We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" MEMORABLE TRIP FOR US..."”
Review of Ann's Homestays

Ann's Homestays
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sultan Bathery
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ann's Homestays
Ranked #17 of 31 Sultan Bathery B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“" MEMORABLE TRIP FOR US..."”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We 9 People stayed there for two memorable days into this Home-stay. I want to tell you, that the behavior of the Mrs Shantha was very good. There were two people who run this Home-stay Mr. and Mrs Shahji, they both are very polite people.Actually we are absolutely new for that place, But we feel very comfortable over there, We just demand for a guide and campfire, Mr Shahji arrange both the things for us, whatever support we need during the stay..he just helped out and make our Trip Memorable.
Ann's Home-stay is only a few hundred meters from the town center but a world away in terms of quiet and privacy.The home-stay is ideally located Opposite road to the Jubilee Restaurant on the main road, where we had some wonderful lunches and dinners.
I would say the Ann's Home stay was wonderful home stay, pleasant environment, and the most important part, Mr. and Mrs Shahji were most wonderful people we have ever met.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TheRealAdmirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We booked for this homestay going by the 2 good reviews on tripadvisor. We booked for 2 luxury rooms for 2 nights. Initially, Mrs.Shantha would not answer to anything directly especially when questioned about the amenities. She would simply dodge the question with her sugar coated words and say that she will provide us everything we want.

On arrival we were allotted 2 rooms, one of which they claim to be a luxury room [was a regular double bed room] and the other was hardly a room [ a kitchen was converted into a small room like enclosure ]. They promised that they will allot the other luxury room which was booked for us the very next morning as it was occupied by 3 girl students.NO GUARANTEE FOR YOUR BOOKING. We were shocked when they opened up the room to show it to us in their absence.DO NOT EXPECT SAFETY OR PRIVACY.
That evening on return from our hectic day of sightseeing we were shell shocked to find bunch of bachelors and girls having a gala time in the living area [common to the 2 luxury rooms] and we were forced to cramp up in a room till they left. CERTAINLY NOT MEANT FOR FAMILIES. The next day, there was NO HOT WATER n when we asked the reason they gave us 2 vessels to heat water on the stove.....luxury indeed. On the check out day, same scenario minus one vessel, when we asked what was wrong with their solar water heater they spoke to us rudely saying that we must have exhausted the hot water the previous day and refused to give us the other vessel for heating the water. MONEY MINDED CHEATS......While checking out they DEMANDED MORE MONEY. When we refused Mrs.Shantha started shouting and threatened to call the police. We asked her to go ahead and call the police so that the issue is sorted out. Instead of calling the police she started YELLING AT US and said she would not let the car move. As we did not want to waste our time we were forced to pay the amount. IT IS NOT A GENUINE HOMESTAY BETTER AVOID IT. It is in sultan bathery wayanad in the road opposite to jubilee hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chennaitouristIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Anne's Homestay is only a few hundred meters from the town center but a world away in terms of quiet and privacy. The two very clean rooms for rent are situated in second story apartment , each with an en suite bathroom, tiled floors, a shared living and dining area, and a veranda that is great for relaxing outside while taking in the pleasant neighborhood. Best of all, the hosts, Santa and Shaji, went out of their way to make our stay feel extra special. They are exceptional people with huge hearts that cared for me when I had a recurrence of an illness that i got in Varkala. They took time off work to take me to their doctor, bought and picked up my medicine, and fed us the most delicious , home cooked and healing food for the next several days until I had a full recovery, and, still afterwards for the duration our stay, they insisted on making us breakfast even though it was not part of our rental agreement. We had initially intended to only stay a few days in Sultan Battery, but we felt so comfortably at home at Anne's Homestay that we lingered for more than a week, and we could easily have remained for a longer time if we didn't have to get on with the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Uk
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2011

Nestled on a quiet side street away from the main drag of Sultan Bathery is Ann's Homestay run by the lovely Shanda and her husband. The family live on the ground floor of the house and there is a separate entrance to the apartment above, where there are two en-suite bedrooms, a dining room, kitchenette and a balcony overlooking the road (fom where we played the 'I spy' game with the neighbourhood children playing in the road), which makes it larger than your average homestay. Shanda was very friendly and she was able to tell us quite a lot about the area ( she is fluent in English) and can arrange guides to the near by wildlife sanctuary. The homestay is ideally located to the Jubilee Restaurant on the main road, where we had some wonderful lunches and dinners, including the thai for 50 rupees. Shanda's husband was kind enough one evening to pick up a take away for us from the restaurant after a long trek. Overall, a great place to stay in an area that doesnt see many tourists.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sultan Bathery hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
Hotel Sheelisach Inn
#5 of 7 in Sultan Bathery
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Woods Resorts
The Woods Resorts
#2 of 7 in Sultan Bathery
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mint Flower
Hotel Mint Flower
#2 of 31 in Sultan Bathery
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Green Palace Residency
Green Palace Residency
#6 of 31 in Sultan Bathery
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill Blooms Residency
Hill Blooms Residency
#16 of 31 in Sultan Bathery
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pepper Trail
Pepper Trail
#1 of 23 in Sultan Bathery
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ann's Homestays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ann's Homestays

Property: Ann's Homestays
Address: Co-Operative Press Road,, Sultan Bathery 673592, India
Location: India > Kerala > Wayanad District > Sultan Bathery
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sultan Bathery
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ann's homestay is situated in ancient and prominent place belongs to the great Tippu Sulthan. A peaceful land in the God's own country. From Ann's home stay there is only a walkable distance to the temple, church & mosque etc. Ann's homestay assure an opportunity to the guest to realize and enjoy the natural beauty of Wayanad and the rhyme of the snowy hill blooms. Of course we assure that a homely feel and fragrance of various aspects of Wayanad. It is situated in a calm and quiet away from the city, but only 150 mts from the NH. Ann's will be a perfect fit for a family for their holiday trip. They can enjoy with nature in her lap. Always it will be a different experience to you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing