We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come home to Vergelegen” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Kakamas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Springbok, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Come home to Vergelegen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

This was a one night stay over for an anniversary and the room was stunning,made up perfectly with champagne on ice.For dinner we dined in the restaurant at a specially made up table and the food were fantastic.During our meal the chef came to check on us and to see if all were well.This made us feel so special and we really appreciated it.This is really the best service I have ever had at any guesthouse and restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boltserve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    42
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
43
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

stayed few nights on my business trip and thoroughly enjoyed it. service is top class, really caring about guest. rooms clean and spacious, restaurant serves superb food and portions are massive :) it is also conveniently located in centre of all Northern Cape attractions to see (Augrabies Falls etc)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zibi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The accommodation was perfect and exactly what I required for a relatively short, two night stay. I especially enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere, the excellent facilities and above all, the superb service and genuine friendliness of all the staff I dealt with. Service was on a personal level without being "overbearing" and the schnitzel was simply the best ever. One point of (positive) criticism: Please add "Windhoek Draught Beer" to your stock in the bar, it is an absolute MUST for those of us who really appreciate and enjoy the variety of Namibian beers.
In summery: My personal rating . . . restaurant & accommodation/facilities: 5 star, IF you are not one of those riduculous persons who always expects a "Ritz" or a "One and Only" type of facility, even in a rural area such as the Keimoes/Kakamas/Augrabies region !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riaan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergelegen, Owner at Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Booysen

It is difficult to find words to really say thank you for the compliments.

THANK YOU SO MUCH !!

We shall use this as encouragement for the future and will definitely strive to keep up the standard.

*WE HAD ALREADY PUT WINDHOEK DRAUGHT ON THE MENU. Thank you for the recommendation.

Looking forward to seeing you when visiting the Northern Cape again.

Vergelegen greetings
Niel and Anelma, and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Vergelegen is comfortable and generally very nice, but it is also forgetable. The room and amenities were fine - nice shower!

The style is that of an impersonal hotel rather than a B&B or guest house. The biggest disappointment was the total lack of personal service or attention which I expect when staying at a B&B or guest house.

Breakfast was buffet style - no fruit salad and scrambled eggs on a warmer. Functional and fast.

I would stay there again if I needed to overnight in the area but I would not go out of my way to do so. In summary, a pleasant but very ordinary and unremarkable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
236 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed in Vergelegen one night on our way from Upington to Nababeep. It seems to be a popular stopover for travelers. Rooms were nice, in a classic style and nice bathrooms. We found the restaurant of the guesthouse also very good. The place is well maintained and clean. It can be an option also for people visiting Augrabies falls due to proximity. Recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

The lodge is in the heart of the grape lands with a beautiful restuarant serving really good food. Also a gift shop on the premisses. Really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niceguy10222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2012

Arriving on a near 40 degree day it was the air-conditioned room that did it for me! When we arrived the room was made up and the AC turned on - a small but very welcome gesture.

The property is elegant and radiates a sense of calm, especially sitting in the afternoon shade at the pond amongst the geese and swans. The variety of birdlife is great too! The sunset over the vineyard opposite the guesthouse was magnificent!

The rooms are generous in size and so too the bathrooms. A decent selection of TV channels if you are inclined to watch is on offer as is tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Although there is a fridge it is not fully stocked except for a bottle of water per guest.

Spending the afternoon in the sparkling pool as a respite from the heat, the staff was readily at hand to take drink orders and towels are provided poolside.

The guesthouse however shines when it comes to their dinners. The menu is well thought out and affordable and the food was expertly prepared. A surefire hit!

While it is a bit of drive to the Augrabies Falls - around 50km, a stay here is genuinely worth the drive. It is the sum of its parts that make Vergelegen great. It won't disappoint!

A useless fact (unless you are a car-nut and have the spy camera handy), the roads in this area is littered with still-to-be-released vehicles from Porsche, Mercedes, BMW and even FIAT in disguised form with high speed vehicle testing stickers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xerys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakamas
21.0 mi away
Ou Skool Guest House
Ou Skool Guest House
#1 of 1 in Neilersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
21.2 mi away
Dundi Lodge
Dundi Lodge
#1 of 9 in Augrabies Falls National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Falls Guest House
The Falls Guest House
#1 of 2 in Augrabies Falls National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
The Overlook
The Overlook
#1 of 7 in Keimoes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palmhof Chalets
Palmhof Chalets
#2 of 7 in Kakamas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
2.0 mi away
Kalahari Gateway Hotel
Kalahari Gateway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kakamas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant

Property: Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant
Address: N14 Route | Northern Cape, South Africa, Kakamas 8870, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kakamas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kakamas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vergelegen Guesthouse & Restaurant sits nestled in the Orange River Valley in a splendid farm setting on the outskirts of Kakamas. The Guesthouse is en-route to the Kalahari and Namibia, Namakwaland, and Richtersveld, as well as being located in the perfect place to visit a variety of attractions and activities. Vergelegen Guesthouse adds a personal and exclusive touch to each of its eighteen elegantly decorated and en suite rooms. All rooms come provided with linens, towels complimentary amenity kit, and are air conditioned. There are also coffee and tea making facilities, and a healthy breakfast is served. Outside guests can enjoy a braai in a quaint courtyard as well as the crystalline pool.The chef at Vergelegen Guesthouse can prepare meals for your enjoyment outside on the patio or by the fireplace or guests may enjoy intimate dining at the A La Carte restaurant on the premises, or choose to relax at the cocktail lounge and bar.Facilities are available for conferences of up to thirty people and catering is available for all occasions are available as well. A high level of personal attention is assured for the duration of your stay.Also on the premises is our coffee shop and deli where guests can procure a feast of dried and fresh fruit as well as local produce. Or guests can enjoy light lunches and homemade treats in the tea garden.The Vergelegen Guest house is a perfect base for travellers to Riemvasmaak hot spring, Augrabies National Park, and surrounding activities and attractions. It's also en-route to the Kalahari Gemsbok Park Richtersveld, Namibia, and Namaqualand.Close to the Vergelegen Guest house visitors can choose rafting trips in the Orange River Gorge, game viewing and night drives at Augrabies Falls National Park, horseback riding, historical sight seeing, vineyard and wine tours, and mountain biking to name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing