We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Poor over priced food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bexleyheath
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Poor over priced food”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Stayed on the 23rd. I use this hotel as it is in a good location. The rooms are great..but if only the food was. And very over priced. And the wait was something else I thought they had gone to Asda to buy it..avoid eating there.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Manager at Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your review, let me assure you that we regularly check our prices to ensure we are in line with other 4 star hotels in the area and look out for our new menu coming soon. It sounds like you stay with us on a regular basis so let me know when you are coming back to us and I would be happy to personally look after your requirements.

Kind regards
Tony Edwards
Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    274
    89
    53
    43
See reviews for
182
185
33
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have stayed in the Bexleyheath Marriott a number of times while working in the Dartford area.

The hotel itself is nice, nothing particularly special, but the room is cosy and the beds are always very comfy.
The bathroom is a good size and it's nice to be able to make tea and coffee in the room.

Breakfast is good; there is a good selection of food and the chef will do you up an omelette or a boiled egg if you want one.

The food and drink in the bar however is very pricey.

The main gripe I have is the internet connection is VERY expensive and this is the only business hotel I stay in that charges for the internet. It's not even wireless, you have to plug into a connection in the wall, and the connection is not great.

I also think it's a little odd to add an extra "£50 per day" charge onto a customer's credit card when they check in.
I have NEVER experienced this in any other hotel, and I've stayed in all kinds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jannie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Manager at Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and for your great’s comments! I also really appreciate your feedback and to assure you that in the first 2 weeks of December we are scheduled to go fully wireless which is fantastic! The charges will remain but we are still discussing this and watch this space. The £50 per night is a Marriott standard within the UK, it allows you to charge items back to your room, thank you for your comments about this and I will ensure my Front Desk continue to effectively communicate out to our guests on arrival.

Look forward in seeing you back with us again soon.

Kind regards
Tony Edwards
Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and l arrived at this hotel after 10.00pn on Friday 19th October and found the checked in manned by two assistants who were both very friendly and helpful and they explained where l should park the car and where the covered walkway to the hotel was and the charge would be £4.00 per 24 hour day.

Our room 211 was on the second floor and was superb,spotlessly clean,32" television ,two comfortable armchairs and very well appointed,the bathroom was equally as clean with nice array of soap,shampoos etc,plus an array of very soft fluffy white towels.

The bedroom faced in to the inner courtyard garden and had a balcony,our first night was quiet and peaceful as was the second night.The bed and pillows afforded a very good nights sleep .

I thought the price the hotel charge for breakfast was exorbitant at £16.50 per person we went out the hotel and within five minutes walk much less costly breakfast were available at £5.00 for a full English,l would have awarded this hotel the full five stars if it wasn't for this.

Checkout was simple and achieved within two minutes,l gave the duty manager a Tripadvisor sticker and explained that l had reviewed the hotel,she thanked me for this.

Room Tip: I think all the odd numbered rooms face into the inner courtyard gardens,but if not just ask as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony E, Manager at Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic comments, I have passed these back to the team, it is really nice for them to see the results of all their hard work.
Just to assure you that the price of our breakfast is reviewed on a regular basis and we align ourselves with other 4 star hotels in the area, next time you come to us please let me know as I would like you to sample the various items we have on our breakfast buffet and the fantastic service the breakfast team deliver to our guests.

See you soon.

Kind regards
Tony Edwards
Director Of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I visited this hotel for a number of days on business. The staff are extremley freindly and helpful but for me thats were the major good points end.

The location is poor, nearest train station a 20 minute walk away and still 45 minute trip from centre of london, plus the traines are not regular, do not visit as a cheaper alternative to a central london hotel. In addition to this the surrounding area is not nice.

The rooms are in need of a revamp and investment. The food prices in the hotel were also expensive.

I would like to note i did stay in a basic room and from what i have read and seen certain aspects of the hotel such as function areas and superior rooms are nicer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallsend
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed one night following recommendation from family. From the outset the reception staff were very friendly and went the extra mile to help you. The layout of the hotel is well sign-posted and the lifts work well. The bar and restaurant prices were quite pricey however but no more than I would expect for a hotel of this class. We also visited the swimming pool and leisure club which was a nice size although the spa pool was not working on the day we visited due to being repainted. The only minor criticism I would say is related to the breakfasts. The food was very nice but unfortunately the bacon served from the hot plate looked underdone and was quite fatty. However just a minor blip on what was a very enjoyable stay. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lifts as this could prove quite noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandaRella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lothian
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were visiting in the area and stayed for 3 nights in a superior room. The reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. It had a balcony overlooking the courtyard and it was quiet. The room was serviced whilst we went for breakfast and was spotless. Breakfast offered a great variety and was well cooked, especially at the omelette station. The dining room staff were attentive. A very pleasant stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reiversabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

needed to stay in the area, so stayed for 2 nights,sat and sun in a superior room, room was great, big and spacious with a nice big bathroom,staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was ample and well cooked with a good choice,didnt eat in the restaurant in the evening as there is a good pizza restaurant opposite the hotel,although we did order room service one night which was pretty average wouldn't bother again, we were lucky with parking as we managed to park at the front of the hotel, where there are a couple of spaces charged at £4.00 a night which is quite reasonable,all in all its a good hotel with helpful staff and would recommend it

Room Tip: superior rooms are really spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YAJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bexleyheath
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Bexley
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Dartford Bridge
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London - Dartford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Rowhill Grange Hotel & Utopia Spa
8.0 mi away
Mercure Dartford Brands Hatch Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Campanile Dartford
Campanile Dartford
#7 of 7 in Dartford
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel

Property: Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel
Address: 1 Broadway, Bexleyheath DA6 7JZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Bexleyheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bexleyheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to stylish luxury at the Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel. Our four-star accommodation features everything you need for a memorable stay in southeast London. Whether traveling for business or leisure, enjoy ideal access to the 02 Arena, Bluewater, and Greenwich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Kent
Marriott Bexleyheath
Kent Marriott
Bexleyheath Marriott Hotel Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing