We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good base”
Review of White Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Balmedie B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A good base”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Visited a year ago, and am considering another visit this autumn. Sometimes wonder what people expect. Inexpensive. Helpful and polite staff. Good food. Clean and comfortable. Lovely part of the world (when its not raining) - out of city, but with good transport links, for those without a car. I liked it. A good base for seeing this part of scotland.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1_AlanP_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    42
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
43
39
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2012

“Accommodation simple and basic, but clean and tidy. A little dated but good shower, TV and bed.
Staff excellent (some bigger hotels could take a leaf out of there book) and food surprisingly good and great value for money.
Not fancy and basic, but over all good value for money. Would stay again.”

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CillDroichid
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Good points: staff were very helpful and friendly whenever we asked for anything. Evening meal was reasonably good. The rooms were quiet, though there was road noise when the windows were opened.

Bad points: where to start... decor tired and dated, who on earth thought painting a bathroom battleship grey was a good idea!?

Beds were old crocks, we had to get extra duvets to put over the mattress, corridors smelled of cigarette smoke, breakfast was poor quality, instant coffee for breakfast - ugh!

Though they did cook eggs to order so that was something. Wi-fi was miserable, dodgy in restaurant area and no coverage at all in bedrooms. The door to the accommodation 'block' was propped open with a plant pot full of cigarette stubs.

Place seems mainly to be used by local workmen who left a trail of mud on the stairs every day. In fairness to the staff they cleaned as best they could, but there was still two dirty wet paper napkins left on the ground for the 4 days we were there.

Overall... don't stay here unless you have to!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CillDroichid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White H, Owner at White Horse Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for your helpful comments posted on the 6th July regarding your stay at The White Horse. We have recently taken over this business and there is no doubt that some of the rooms are dated, however, we are working through a programme of refreshing the accommodation and this is ongoing. I do believe however that all rooms are very clean and tidy despite being tired.
Battleship grey – that would be me then. It’s B&Q’s “Light Rain”, but I accept it is not to everyone’s taste.
We have replaced the beds and the mattresses in the room concerned and now serve fresh coffee in single serve cafetières, to order in the morning. Very useful feedback, thanks.
The plant pot with sand in it is specifically designed for the safe deposit of cigarette ends to ensure that the entrance is not littered with butts. It is normal for residents to keep the door open when outside for a cigarette, this may be why there was a smell of cigarettes in the corridor on your visit, I will give some consideration on how best to address this.
We are gathering competitive quotes for the upgrade of the WiFi coverage and this should be completed by the end of this month.

Thanks again for taking the time to post a comment. We value feedback, however critical.


Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Balmedie hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Had to stay here recently as all other hotels were booked up. Was expecting a lot more considering the reviews on here. The hotel building was very uninspiring, the entrance hallway looked like it hadn't been hoovered for a while...if ever and the door was falling apart. The room was very tired and needs some serious updating, the bed was fairly comfortable though. The bathroom was at least clean except for ingrained stains in the bath. From the state of the room I didn't fancy eating here so went up to the cock and bull up the road for dinner. However, in the morning the staff kindly made me a breakfast roll to take away as I was in a hurry. I'm not sure how much the room cost as it was booked through my work but I wouldn't want to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunkertron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millport18
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Good in parts. In fact really good in parts but also some downsides. Just north of Aberdeen and very reasonably priced for that area compared to city centre hotels at double the price and more. Great welcome - very friendly. Room tired but they are doing them up bit by bit. Bed extremely comfortable and bed linen good quality and fresh and spotless. Bar food was superb. Everybody that ate in the bar said the same thing. So lots going for it - location, staff, food,bed etc. Now the downsides which might seem petty but I think they are important and there were quite a few small things that all add up. There was no tea or coffee with the kettle and cups - there were biscuits but no tea or coffee - strange really. No plug for the bath - had to go and ask for one and they couldn't provide one but another guest overheard my plight and gave me his - this was a first for me. The bathroom could have been cleaner - some hair in a corner and in one of the disposable cups there was a disposable razor cover and a kirby grip, no doubt from the previous guest. None of this good. Breakfast was fine but had to ask for butter as there was only margarine on the tables. Depsite all this I would be happy to go back if I could feel comfortable that these little things were being addressed. So I would suggest giving it a go - I will use it again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millport18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

All the family were invited to my niece's 30th birthday party last night. 10 of us decided to stay overnight in the hotel.
The function was great, plenty to eat and a nice function suite. All the children were made very welcome and it turned out a really good night. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at this establishment.
Our rooms were great value and included breakfast which was lovely. The rooms were clean with good beds, with tea/coffee and biscuits.

I can honestly say the staff at this hotel are the most pleasant, helpful and cheery I have encountered. Not just my opinion, all of us. Laura on reception is a great asset to this inn, a delightful girl, very helpful. I don't know names of girls in the breakfast dining room but they were just as nice. Nothing too much trouble, asking if we wanted more of anything.

A big thank you for a great weekend. Well done to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here whilst on business a couple of weeks ago and the room was awful - there was a horrible smell like bad drains! A matress on the floor is how I would describe the bed - not even a headboard - the duvet and pillows were cheap and awful. There was no socket for the hairdryer and to boil the kettle you had to sit it on the floor beside the socket as there was only the one in the whole room. The bathroom was in need of a good thorough clean right down to the shower head. We did eat on the 2 nights we stayed and although the first night the food was OK on the second night I could not recommend it. If this hotel is going to be competing for business from the new Trump golf links along the road it is going to need to get itself into the 21st Century as Americans will not accept this standard and I would certainly not stay here again. Also I think it should be mentioned on their web site that it is an old fashioned motel style building away from the main hotel where the acomodation is.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bikergirlWestCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balmedie
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express - Aberdeen Exhibition
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Aberdeen North (Bridge Of Don) Hotel
14.0 mi away
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
Kilmarnock Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cruden Bay (Port Erroll)
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Aberdeen - Exhibition Centre
7.9 mi away
Buchan Hotel
Buchan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Ellon
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Cock & Bull
The Cock & Bull
#1 of 2 in Balmedie
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Property: White Horse Inn
Address: Old Road | Balmedie, Balmedie AB23 8XR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Balmedie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Balmedie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse Hotel Balmedie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing