We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect overnight - wish we could stay longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 5 Kakamas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2011

After over 800km drive, on our way to Namibia via Augrabies falls 29 November 2011, this was our first stop. What a nice room, great service for a town like Kakamas where there is nothing else to do!
We really enjoyed the peacefulness, comfortable bed and especially the food! At first we didn’t expect much, but with the decor, peaceful music and the food, our highlight is definitely the restaurant!

Would reccomend to stay here to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendavR8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 135 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was a great place to chill out after a day safari day in the dessert of Northern Cape South Africa
The Host Niel and Anelma Steenekamp were very outgoing in their welcome and really made you feel at 'home'. We had our dinner there as there was no other place to go!! The freshly prepared lamb shanks and fillet of beef were well received and the room was basis but upmarket 'basic' and covered our needs and fulfilled our requirements.
A very pleasant place to rest for the night on Safari

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussiebd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I have stayed at this establishment on a number of occasions during the past year.It provides well appointed comfortable accomodation. The spacious clean rooms have aircon and heating.

The main attraction is the restaurant. One could hardly imagine such a delightful place with an imaginative and extensive menu in such a remote location. My favourites include the chicken liver starter, lamb shanks and chille ice cream. The quality of the food is outstanding and the service is friendly and efficient too. Food and drinks are offered at reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This magnificent Guesthouse and Restaurant is situated amongst the Vineyards of the Northern Cape. The accommodation we (three adults) had was a suite (No. 16) consisting of a double room (double bed) with en-suite, two double rooms (twin beds), separate bathroom/shower, large lounge/TVroom, spacious kitchen, a desk area where one could sit and write postcards or do any office work on a laptop (no wi-fi) and at the entrance a small patio area with braai (BBQ) facilities. Secure car parking also available. All this for about £100 per night including a sumptuous breakfast.

The restaurant has an excellent a la carte menu at very resonable prices (eg £45 for three three-course meals including beers and wine)

If you are prepared to travel to this destination (it is about 600 miles from Cape Town and the N roads are very good indeed) then do so. This is about 24 miles from the Augrabies National Park (entry about £10/person) where you can marvel at the well known Augrabies Falls.

Room Tip: By choosing a suite as described you can save money when comparing with a double and a single room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brianvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vergelegen, Owner at Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you so mush for the great review, nice travels.....

PS We are proud to announce that we are now the only establishment in the area to provide high speed WiFi internet at the guesthouse, restaurant and coffee shop/Cocktail bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

Stayed 2 nights as part of a tour. Nice hotel, nice rooms, except that the twin beds are narrow. Check for a room with seperate beds in this could be a problem. It was for us, but the management made arrangements very cheerfully, and added an extra in our room. Staff very friendly, service with a smile, and diner in the restaurant was good. Breakfast buffet excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank francois d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

If you are travelling to Namaqualand to view the flowers, then a stay over at Vergelegen Guesthouse should be an absolute must on your itinerary!
After a long drive, what more could one ask for than: A warm friendly welcome; A clean, comfortable & lovely furnished room; and of course the BEST dining by far!
Slept like a King, ate like a King!
Vergelegen is a real Oasis - next time our stay will definitely be longer.

Room Tip: Our room was wonderful! Concerned travelers should perhaps inquire at Reception during check-in re n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in Vergelegen on our way to watch the flowers in Namaqualand. After a long day of traveling, the food at Vergelegen was just wonderful, and the staffs were so friendly and attentive.

However, the standard of the rooms really vary in this place. Unfortunately we had one of the "shoebox" room. It (Room 12) was really small for two people, basic and no style at all. They could not even fit a closet in the room, they had to put it in the bathroom. Don't be deceive by the website, not all rooms are that great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluemoon1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kakamas hotels
20.2 mi away
No photo provided
32.6 mi away
Kalahari River & Safari Co
10.8 mi away
No photo provided
Lake Grappa Guestfarm
#2 of 5 in Kakamas
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Palmhof Chalets
Palmhof Chalets
#2 of 7 in Kakamas
20 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant

Address: N14 Route | Northern Cape, South Africa, Kakamas 8870, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kakamas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kakamas
Price Range: $90 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vergelegen Guest House and Restaurant, surrounded by lush green vineyards of local farmers, sits nestled in the Orange River valley; on the out skirts of Kakamas, Northern Cape. Vergelegen is en-route to various popular destinations: Augrabies National Park, the Kalahari, Namibia, Richtersveld and the West Coast. The central location also provides the ideal home base for our local region; whether being on a business trip or coming as a tourist to enjoy the variety of attractions and activities, in and around Kakamas. The Guest house adds a personal and exclusive interior touch to their 25 air conditioned rooms. Two self catering units on the premises are available if that will meet your preferable requirements. In all the rooms, Vergelegen, provides linen, towels, complimentary amenities, coffee- and tea making station. Vergelegen as an establishment is a WiFi hotspot. The hotel bouquet DTSV cannels are excisable in all the rooms. A Buffet style breakfast can be enjoyed in the restaurant or on the patio around the pool. All the rooms are non-smoking, but easy access to the patio if required. The establishment is also pet friendly with if possible prior arrangement, therefore some rooms has tiny court yards to accommodate our animal friends. Vergelegen restaurant has a well established reputation for abundant and quality served dishes. A celebration of local and international mouth watering choices, with a touch of ownership and playfulness in the recipes, will make the meal a memorable experience. The small but well thought through wine list, offers choices of local Kakamas and South African wines, that according to the owner, pairs magnificently with the dishes on the menu. A coffee shop by day and cocktail lounge by night, the ambiance of the communal lounge, plays the part, of the time of day, you choose to relax and take a little time out. Breakfast, tea time snacks and light lunches are available from the coffee shop. At sun set the cocktails served can just be the introduction to a feel good beginning to the evening spent at Vergelegen. To name but a few must do, close to Vergelegen Guest House, worth visiting or experiencing will be: Augrabies Falls National Park, only a short drive away, a full day of sightseeing, 4x4 routes, walking trails and pre booked night drives. Riemvasmaak offers the famous hot springs or 4x4 routes. Vine yard and wine cellar tours to farms that are diverting from the better known export grape and raisin industry. A town that was started in the late 1800; offers a couple of really interesting historical sites to see and visit. Numerous 4x4 routes can keep you occupied and driving skills well tested. A gentle rafting experience on the Orange river is always time well spend. You can even be spoilt by the company of fish eagles, to name but a few of the birds along the banks. Tranquil spots along the Orange river provide some decent fishing adventures. The adrenalin junkies can challenge themselves with some extraordinary mountain bike trails. NO MORE POWER OUTAGES WITH OUR BACKUP GENERATOR ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Vergelegen Guesthouse and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing