We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute GEM of tranquility but really convenient for both Paris and Versailles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Petit Nailly

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Petit Nailly
Yamba NSW Aust
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An absolute GEM of tranquility but really convenient for both Paris and Versailles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This B&B / apartments / auberge / gite is about 25Km out of Paris, but close to transport and to Versailles Chateau. There were two couples in our party and we each had a self contained (full en-suite) room on the 1st floor. The ground floor contains reception, the kitchen and the breakfast room. There are just two B&B rooms but also several apartments of various sizes which are available for longer periods, and which are self catered.
On request, Eric serves excellent dinners (at an additional - but reasonable tariff). These are a full service of "Aperitif, entree (in the true sense of entree to the main meal), plat (or main), fromage and dessert. All beautifully presented. While Eric's English is not as good as Boris' both made us welcome and were a font of knowledge and advice about the transport connections to get into Paris, and any other queries we had.
While the rooms are not big, they are comfortable while being simply but tastefully decorated and each had a new(ish) en-suite bathroom.
Secure parking is provided and the whole experience was low key and efficient.
I thoroughly recommend this as a welcome reprieve from the mayhem which is Paris in July - the most visited city on earth at the busiest time to visit (oh the queues!!!!)

Room Tip: Both of the rooms face the courtyard and have shutters as well as windows so noise is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yambatrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    12
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redding,CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This old farmhouse is very picturesque.You are in the country but It is only a short drive to Versailles. Hosts Boris and Eric were very friendly and helpful. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, CA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2011

Lovely accommodations in a great location for visiting the Château de Versailles, just a 20-minute drive away.

This nicely renovated 18th Century barn in a tiny hamlet about 30 minutes outside Paris is owned and managed by Eric and Boris, two thoroughly charming hosts.

We stayed in the 'Campagne' room which was cosy and adequately furnished. Nothing special, but it had a comfortable bed, an impressive antique wardrobe and its own private bathroom which was excellent: spacious with modern fittings and shower-stall, all impeccably spotless.

We were there in August and, in the customary French fashion, most of the neighboring hostelries had shut their doors and taken off to the coast for the month (to get away from the tourists?). This is where Boris came into his own! He spent the best part of an hour trawling the Internet, looking for somewhere that was (a) open, (b) affordable and (c) with a menu that accommodated my wife's need for a gluten-free meal. He not only found three that were open, he even downloaded their menus for us to choose from. Turned out his personal recommendation was absolutely superb, if a little pricey, even by French standards.

Furthermore, before we left for dinner, we happened to mention to Boris that we were planning on visiting the Château de Versailles the next day, whereupon he enquired whether we had already purchased admission tickets. When we replied in the negative, he promptly got on the Internet again and downloaded tickets for us, as he put it, “to avoid you having to stand in line for two hours”. And he was right! When we got to the Château, the line to purchase tickets was at least two hours long. Thanks, Boris! Pity he couldn't do anything about the 90-minute wait we had to actually get into the place, even with tickets! The moral is clear: avoid the month of August if you want to visit any tourist attractions in France!

Breakfast was the classic French affair, with plenty of fresh breads, preserves and coffee, all served in a very pleasant dining room opening onto the pretty little garden. Once again, our hosts excelled themselves: they prepared a special egg breakfast for my gluten/dairy-intolerant wife. Thanks, guys!

All in all, an excellent place to stay, at an affordable price. Oh, and if you struggle a bit with your French, don't worry, both Boris and Eric speak excellent English.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Menifeemonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Only 15 minutes from the Palace of Versailles, 35 minutes from Central Paris this lovely guest house is a gem to be found. We stayed in the Oriental Suit which was beautifully decorated and clean. We were made to feel very welcome by the owners and would highly recommend staying here should you get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Petit Nailly is a beautiful house in a real "get away from everything" location yet only 20 minutes to the lovely Versailles. The room we had was perfect and had tea/coffee facilities, a big comfy bed and a lovely clean bathroom. Breakfast was a typical French one with pastries, bread and jam - all of top quality. The host was lovely (despite the fact that she didn't speak English and my French isn't great). We muddled by and I really enjoyed my stay. Highly recommended. Also to note is a fabulous restaurant in the next village Milon la Chapelle. The restaurant is called Auberge de la Chapelle and booking is essential - it was very popular. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waytooslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magny-les-Hameaux
0.8 mi away
Le Manoir De Sauvegrain
Le Manoir De Sauvegrain
#1 of 2 in Saint-Lambert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.0 mi away
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
Abbaye des Vaux de Cernay Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cernay-la-Ville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.1 mi away
Logis Hotel De La Chapelle
Logis Hotel De La Chapelle
#1 of 1 in Milon-la-Chapelle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Residence Hotel Les Ducs de Chevreuse
2.9 mi away
Residhome Appart Hotel Paris-Guyancourt
1.1 mi away
Centre Port-Royal
Centre Port-Royal
#2 of 2 in Saint-Lambert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Nailly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Nailly

Property: Le Petit Nailly
Address: 34 rue Antoine le Maistre, 78114 Magny-les-Hameaux, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Magny-les-Hameaux
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Magny-les-Hameaux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Petit Nailly, a beautiful ancient stone barn, is delighted to welcome you to the edge of the Regional Park of the Chevreuse Valley in Romainville, which is one of the 7 hamlets of Magny les Hameaux, only 25 kms away from Paris.Of great benefit is the proximity to both historical, natural sites, economic and tourist areas located within the south-west of Paris.Seeking out the quiet charms of Nature, along with the authenticity of a heritage site, le Petit Nailly is well equipped to provide a warm and friendly atmosphere. The ideal departure point for a multitude of activities, including nature walks, horse and cycle rides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Petit Nailly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing