We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dinner with friends”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Balmedie B&B and Inns
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“dinner with friends”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

went for meal with friend. Staff very attentitive. Main course was very good. The cicken salad was excellent , my fish was crispy and moist but unfortunately my partners steak was well overcooked. We complained and Matt came and apoligized and offered to remove the cost of the main. it still was not acceptable (not reported to staff) Sweets were great and the staffs attentatives was good - problem was with cook - unable to cook a steak- not front staff problem - Matt was good front office and was good when a problem arose.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anned D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    41
    26
    18
    16
See reviews for
42
39
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I ate here with a group of friends recently on a Thursday night - the food was excellent and the costs were very reasonable.

It is not a Michelin star restaurant but it doesn't claim to be - the food is traditional, local and very well presented - most importantly......the food tastes great!!

Staff are young and don't seem that switched on but the manager/owner seems to be on the ball and keeps the younger staff in check/order.

Will definetely return for a second helping of comfort food!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJG7380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Come for meals often, menu selection ok although always happy with my food, the menu is lacking a true selection! Local produce, nice touch, fresh veg and home made chips, these all I think are vital, serving size very ample, and always content after.love the cosy Atmosphere, the staff were lovely, some seemed shy (maybe new) although this was nice to see true personal service opposed to the chains you get elsewhere with rehearsed fake smiles and fake voices! There's a girl there Siobhan, very hardworking, lovely, always in the same humour. and can't help but think the place would not be the same without her, usually refrain from dessert as there's not a big enough selection and I know I will get Betty's complimentary tablet at the end ! Boost!! All in all a great place, nice staf, relaxed atmosphere great food, hidden gem!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Ks_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having recently moved to balmedie myself and my partner have been to the Whitehorse several times for a meal, both by ourselves and bringing another couple along, the food is always fantastic and we already have our "usual" dishes we order! The tablet they bring you with your bill is a lovely little touch and the staff are always very welcoming! The prices are good and the wine is brill! We have also been up twice to the bar area on a Saturday night and they had a brill live band on and it was an excellent atmosphere! Overall couldn't fault it and very glad it's just round the corner!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliviaandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visited a year ago, and am considering another visit this autumn. Sometimes wonder what people expect. Inexpensive. Helpful and polite staff. Good food. Clean and comfortable. Lovely part of the world (when its not raining) - out of city, but with good transport links, for those without a car. I liked it. A good base for seeing this part of scotland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_AlanP_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

“Accommodation simple and basic, but clean and tidy. A little dated but good shower, TV and bed.
Staff excellent (some bigger hotels could take a leaf out of there book) and food surprisingly good and great value for money.
Not fancy and basic, but over all good value for money. Would stay again.”

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CillDroichid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Good points: staff were very helpful and friendly whenever we asked for anything. Evening meal was reasonably good. The rooms were quiet, though there was road noise when the windows were opened.

Bad points: where to start... decor tired and dated, who on earth thought painting a bathroom battleship grey was a good idea!?

Beds were old crocks, we had to get extra duvets to put over the mattress, corridors smelled of cigarette smoke, breakfast was poor quality, instant coffee for breakfast - ugh!

Though they did cook eggs to order so that was something. Wi-fi was miserable, dodgy in restaurant area and no coverage at all in bedrooms. The door to the accommodation 'block' was propped open with a plant pot full of cigarette stubs.

Place seems mainly to be used by local workmen who left a trail of mud on the stairs every day. In fairness to the staff they cleaned as best they could, but there was still two dirty wet paper napkins left on the ground for the 4 days we were there.

Overall... don't stay here unless you have to!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CillDroichid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White H, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your helpful comments posted on the 6th July regarding your stay at The White Horse. We have recently taken over this business and there is no doubt that some of the rooms are dated, however, we are working through a programme of refreshing the accommodation and this is ongoing. I do believe however that all rooms are very clean and tidy despite being tired.
Battleship grey – that would be me then. It’s B&Q’s “Light Rain”, but I accept it is not to everyone’s taste.
We have replaced the beds and the mattresses in the room concerned and now serve fresh coffee in single serve cafetières, to order in the morning. Very useful feedback, thanks.
The plant pot with sand in it is specifically designed for the safe deposit of cigarette ends to ensure that the entrance is not littered with butts. It is normal for residents to keep the door open when outside for a cigarette, this may be why there was a smell of cigarettes in the corridor on your visit, I will give some consideration on how best to address this.
We are gathering competitive quotes for the upgrade of the WiFi coverage and this should be completed by the end of this month.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a comment. We value feedback, however critical.


Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balmedie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmedie
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen North (Bridge Of Don) Hotel
10.8 mi away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
14.0 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
0.6 mi away
The Cock & Bull
The Cock & Bull
#1 of 2 in Balmedie
12 reviews
4.9 mi away
Newburgh Inn
Newburgh Inn
#1 of 3 in Newburgh
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: Old Road | Balmedie, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Balmedie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Balmedie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Balmedie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing