We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, plain accomodation”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Balmedie B&B and Inns
Gullane
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, plain accomodation”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

First appearances were not good with a scruffy front door and rather plain motel type rooms, The room was clean but dated with power points in the wrong place for working a laptop. Shampoo and shower gell was supplied but I would still have appreciated a old fashioned bar of soap. New windows would indicate that some upgrading is in progress. Restaurant food was very good and the breakfast cooked to order. Good wi-fi and very pleasant staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dibblegullane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    26
    18
    18
See reviews for
44
39
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyle of Lochalsh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our communication in the booking of this hotel using E-mail direct with this hotel was very promising. We wanted a double bedded room with an en-suite bath (rather than shower only) and were offered a room with a king size bed (with an extra bed, although we did not need this), and en-suite bath etc, at a reasonable rate. We anticipated a reasonably spacious room to accommodate this. On arrival the room had the en-suite bath, but it was a room with three single beds. Undoubtedly two of the singles could have been made up as a king-size bed, but they were not, and so communication within the hotel was poor. The room really could not cope with three single beds, as one stopped an internal door shutting properly and another was hard against a radiator which is always bad practice. There was only one bedside table, and the lighting of the room was designed for a double bed, and not three singles. The room (and the hotel generally) was a bit worn and had rather shabby carpet. The basin in our en-suite bathroom was cracked, the bath worn and the WC did not operate correctly. No soap (liquid or bars) was provided, but bath foam and shampoo were provided on two out of the three nights we stayed. There were no drinking glasses, only plastic glasses. There was only one comfortable chair in the room. The wardrobe was full of two folding beds and other things, and it was not possible to hang anything long in the wardrobe. or hang other clothes adequately. There was no hotel information in the room. Wi-fi might have been available, as there seemed to be a 'White Horse Guest' address, but no access code was given. We booked on a room only basis for three nights as we were attending a family function, and so cannot comment on the food etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balmedie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Balmedie, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Had an excellent night Friday 15th March, food was different cuts of meat from The Store in Foveran served ins very good and imaginative way. Wine was plentiful, speaker was very informative on the South African wines and we sampled plenty! Very good night, would recommend it and would book up to the next one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have eaten at the White Horse Inn quite a lot and cannot fault their service and food. The price for the food and drink is reasonable and the atmosphere is really good. There are plenty of car park spaces but as this is my local pub, I'd rather walk.

It has a good bar next door with pool table and TVs to watch the football. It also has a function room.

Looking forward to going back to the White Horse Inn for more food soon. Highly recommend anyone to give it a try.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmedie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Oh I am so disappointed. We are regulars to the White Horse as we live in the village. We took a stroll round to the restaurant to take advantage of their two for one pizza deal which we had seen advertised, for a takeaway. When we arrived it was busy but there was more than plenty staff. The boy who greeted us, after looking slightly vague and flustered informed us that there was not a pizza menu as such and that we could pretty much have any toppings we wanted. He told us to have a seat at the bar and he would come and take our order. Well we were a bit confused because we still didn't have anything to tell us how much the pizzas were, how big they were and although we all know what toppings there are, it is quite nice to have a menu for inspiration and to give an idea of what you are actually going to be getting! Still undeterred we waited and waited and watched lots of staff walk past us and no one came to take our pizza order. Alas we left and drove in to town. I am sure the pizza would have been lovely, just such a shame that we had no information on them and no one came to take our order.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White H, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hi, this is a bit of shutting the stable door after the horse has bolted.
I’m embarrassed with the lacklustre approach you received and then to add injury to insult to be ignored.
We don’t have a pizza menu as we build them all to order. They are about 12” and traditional thin crust stone baked. The cheese and tomato is 7.95 and £1 a topping there after. Obviously the guy should have explained this to you and taken your order immediately.
Sorry, we got this hopelessly wrong.
I see you are a regular, no doubt we will recognise you, let us know when you are next in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

went for meal with friend. Staff very attentitive. Main course was very good. The cicken salad was excellent , my fish was crispy and moist but unfortunately my partners steak was well overcooked. We complained and Matt came and apoligized and offered to remove the cost of the main. it still was not acceptable (not reported to staff) Sweets were great and the staffs attentatives was good - problem was with cook - unable to cook a steak- not front staff problem - Matt was good front office and was good when a problem arose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anned D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I ate here with a group of friends recently on a Thursday night - the food was excellent and the costs were very reasonable.

It is not a Michelin star restaurant but it doesn't claim to be - the food is traditional, local and very well presented - most importantly......the food tastes great!!

Staff are young and don't seem that switched on but the manager/owner seems to be on the ball and keeps the younger staff in check/order.

Will definetely return for a second helping of comfort food!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJG7380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmedie
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen North (Bridge Of Don) Hotel
10.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
235 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cock & Bull
The Cock & Bull
#1 of 2 in Balmedie
12 reviews
4.9 mi away
Newburgh Inn
Newburgh Inn
#1 of 3 in Newburgh
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: Old Road | Balmedie, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Balmedie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Balmedie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Balmedie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing