We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The resort that treats you like royalty”
Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Misibis Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The resort that treats you like royalty”
Reviewed March 4, 2010

From the time we arrived at Hotel Venezia where a van was waiting to take us to Raintree Misibis Bay Resort to the time when we were dropped off back at Hotel Venezia to spend one night before heading back to Manila, we could not think of a single incident when we weren't treated like royalty. Kudos to Mr. Ian Varona, the resort manager, and his staff for their excellent service!

The cold buko juice welcome drink was very refreshing. The food was very tasty and we really liked it that our food was set up outside under the palm trees where we had a panoramic view of the main pool and the beach. Their fried leche flan dessert is a must-try (deelish!). We also loved their free ice candy refreshments (mango, avocado, pandan) --- a very "cool" idea indeed!

Our "one bedroom premiere" was very spacious and very well appointed. The king-size bed in the bedroom and the sofa that transforms into a king-size bed in the living room were super comfy. We love the large glass windows that allow the natural light to fill the room and does not deprive us from enjoying the natural beauty outside from the comfort of our air-conditioned room. And if privacy is desired or you wish to block off the sun's glare then their window shades work perfectly as well. They never ran out of hot water in the shower and I was particularly impressed that they provide you with top of the line toiletries. Also, the jacuzzi on the sun deck/terrace was a bonus and was perfect for unwinding and relaxing your muscles after a day full of fun activities in the resort.

I was initially worried that the resort is isolated and far from Legaspi City and that we may run out of things to do. Oh was I ever wrong... we ran out of time to do all the fun activities that the resort had to offer. We were already planning to visit this resort again in 2012 even before our very short stay at the resort ended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XpertTravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    224
    116
    54
    42
See reviews for
359
164
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

My husband and I celebrated our 19th year wedding anniversary and it was well worth spending it in Bicol and at the Misibis with our 16 year old daughter and 13 year old son.

We initially had challenges staying at the Hotel Venezia and its Manager Mack de Leon sorted out the arrangement for us to proceed immediately to Misibis. Thank you very much Mack. With my experience at the Discovery Shores Boracay, I always look forward to staying in a SLH site every time, for the great pampered service that the staff provide.

Of course, at Misibis, there is the usual welcome drink, in their simple yet elegant lobby. We were also greeted by a welcome snack in our hotel room, not to mention the complimentary foot wash which we all enjoyed during our first evening at Misibis.

We thank the courteous staff, kuyas Dennis and Allan who brought us to the marina for 2 nights to watch the Mayon spewing lava and ashes. We had a blast taking night shots of the volcano.

After each water activity, the staff were there to meet us with fresh towels, which prompted my daughter to ask if they can read minds. We also enjoyed the ice buko offered for free while we enjoyed our swimming at the pool.

Rex Cortes, the food and beverage manager was also great. He made it a point to ask for feedback almost at our every meal. We got to know him better through our small talks. The most unforgettable thing he and his staff did for us was to prepare an anniversary cake at the request of our daughter. This definitely made our stay a truly unforgettable one.

And not to forget Phoebe Cabigon, the recreational manager. Besides being great with zip dancing, she made sure that we were booked and on time for our snorkeling and hobbie cat ride. Overall, the team is highly commendable, thank too to Mr. Ian Varona, the Resort Manager of Misibis Bay Raintree.

Food was a bit pricey and not much other choice as Misibis is isolated from the city.

However, given the chance (and of course the money), we will again visit Misibis Raintree. Cheers!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go-Travel-the-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

This is supposed to be a luxury hotel but when you ask for shaving kits, you are told to buy one at the hotel store ( and they don't carry it at the store). When you run out of toothpaste and ask for one, they tell you they do not have any on stock. When you run out of shampoo, you have to ask as they will not replace what you have in your room even if they see you are already short in supply when they made up the room. If you have to call another room, room service, etc, their fancy phone cannot connect directly and ALL CALLS will be coursed thru the front desk where it takes an eternity to do if ever it is done at all. When you check in make sure to get the foothbath right away, if not they will leave the wash basin, lotions, and water container in the middle of your room for the entire stay. See my pics during check out after 4 days in hotel ... lotions have dried up already!!! During check out, they are charging for rooms that were already paid for and it took 10 mins to sort this out. After that, I asked for signed receipts to verify the charges as we had numerous charges and they did not have it on hand. It took another 10 minutes to get receipts as the receptionist had to run to the hotel outlet where billings were made to get duplicates. I am not kidding here. Mind you they already knew we were checking out the day before as it took 30 minutes to confirm, reconfirm, verify, reverify our transportation back to the city. Is it just me or is it not normal to just let them know when you are flying out at a certain time and the hotel will make the arrangements? They had to call back, go to the room, call again to ask again what time, call again if pick up is ok at this time, etc etc. You get the feeling they do not know what they are doing.

Food taste is just ok, nothing exceptional, service on the F&B is very good however. Ala carte menu is very very limited however. You will run out of options as there is only one dining facility and you can't really go out to eat. Activities are numerous, children's play area is great, staff there great as well. Pool and beach area facilities are good, service good as well. Rooms are nice and airy. The whole hotel looks great, it is just that housekeeping and the front office is unbelievably bad.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wilfcb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2009

Misibis is the best and only hotel resort accomodation near Bicol. The rooms are similar to 5 star hotel rooms, immaculately clean and modern. Bathroom is a luxury, we have our own jacuzzi and shower room is great too. The room has it's own kitchen, living room and a porch where one can enjoy the comfort of home/hotel in a resort. Staff are very courteous and friendly. My dad doesn't like beaches but he enjoyed the accomodation of Misibis. Food is not delicious but expected of all resorts.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank moistfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2009

the place was super nice and the service was very good, from the pick up at the airport up to our arrival & stay in the resort. there were welcome drinks and pica-pica(nuts/chips). the rooms are excellent, we had a nice view of the lagoon pool. FOOD: it is recommended that you get the full board meals because the meals are prepared fresh every meal and set up was splendid. During our swimming in the afternoon we were given cookies & ice candy (mango & papaya flavor yummy!!!) the resort also have complete water sports equipment that you could rent.. they also have entertainment area where you can play computer games for the kids, ktv, billiards, table tennis and a lot more.. STAFF: everybody in the resort were very accomodating.. very well trained staff.

All in all we had a wonderful time in the resort. we'll definitely reccomend this to all our friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJhardware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

This resort is only going to get more popular with increased visibility from visitors and the development of the eco-adventure site on the other side of the mountain. Our kids aged 6 and 3 loved it. There is enough to do for a week-long stay both outdoors and indoors - infinity pool, beach, floating ice-berg, floating trampoline, watersports, ATV rides. For "down" time before dinner and during rainy periods, the kids loved the rec room - with WII and playstation, pool, ping pong...they even tried out the karaoke machine for their first time! The food is very good, and with the development of two additional restaurants should improve the variety -but the staff was eager to impress and did an impromptu bbq for all who was interested. Know that unlike in Boracay, there are really no other restaurants to eat at it so it's a good thing the food is so tasty. This trip should be planned with enough time to take into account the surrounding expeditions - better diving can be found 1 hour - 1.5 hours away by boat , and a trip up the volcanic hot springs would also be interesting but we didn't have time. The ATV ride up the mountain is also worth it for the views. It's also only 2 hours by car away from Naga and the huge water park where Iron Man takes place.. Decor and guest service is excellent. Will have very fond memories to carry me through the cold US Eastern winters.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallavantress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

The resort is actually much better than it looked on the website, and they already had a pretty good website. The resort is sprawling and wonderfully landscaped. I especially loved it at night when it was beautifully lighted. Our room was quite roomy, the bathroom was huge and the bed was very comfortable. We were upgraded to a one-bedroom suite which had a separate sitting area whose sectional sofa was transformed into another king-sized bed at night, which was great since we were travelling with 3 small children and a nanny so it was very comfortable for all. Plus our room was located on the second floor with a huge balcony that had a jacuzzi, two lounge chairs and a dining area where we would have dinner every night, overlooking the lagoon pool below. The resort had three pools: a kiddie pool, a lagoon pool where most of the villas were located and an eternity pool overlooking the ocean. Needless to say, the kids were quite happy swimming all day. The beach was so-so. There are plenty of other more beautiful beaches in the Philippines. You really go to enjoy the resort. There are plenty of activities like diving, snorkeling, jetskiing, going around the island on an ATV, going on a day trip to see Mayon Volcano and other historical sites. There's free internet, a state of the art gym, a great videoke room and a game room with wii and playstation. Service was excellent. Especially our pool "valet"/attendant, Christie who always made sure we had complimentary refreshments and cookies, arranged our things and would constantly transfer all our stuff whenever we moved from one pool to another. Am already looking forward to returning to Misibis Bay again!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagraray Island
33.4 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
196 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 14 in Legazpi
453 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#6 of 14 in Legazpi
163 reviews
54.9 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
13.2 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Property: Misibis Bay Resort
Address: Misibis Bay | Albay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing