We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back any time”
Review of Downe Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Downe Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Wykeham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A very short review of this hotel.
Excellent accomodation, excellent food, excellent hosts.
If I am ever in the area again this would be my First choice of accomodation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Downe Arms Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 305 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

We didn't stay here but held our Evening Wedding Reception here in May. From the moment we enquired about the wedding we had fantastic personal service and had a wonderful party! The hotel was very flexible with what we wanted and let us choose our own finger buffet which was delicious - we had comments from our guests about how lovely the food was! I would highly recommend Downe Arms for a Wedding Reception - great value for money and a beautiful location!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smellybelly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

The hotel was a great place to stay, The staff were friendly and polite and the place was clean and tidy. The food was excellent and tasty. All the staff were very helpful and made our stay more comfortable and enjoyable. The kids loved the hotel as well as there was a wide kids variety menu. The family cant wait to come back to the hotel and stay again for there holidays. Hotel situated close to most of the attractions in Yorkshire. There is lovely scenery around the hotel as well. From Mr Kumar, Coventry

Room Tip: Just let the hotel staff know what you are looking for when booking your room and they will try and...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Sorry but this Hotel did not meet our expectations on several levels.We have written a critical letter to the Manager. Particularly our Family room was dark and cold until heaters were provided and the lighting fixed. Our Son was given a Camp bed which was inadequate.There was no towel rail or robe hook in the Bathroom.Breakfast was basic without fresh fruit , Pastries or Yogurt. Ambience was miserable , in earshot of other complaining guests in the dining room. Not suitable for a Special occasion - However the gardens were pretty and our Waitress was Kind.

Room Tip: Check exactly what will be provided - not what the website image is !
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isis1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Visited before but this time was even better. The new double glazed windows in the bedroom made a huge difference, didn't get woke up at all by the church bells ringing. Food fantastic! We will certainly be staying again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richo2528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Only went here as it was in our hi-life card book. When I went to
Order they said they didn't accept it anymore. Strange!! To be fair they honoured it after we questioned it. Food was good but rather small portions in comparison to most pubs. It was presented rather bistro style but couldn't carry it off. Probably wouldn't go again but it was good for the deal we got through our card.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRichardsons18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

V v nice hotel room lovely v clean throughout hotel food EXCELLENT staff helpful & friendly on main rd so easy access to scarb pickering etc

Room Tip: lovely
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tilly0402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wykeham
4.2 mi away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,576 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
290 reviews
5.9 mi away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#25 of 26 in Scarborough
2,430 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Downe Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Downe Arms Hotel

Address: Main Road | Scarborough, Wykeham YO13 9QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Wykeham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Wykeham
Price Range: $76 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Downe Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Downe Arms AA 4 Star Country Inn situated on the edge of the magnificent North Yorks Moors National Park, only 10 minutes from Scarborough & 15 minutes from Pickering. Founded in 1656, this 17th century former farmhouse offers you an intimate and historical setting for that special meal with friends or a relaxing stay. It's a perfect location whether you fancy walking along the rugged North Yorkshire coastline , visiting one of our wonderful heritage sites or riding the steam railway from Pickering into Heartbeat country- it's all here on our doorstep for you to enjoy. Ideal too for country pursuit enthusiasts including golfing . Within the village of Wykeham itself we have the fantastic Wykeham Lakes for fishing and the Abbey Shoot, run by the Dawnay Estate, which specialises in pheasant and grouse shooting. Over the past few years the Downe Arms has established itself as one of the most popular venues for weddings, functions and conferences in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Downe Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing