We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Dinner”
Review of Downe Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Downe Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wykeham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Spent another wonderful New Year's Eve dinner and cabaret in this lovely hotel. Food was very good, lovely table decorations, hats, party poppers etc and table centre piece. Great staff, owners on hand and welcoming. Cabaret was first class, local dancers and dj played good party music. All in all a very good evening.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gigglesister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 317 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

We had a short stay at the Downe Arms over the Christmas period and what a lovely time we had. We didn't want to go too far from home but we wanted a break away from home. Our bedroom was roomy and lovely and warm- with everything that you would need. The whole hotel was beautifully decorated and the restaurant and bar were very friendly and welcoming. We only ate once in the restaurant but the food was excellent- loved the log fire! Breakfast on both mornings was a real Yorkshire breakfast- and served hot! Would definitely go again

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyS221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We chose to celebrate New Years Eve here. The meal was very good and the atmosphere friendly and welcoming, excellent value. The disco provided a range of party music and the dance floor was lively and busy throughout the night. A local dance school provided excellent entertainment but it was a shame that poor lighting made it difficult to fully appreciate their beautiful costumes. We were puzzled by the none appearance of the promised keyboard player but this did not spoil our evening, a great time was had by all and we would certainly return another year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janet190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've just stayed at the Downe Arms over Christmas, arriving on Christmas Eve and leaving after breakfast on Boxing Day. It was a really lovely experience from start to finish. All of the hotel staff were so welcoming and friendly. Our room was large, clean and comfortable with an amazing bath. The lounge was warm and cosy, with a lovely log fire, and both restaurants were pleasant to linger in, with very good food. We've never been away at Christmas before but would definitely recommend spending it at the Downe Arms. The Christmas quiz, compiled and presided over by Jane, was good fun and helped everyone to get to know each other. It's just a pity it didn't snow!

Room Tip: Ours was a superior room and was very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had lunch on Christmas Day with our family at the Downe Arms this year- the first time we have had Christmas Day away from home- and I have to say that the whole experience was absolutely stunning! We were in the large function room (although the restaurant was being used also) - the room itself looked lovely with its open fire - and the food was simply amazing- my husband had sirloin of beef with a rich red wine sauce and he said it was the best beef he has ever had. The service staff were really pleasant and the service was fast and efficient . Everyone round the table said how much they had enjoyed it- we are already thinking of booking again for next year! Well done to all at the Downe Arms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The decor and comfort of the rooms continues to improve year by year . But the restaurant is not as good as it was or should be to compliment this . In 2 recent visits approximately half of our party of 8 were complaining at the quality and the menu is not what it used to be . We received apologies but we sincerely hope the quality improves for our next visit and maybe they can attract a very good local chef that can improve the choice and deliver perfection . A one off is forgiven ; 2 out of 2 visits indicates a problem . The service and bar staff continue to be great .The rating would be much higher if they can get the restaurant sorted out & maybe consider more affordable wine prices ( we were paying £28 a bottle for the same product in a local to home good quality establishment is £18 )

Room Tip: Back of hotel avoids road noise if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenKLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We attended a wedding at Downe Arms Hotel this weekend just gone and thought the venue was outstanding.

Arriving before check in time because of the wedding made us worry about where we could get changed. We shouldn't have been concerned as we were quickly checked in and up to our room.

We had room 204 that looked out onto the road - there was a bit of road noise but nothing too much and certainly not as bad as some have said.

Room was clean and spacious enough for a short break. The food was outstanding and the bar sold a fine variety of quality real ales which was a bonus.

All in all we thought it was a great place and would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiganAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wykeham
10.3 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
699 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,957 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Talbot Hotel Malton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,522 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,654 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downe Arms Hotel

Address: Main Road | Scarborough, Wykeham YO13 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Wykeham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wykeham
Price Range: $82 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Downe Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Downe Arms AA 4 Star Country Inn situated on the edge of the magnificent North Yorks Moors National Park, only 10 minutes from Scarborough & 15 minutes from Pickering. Founded in 1656, this 17th century former farmhouse offers you an intimate and historical setting for that special meal with friends or a relaxing stay. It's a perfect location whether you fancy walking along the rugged North Yorkshire coastline , visiting one of our wonderful heritage sites or riding the steam railway from Pickering into Heartbeat country- it's all here on our doorstep for you to enjoy. Ideal too for country pursuit enthusiasts including golfing . Within the village of Wykeham itself we have the fantastic Wykeham Lakes for fishing and the Abbey Shoot, run by the Dawnay Estate, which specialises in pheasant and grouse shooting. Over the past few years the Downe Arms has established itself as one of the most popular venues for weddings, functions and conferences in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Downe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing