforward experience and they are quite helpful. The boat itself is fine. Lots of outside deck and very comfortable inside. If you get the weather for this, there is nowhere else like it. Absolutely fantastic. If the weather is bad then it is a miserable experience. But this is Ireland and there is no guarantee so it will be down to your luck on the day. You can pretty much see the lower and upper loughs in one week. Highly recommended overall.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As a family we have stayed at the Manor House Marine cottages on quite a few occasions even spending one Christmas a few years ago there, so we know what the cottages are like, and have always enjoyed our stays, the cottage was well presented clean and tidy, and as usual has everything we needed for our stay, we have in the past stayed in late autumn and winter, this time however the cottage was Baltic and did not warm up the whole of our 4 day stay, turn the heat up.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
Thank IGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorMarine, Manager at Manor House Marine and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us on many occassions and aplogise for the heating on you last visit.
We are currently upgrading the insulation in all of our cottages and changing the heating system so that residents will have more control over the cottage temperature.
We trust that this experience does not deter you from booking again; look forward to seeing you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hired a Nobel Cadet from this Place last May. What a load of C**p. It stank of diesel fumes, the heater made it worse and was not fixed upon call out, ie. no heater. In addition the prop shaft was so out of allignment the boat rattled and vibrated very intrusively.

They were also fitting the curtains which delayed our departure on the first day to almost 6pm.

Will never darken their door again, frankly the rest of the fleet did not look any better.

Room Tip: Buy a canoe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colette m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManorMarine, Manager at Manor House Marine and Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay on our Noble Cadet. Diesel leaks are extremely rare but unfortunately they can happen now and again. It is unfortunate that this happened during your stay and I am surprised that we could not recticy it so I am very sorry for this.

We have never had a problem regarding the prop shaft alignment on any of our boats; we have three Noble Cadets and they have been out on hire constantly throughout the season. Mis-alignment would almost certainly create water leaks at the stern gland and also the boat would be almost undrivable. It may be possible that you collected something around your propeller during your trip but I can assure you the alignment was not at fault.

I cannot recall any time that a departure has been delayed as late as 6pm. Normal collection is from 3pm; over 90% of our boats would be ready by this time. Unfortunately when a boat is returned in an unsatisfactory condition it can take longer to prepare the vessel for the next charter but we cannot recall anyone having to wait after 5pm for their boat.

Again I apoIogise for the diesel issues and that they were not repaired to your satisfaction. I do not have the full details of your booking and therefore do not know if these issues where raised at the time and if any compensation was given. If you would like to get in touch with us directly we can discuss the issues further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Killadeas
2.2 mi away
Lough Erne Resort
Lough Erne Resort
#5 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,551 reviews
7.3 mi away
Killyhevlin Lakeside Hotel & Lodges
6.4 mi away
Belmore Court Motel
Belmore Court Motel
#1 of 7 in Enniskillen
1,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Westville Hotel
Westville Hotel
#2 of 7 in Enniskillen
810 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Enniskillen Hotel
The Enniskillen Hotel
#6 of 7 in Enniskillen
584 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manor House Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Marine and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Marine and Cottages

Address: Lough Erne, Killadeas BT94 1NY, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Fermanagh > Killadeas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Killadeas
Price Range: $121 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manor House Marine and Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manor House Marine & Cottages nestles in the heart of Lower Lough Erne, one of the most spectacular lakes in Ireland's waterways. We have 12 beautifully appointed and well equipped self-catering cottages that enjoy uninterrupted views of the Lough. You can relax and stroll aroung our private grounds, we have our own fishing jetties and shoreline. There is a Pitch & Putt, Tennis Court, Boules Pit and games room and mooring facilities all free. Our 9 hole Golf Course is available at reduced rates and we have Day Boats and Bicycles for hire. The hotel has an indoor leisure complex available at a small extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Manor House Marine and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manor House Marine And Cottages Hotel Killadeas
Manor House Marine And Cottages Killadeas, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing