We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach, Great Breakfast, Dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nahsholim Sea Side Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nahsholim
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Beach, Great Breakfast, Dirty rooms”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We visited this place just yesterday(15.Dec.2012) and were shocked from the dirt, lack of cleanliness and maintenance of the place. Luckily were stayed only for one night and left early in the morning. 2 issues that were a bright light were the amazing beach near by and the surprising good breakfast that was served. Rooms are very very basic and old, A/C was noisy, not enough towels and furniture was falling apart.

Room Tip: no tip here, sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JLMayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    48
    39
    34
    43
See reviews for
114
44
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mazkeret Batya, Israel
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent one night at the weekend, amazing beach, the room is fine, the food requires improvement. The room we were in was not on the beach. Shoreline rooms look much better.
Beach cover up any imperfections

Room Tip: Coastline rooms are amazing and expensive, If you can afford the price, go for it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selab16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I recommend Nahsholim Guest Resort as a nice place for a beach holiday in Israel. The beaches are clean and family orientated. Nahsholim (or Nachsholim) is a Kibbutz Guest House Hotel complex situated on the Mediterranean coast at the foot of the southern end of the Carmel Mountain range. You definitely need a car to get there and to get around to explore the nearby attractions and towns.

There are several different rooming options – boutique rooms, double rooms, family rooms and country lodgings. We stayed in a "family room" which is one of the older rooms built in the 1970's. The family rooms have separate double bedrooms, bathroom, a living room (with two single beds one can be opened up to two beds i.e. sleeping room for 2 adults and up to 3 other adults or children) and a small kitchenette. We chose this room so that we (family of 2 adults and 1 toddler) would have more space and the ability to make our own lunches. There is a mini-market on the kibbutz and another one in the Dor neighbourhood so you can get basic supplies. The accommodation was basic but clean and comfortable. The room has a safe and air-conditioning. My mother joined us for part of the stay and we had booked her a double room – but she was upgraded to a family room next door to us which was very nice.

The bathroom isn't well lit with only one light over the vanity mirror which means that the rest of the room doesn’t get enough light – the shower stall especially. The kitchenette is very small and consists of a small fridge, an electric kettle and a sink. There was a tray with four mugs and some coffee, tea, sugar and sweetener too. We brought everything else we needed from home - a camping gas stove, a toaster, saucepan, frying pan, flatware (spoons, forks, knives), can opener, bottle opener and food of course! There is the option of sitting to eat at the dinning table inside, on the patio outside the room, or on one of the many picnic benches.

The rooms are arranged in the grounds in groups. Ours was part of a group of three rooms together all having private access spaced out on a grassy garden with lots of shady trees and outside seating. All the rooms on the resort are ground floor - which makes them very accessible for less able persons to enter and get around the entire complex.

All the rooms are in easy reach of the beach - the kibbutz has its own beach in a lovely semi-private bay. This bay is next to Hof Dor / Dor Beach – this beach is open to the public (for an entrance fee) sometime the visitors to the Dor Beach spill over into the hotel’s private bay but the beach was never overcrowded. Hotel guests get complimentary chairs and towels.

The sunsets over the ocean are amazing. And it seems to be a great location for birdwatchers as many migrating birds stop here (there are fresh water fish ponds on the kibbutz which owns the resort complex).

Apart from the stunning bay, at this resort you can walk out to see the Tel Dor archaeological site and you can visit the Mizgaga museum. Also (according to the hotel’s website) you can hire water sports equipment like sea kayaks and diving gear.

I would have given it five stars but for the following problems: It’s expensive for what you get – very basic accommodation and amenities. The dinning hall wasn’t that good – quantity not quality food. The family rooms don’t have complimentary toiletries or a full maid service every day – you get clean towels and the rubbish is emptied but they don’t make the beds or clean up for you. I think if you stay in the new boutique rooms then you do get toiletries and full maid service every day – but I should hope so as you pay much more.


Eating at Nahsholim:

“Rozmarin” The Hotel’s dining hall – Breakfast is included and in addition we had 2 evening meals in the dinning hall. The hall itself is large and well lit. The air conditioning was always set to freeze.
The food at breakfast was plentiful and consisted of a selection of cut vegetables, pickled fish, cheeses, breads, cereals, yogurts, preserved fruit and some fresh fruit, cooked egg dishes, cooked potato dishes, tea, coffee and fruit squash type drinks.
They could definitely improve the breakfasts by making them simpler and of higher quality. At the moment there seems to be a terrible amount of waste with a lot of food being thrown away.
The evening meal was expensive and very substandard. The first time we were lucky that a large group had booked to eat a meal there – we joined them and benefitted from a large meat and fish buffet. I had salmon and various salads and vegetables that were all OK. The next time we were one of only two tables. All the food was served to our table. First we were given a selection of cold starter salads and next a selection of main courses. The food was not appetising and the main courses were reheated and dry. There were copious amounts of food and much waste. I will not be eating an evening meal in the dinning hall again…

“Roso” – A meat and fist restaurant on the kibbutz. A walk past the “Mizgaga” glassworks museum takes you from the hotel complex into the kibbutz. Here next to the mini-market is a restaurant called Roso. We ate there twice and thoroughly enjoyed it. The menu was simple, the food was fresh, cooked to order and tasted great! Both times I had Must fish fillets, served with chips and salad. My husband had an entrecote steak that he said was excellent. Friends joined us the second time and they all enjoyed their food too. The only complaint being that it was not cheap dinning (main courses cost between $15 and $45!).

Room Tip: I would avoid rooms 101-103 as these rooms are closest to the kitchens and storerooms of the dinning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dillon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The rooms are tiny, very basic, dark and depressing. the shower head is located in such a place where you cannot take a shower unless you hold the shower in your hand. there is no foot rug to wipe the water in the shower. the design is completely outdated. not enough towels at the beach. It seems that the hotel was designed and is maintained by someone who has absolutly no talent and understanding of the proper way
to run a hotel. Stay away!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odeljerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nahsholim hotels

TLV
Level Contributor
78 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just stayed at the hotel with the family.
The newly refurbished beach view rooms are great! Beautifully designed, you get all the amenities of a boutique hotel, very cool outdoor shower (as well as indoor one),balcony with great beach view, you can fall asleep with the sound of the waves as the rooms are 20 meters from the shore.
Breakfast was rich but felt a bit like old Kibbutz, it requires an update.
If you come to this hotel, ask for those rooms (the other rooms are not refurbished and quite old).

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grooveTlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good points:
Right on the beach which was safe, sheltered and white sand as well as cleaned every day. Wonderful swimming in sheltered bay. Plenty of chairs on beach for guests with beach towels provided Basic accommodation but everything that one needed including fridge and kettle

Basic mini market on site for everyday needs Helpful reception staff Food delivery service if required Fantastic Israeli Buffet breakfast Archaeology museum with first rate guides to local archaeological site Historical location Very comfortable beds Efficient air conditioning Landscaped garden setting right on sea front Quiet Family orientated

Bad points:
Limited access to other places without car although railway station short taxi ride away No beach cafe (there is one on adjoining public beach, but Nachsholim only has one large dining hall and no other food outlet) No access to drinking fountain throughout day Limited restaurant choice in daytime Not enough utensils in room for number of guests

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I first visited Nahsholim 25 years ago when my children were small and have good memories of a lovely beachside holiday village. Returning twenty five years on with a large, mixed age family group, it's event better than I remember. The beach must be one of the best in Israel - two large sandy sheltered bays. One is a public beach adjacent to the neighbouring kibbutz Dor, whilst Nahsholim has its own private sandy beach and provides shade, chairs, and towels to its guests. Whilst it can get crowded on Shabbat at other times it is very peaceful - even more so early in the morning and late in the afternoon, when the sunsets are just breathtaking. One can walk for miles and explore other sandy bays or rocky coves.
There is a fascinating archaeological museum on site housing finds from the excavations above and below water at Tel Dor, housed in the old Rothschild glass factory. 25 years ago this project was in its infancy but it now houses a magnificent collection, ranging from Napoleonic cannons to Hellensistic pottery.
The accommodation is simple as I remember it - we had a family unit plus a basic double room. Both were about 30 yards from the sea. Each unit has a small terrace and is provided with a lounger, chairs and a table, as well as a clothes airer for drying costumes, towels etc. There is new seafront boutique accommodation which is pricey but looks very nice that has outdoor showers and larger decked terraces. However, as we spent little time in the rooms it didn't seem worth the extra. The larger units have kitchenettes but all rooms have fridges and kettles. There weren't enough cups for the number of occupants but one can get extras by asking at the on site restaurant. this serves excellent Israeli-style buffet breakfasts which is included in the price. The Shabbat dinner buffet was also excellent, but another evening meal less so and was pricey. On that occasion the restaurant was not full and felt soulless as it is refectory like in style and needs the buzz of people. The hotel should think about opening a coffee shop or snack place on site - there is one on the neighbouring public beach but it was very run down and not inviting. There is no cold water fountain on site (other than at breakfast or dinner) which would have been useful. There is a small minimarket located on the kibbutz so you can stock up with essentials and buy provisions for basic meals and snacks. You can also get food delivered from a couple of local restaurants and then eat this al fresco on your terrace. This was great. We did not have a car which limited our access to outside activities but if you have one the location is excellent as the kibbutz is situated between Haifa and Caesarea and just a few minutes away from the charming hill town of zichron Ya'akov. However the train station at Binyamima is only a ten minute taxi ride away and from there you can be in Tel Aviv in 40 minutes.

The accommodation was quite basic but suited our needs perfectly. The beach is totally idyllic is kept clean (rubbish is cleared early each morning and the sand tractored). The sea is gently shelving so ideal for small children and it was noticeable that the resort attracted many young families and large inter-generational family groups. The sea is clear and calm so great for swimming

The staff at the reception were very helpful and sorted out any issues we had. There is free Wifi at the reception and other public areas which is good (wifi is available in most places in Israel including the airport). They arranged for their own taxi driver Zvika to take us to the airport in his minivan.

All in all a great stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apuleius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nahsholim
2.9 mi away
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
Elma Arts Complex Luxury Hotel
#1 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
657 reviews
7.9 mi away
Dan Hotels Caesaria
Dan Hotels Caesaria
#1 of 2 in Caesarea
329 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Beit Maimon
Hotel Beit Maimon
#2 of 3 in Zichron Yaakov
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Bay Club Haifa Hotel - an Atlas Boutique Hotel
13.5 mi away
Leonardo Plaza Hotel Haifa
14.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Haifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nahsholim Sea Side Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nahsholim Sea Side Resort

Property: Nahsholim Sea Side Resort
Address: M.P. Hof Carmel, Nahsholim 3081500, Israel
Location: Israel > Haifa District > Nahsholim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nahsholim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nahsholim Sea Side Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our rooms and family apartments are equipped with flat screen TV, coffee corner, mini fridge, safe, en-suite shower, sitting area inside and out side the rooms/ apartments and air conditioning. Hammocks are spread all over the site with beautiful sitting areas for adults and play areas for the children, mini market is only few minutes from the hotel and the hotel's restaurant, "Rozmarin," serves breakfast and dinner. The beach is a few steps away from the rooms/apartments with chairs and sun parasols. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nahsholim Sea Side Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing