We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as a five star hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Haute Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Haute Grange
Ranked #1 of 1 Freland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“As good as a five star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Having read others' experiences of La Haute Grange on the tripadvisor website, we had high expectations of the place. Our two day stay exceeded those expectations. Our bedroom and bathroom were wonderfully comfortable places to be and the gourmet breakfasts were outstanding but as others have written, the welcome by our hosts and their interest in us getting the best out of our short stay were exceptional. We had never tried the B & B concept before and if I'm honest it's because we like our own company and worry about perhaps having to socialise with other people during a precious few days away. Of course it's a gamble who will be sharing your B & B with you but Margaret and Phillipe over the many years they've been entertaining guests have developed a delightful way of engendering just the right amount of social interaction whilst at the same time finding out what each guest wants from their stay and doing their best to provide it. It's worth noting that unlike some other B & Bs, breakfast is taken at individual tables.

We were sorry not to stay longer as we ate at some interesting restaurants thanks to their recommendations and would have liked to have tried more. We drove to Alsace from Calais with one stop on the way near Rheims and after two days we drove straight back to Northern France but it would have been nice to have stayed longer and experienced some walking
in the area, not only because it is quite picturesque but because it would have improved our appetite for the generous portions of typical Alsatian food and of course those gorgeous breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    7
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
126
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I (Canadians) stayed here last August and loved the place so much that we actually came back to France, just so we could stay at this charming, beautiful B&B again. We loved it just as much as our first time. It still took our breath away! The place is nestled in the Vosage mountains and you feel like you are at a super high end Spa. Margaret and Philippe are outstanding hosts. We stayed here for 4 nights which gave us plenty of time to visit the charming villages nearby. Margaret and Philippe also gave us plenty of restaurant recommendations and we were thrilled with all of them. They really listen to what you want and make the appropriate suggestions to fit your needs. Our room was called the Badiane (can't remember how to spell it) and it had it's own little terrace. We loved our room. Very pretty, charming and clean. The location of this B&B is absolutely perfect for exploring Colmar and the surrounding villages. We met several people that regretted sleeping in Strasbourg and wished they had spent more nights at La Haute Grange. The breakfasts here are also amazing. The breakfast room is so charming! We especially loved the melt in your mouth croissants. My husband and I have fallen in love with Alsace and plan on buying a property and retiring there one day, but in the meantime, we'll be staying at "The Haute Grange".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Feedyoursoul_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This was such an idyllic place; our every need was catered for by our excellent hosts Margaret and Philippe. Everything was 20 minutes away, and the local town of Kaysersberg was a great base from which to explore the Vosges mountains and the pretty wine villages of the Alsatian wine route. Colmar and Strasbourg straightforward to get to, walking, and even cycling in the mountains equally easy. We stayed in Badiane with its private terrace which was a lovely little bonus with regular picnics and a bottle of locally produced Cremant.

Our hosts were always on hand with a recommendation and appropriate maps and couldn't have done more for us - thoroughly recommended.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank williams_garsington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Fantastic views, beautiful house, comfortable bedrooms with white quality bed linen and lovely 'puffy duvets'. Bathrooms well equipped with copious quality towels, robes and toiletries. Breakfasts are tasty, varied and abundant with home cooked goodies which change every day. There is use of comfortable lounge with coffee etc (honesty bar) and Margaret and Phillipe are the most welcoming of hosts. Margaret is Scottish and Phillipe is French but speaks perfect English, which make communication easy and they are happy to suggest where to visit and to recommend and book restaurants. Nothing seems too much trouble. The only negative is that you have to travel 15 minutes to eat which means you have to limit your intake of the excellent local wines, but the village of Kaysersberg, where you eat, is very pretty. All in all a wonderful place to hide away.

Room Tip: The private bathroom allocated to Muscade is, as stated, located across the corridor and there is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rugbytravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Approaching from Kaysersberg, our B&B, La Haute Grange”, was picture perfect. Perched on the side of the mountain, away from the village of Freland, this home-away-from-home was nestled amongst verdant trees and lush Alsace countryside. From the urban street sounds of Paris, the contrast of bird sounds and softly falling rain at “La Haute Grange” could not have been greater. One couldn’t help but breathe in tranquility and calm along with the sweet country air, a respite for the soul.

Our hosts, Margaret and Philippe Kalk, were there to welcome us the moment we walked in, and the warmth and charm of their beautiful B&B did the rest: polished floor boards, white washed walls, exposed beams on the ceiling, and richly textured soft furnishings added to the comfort and ambience immeasurably. Showing us to our very spacious room and en suite bathroom, we couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else in Alsace for the next 6 nights.

Exceptional operators like Margaret and Philippe from La Haute Grange understand that running a B&B is not just about providing guests with a comfortable bed, shower and toilet for the night and breakfast in the morning. It’s all about the little touches and attention to detail in the home decor that make it not just a pleasure to look at but say “You’re welcome here and you’re special.” It’s the personal interest that they take in their guests as people. It’s the special touches at breakfast time: the handmade granola, the smell of warm bread wafting up to the stairs first thing in the morning, great coffee, the freshly made scones and plethora of gourmet delicacies to choose from like the ‘saucissons’, hams, cheeses, jams, croissants and breads. It’s making sure that their guests make the best of their stay in their region by advising them of the places that they must not miss, what to avoid altogether, and the best places to eat. It’s about welcoming guests as clients and have them leave as friends. This is what differentiates the exceptional Bed and Breakfasts from the mediocre.

I was so impressed with this B&B that I was compelled to film it. Here is the YouTube Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5GiKJRvhVTE

Room Tip: Ask for the suite if you're staying longer than just a couple of nights. All the rooms are beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaUgarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful four days at La Haute Grange. The location is beautiful - we sat in the garden one evening with a bottle of wine, bread and the local cheeses and enjoyed the birdsong and the amazing views across the valley.

Margaret and Philippe's hospitality and knowledge of the local area absolutely made the trip for us - we felt so well taken care of, down to restaurant reservations, help with bicycle hire, ideas for driving tours, and even arrangements for a private visit to a small local winery. The house is decorated to a very high standard throughout, with lovely Caudalie toiletries, soft dressing gowns, and comfortable chairs to while away the afternoon with a good book and a glass of the local Riesling from the honesty bar. And the breakfasts were out of this world - homemade cakes, rhubarb crumble, local cheeses and hams, and delicious croissants and bread. It was a truly pampering experience, and we were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sislio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We spent four days at 'La Haute Grange' this month (May 2012). From the time we arrived to the time we left it was an excellent experience. Margaret and Philippe just know how to do it - there when you want them with all the advise you need but not 'In your face' when you just want to relax in the garden and enjoy the sun and scenery, and listen to the bird song including the cuckoo.
Accommodation is beautiful, fresh linen, lovely towels, spotlessly clean and plenty of room to relax and read with a complementary cup of tea or coffee. Breakfast is well done and if they don't have what you want on day one they'll have it on day two. Takes beating.

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newzealand2010candi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freland
15.5 mi away
Chateau d'Isenbourg
Chateau d'Isenbourg
#1 of 4 in Rouffach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
22.7 mi away
Hotel Spa Restaurant Domaine Du Moulin
2.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Le Faude
Hotel-Restaurant Le Faude
#2 of 3 in Lapoutroie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Logis de la Poste
Logis de la Poste
#1 of 2 in Le Bonhomme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel La Tete Des Faux
Hotel La Tete Des Faux
#2 of 2 in Le Bonhomme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chambard
Chambard
#1 of 5 in Kaysersberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Haute Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Haute Grange

Property: La Haute Grange
Address: la Chaude Cote, 68240 Freland, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Haut-Rhin > Freland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Freland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury guest house with 4 very comfortable bedrooms is ideally situated for trips up and down the Wine Route and walks in the Vosges.Just 5 minutes from Kaysersberg, 20 minutes from Colmar and an hour from Strasbourg. Perfectly peaceful and relaxing - our garden is spacious and has amazing views. Private off-road parking.We speak french, english, german, italian, spanish and portuguese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Haute Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Haute Grange Freland, France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing