We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want contemporary, this is for you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Design Hotel des Francs Garcons
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Sauvant
Newark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you want contemporary, this is for you.”
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We booked this hotel after seeing it in Alastair Sawday's book. It is an extremely interesting building in that the architects (one of whom was running the show during our stay) have packed a lot into 5 floors of a very narrow building, including a charming roof terrace with a small pool. It is located towards the top of this hill-top village in a small square. Everything is extremely modern/contemporary and minimalist. We were surprised how rapidly we got used to this new experince but on occasion, it did become irritating. For instance, trying to shave in the extremely elegant bathroom, was awkward becaus the free-standing basin aws tucked into the corner with the mirror to the right; it looked great but was not the most practical layout. We enjoyed the food, served on the roof terrace by the pool with wonderful views. We paid €138/night for our spacious double room, €45 each for dinner (plus wine) and €12 each for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropetravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    46
    19
    13
    7
See reviews for
17
82
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

One of the friendliest hotels we have experienced. Comfort and design with a very good cuisine. Children were welcome, indeed. Do not miss this hotel when visiting Saintes and Cognac.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NPombo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
175 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

On a two night return trip from Murcia to Calais this was a special treat for night 2. This hotel is one of the best I have ever stayed in ( I have been fortunate to travel a lot over the last 30 years & this hotel is 'top draw!')
Location wise - set in a very typical small French village, loads of history & short or long walks are a plenty, easy to find and near the main routes for North, South, East or West!
A family run business who understand the meaning of service, hospitality and detail. Whether it is fine wine or wi-fi access. Dinner was excellent followed by a glass of Cognac (after all it is in the region!) The hotel has a small swimming pool which was most welcome after 7 hours in the car & a temp of 37 degrees! We were the only people with a young child/adult (son of 12) the other guests were all couples; only 8 rooms available within the hotel - so book quickly! As I think you get the picture this hotel is a must for a stop over, romantic break, wine or Cognac lovers & those who enjoy hotel owners who are engaging in conversation and service orientated.
Would I stay again - 150% yes!
Our costs; Room €98 + €15 supplement for extra bed; Breakfast €12 per head. Dinner ranges from €25 3 courses or select adhoc. Wine ranges from €15 to €80+ & Cognac €12 per glass; may sound expensive but for the value of service, food & location it is a steal! (car parking is free opposite hotel)

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We booked here last minute en route to Bordeaux. It's the only hotel / restaurant in the town and we thought it was expensive for what you got. Our room was dark and pokey; the bathroom needed to be refurbished. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff were friendly and helpful. There is plenty of free parking.

The 'restaurant' (dinner by the pool which was pretty) is overpriced - I guess you are a captive audience since there is nothing else in the town. €15 for a small salad and €5.50 for a small glass of wine!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mossie17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2011

This charming hotel, fit within an old stone house in the middle of a centuries old village is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Cognac region. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and the facility is completely unique. I would highly recommend the restaurant. The dishes were presented in the most interesting way and were all delicious. I will return one day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRoyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Sauvant
7.7 mi away
Relais du Bois Saint Georges
8.9 mi away
Domaine des Chais de Thenac
6.1 mi away
Citotel des Messageries
Citotel des Messageries
#1 of 19 in Saintes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Hotel du Moulin du Val de Seugne
5.8 mi away
Les chambres de l'Abbaye aux Dames
9.4 mi away
Hotel l'Oliveraie
Hotel l'Oliveraie
#5 of 10 in Cognac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Design Hotel des Francs Garcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Design Hotel des Francs Garcons

Property: Design Hotel des Francs Garcons
Address: 1 rue des Francs Garcons, 17610 Saint Sauvant, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Charente-Maritime > Saint Sauvant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint Sauvant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Design Hotel des Francs Garcons 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the village of Saint Sauvant at the heart of the Saintonge region between the towns of Saintes and Cognac. An attractive privately-run hotel with a refined and contemporary decor.Nestled in the medieval village of Saint-Sauvant surrounded by a landscape of cognac vineyards and Romanesque churches, the Design Hotel des Francs Garçons offers a stylish and personalised welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Design Hotel des Francs Garcons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design Hotel Des Francs Garcons France/Saint Sauvant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing