We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a wonderful time”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misibis Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We took the villa with a beachfront view. It was amazing! Everything was perfect! The room was great seevice is spot on. Love the food in the restaurant. If you are looking for a place to relax then misibis bay is the perfect place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thevacationtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear vacationtrip,


Greetings from Misibis Bay!

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at and thank you for the positive review of our resort hotel.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and we are glad to hear that we have achieved our aim. Our utmost reward is to hear that our guests are satisfaction.

Once again we are very thankful to your comments and look forward to welcoming you back.


Yours truly,


Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    214
    110
    51
    39
See reviews for
339
160
15
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Balgowlah, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

It’s not my personality to whine for minor hiccups on any of my trips, yet for this instance, it just kept coming:
 Upon arrival, a native-clad dancer greeted us with a step or two. However, he (or was it a she) rapidly vanished that we missed the opportunity to have our picture with him/her. Since we are photo enthusiasts, this was a disappointment. It could have been a colourful memento.
 Due to the hour-long trip from Legazpi City, we all made a bee line to the bathroom near the reception area. It’s quite unacceptable for a first-class resort, and high-priced at that, to find it a bit reeking. More so, there was no toilet paper or extra roll handy that we have to use our own.
 Being frequent travellers, we’re used to be welcomed at check in or at the onset with refreshments. Here, no one bothered to offer us drinks or this kropek. They were just laid on a table and of course, we wouldn’t dare touch them thinking that it may belong to other guests. After long and hard stares with friends, soliciting nods if we should or we should not, we surrendered to the drinks but not the kropek. One family stashed them away and no soul replenished the missing nibbles.
 The locker room floor was sopping wet. You have to tread cautiously to avoid losing balance. Similar to the toilet paper, there were no shampoo & conditioner handy at the shower stalls. My companion still has to catch the attention of the keeper concerning this. Only then, did someone mopped the floor and provided the lacking toiletries.
Given that I was the one who suggested Misibis Bay, I’m feeling accountable for the mishaps. I felt I was dragging them into this quagmire. In each case, I wished I could make myself vanish.
All the same, morning was spent visiting the attractions of Cagraray Island – the Eco-Energy Park, Amphitheatre, Stella Maris Chapel, etc. Although dripping with sweat, this didn’t stop us from posing and taking heaps of pictures, including jump shots.
Our happiest moments constantly seem to be during meal times. Lunch buffet was praiseworthy. My eyes lit at the assortment of sushi, cheese, pasta & halo halo. Meat was tender and the sea food fresh. It was truly delectable that we had seconds, thirds… fourths… even fifths(?)
As the day wore on, we found ourselves swimming on one of the pools & relaxing by the beach continually taking nothing but pictures, leaving nothing but footprints and killing nothing but time.
I must say, in spite the slip-ups, Misibis Bay is still a component of the Bacacay landscape where you’ll find the sun glowing… the breeze whispering… and the ocean inviting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uncluttered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear uncluttered,


Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced while staying at Misibis Bay. We want you to know that you are very important to us and we truly appreciate your feedback. We are saddened that we were not successful in making your stay as enjoyable as you deserve it to be.

Misibis Bay takes pride in its standards of service excellence, and any lapse is always immediately looked into and addressed by the management to ensure continuous improvement of our products and services.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Misibis Bay, and we look forward to being of service to you in your next visit.


Yours truly,


Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Misibis Bay Resort was a great experience from the moment I stepped out of the plane. We were picked up by the hotel's shuttle service. The coaster was comfortable and clean. Upon arrival, we were led to the check-in area and were given snacks while we waited for our turn. Upon check-in, we were given a suggested itinerary. I suggest you follow the itinerary given because this is how the resort manages the people using the facilities. We followed our suggested itinerary and we never had to wait for our turn -- I guess we were lucky because the other guests followed their itinerary too.

Our room wasn't ready yet when we arrived (because check-in time was still 2pm and we were there by 12nn) so we had lunch. We ordered pizza and it was ok. The buffet is overpriced (Php1,600) so we didn't avail of it. There are a lot of free facilities/activities so you will not get bored. When we visited the beach, we were underwhelmed at first because we thought that was it. Only when we walked further (to the water sports area) did we realize that the beach is very beautiful. The pools are big -- we actually felt that we had a private pool because you don't really bump into other people that much because the place is huge. We did everything we could -- snorkeling, rode the hobbie cat, paddle boarding and zip line. I've seen better snorkeling but it wasn't bad. The hobbie cat was fun because in other resorts, this has a fee. When you ride the hobbie cat, you get to see the Mayon volcano in its entirety which is amazing. Paddle boarding was a fun and great experience and it is the first resort I've been to that offered it. The zip line wasn't great because it was short. There is a ropes course but this is only available for team building activities.

Service is great. You can ask anyone for anything and they will do their best to provide your request. They are very welcoming and friendly.

I recommend that visitors take time to go the the amphitheater and the church. These are really beautiful, especially the church. It is breathtaking!

Word of caution though, the food is not great. I ordered pad thai for dinner (room service) and found it too sour. There was also a fly! The chicken inasal didn't really have taste so we drowned it in soy sauce. The laing was good though. Considering the taste, I find the food very expensive. I suggest you bring snacks (so you do not have to eat a lot during meals).

Room Tip: Make sure you inform the resort which room you prefer -- there are rooms that are near the beach and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous324435365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Anonymous3224,


Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments about your stay. Your positive feedback has been most gratifying and is passed on with the entire Misibis Bay team. This will certainly encourage them to continue to excel providing genuine service to all our valued guests.

We regret that you encountered some challenges in our food and beverage team. We have taken serious note of your comment and rest assured that appropriate action will be taken to avoid this kind of inconvenience in the near future. We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

We look forward to being of service to you very soon.


Yours truly,


Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
391 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Misibis Bay experience begins when you are fetched from Legazpi airport. The shuttle van comes with a guest officer / tour guide and takes you around the city of Legazpi before going to the resort. The tour takes you to the key tourist spots - Daraga Church, Cagsawa Ruins, the Embarcadero, Lion's Hill, etc., all with the mighty Mayon Volcano looming in the background. This is included in your booking, this alone gives Misibis Bay excellent value.

To get to the island, your shuttle will board a ferry to cross a river that separates the island from the mainland, though this crossing will cease as soon as the bridge is finished. When you arrive in the resort, you will be welcomed by a hotel staff performing a local dance. The resort grounds itself are tastefully designed along the modern tropical vein. You will be taken via golf cart to your cottage. Ours was located in a new section of the resort, some of the facilities still under construction and quite a walk from the main area, which explains the discounted rates.

Staff are very friendly and helpful, and will go out of your way to please you. The scheduled activities included in the package are fun - from the zipline, kayaking, sailboat cruising, snorkelling. You can drive an ATV around the island but that entails extra costs.

The white sand beach is very clean, with clear waters placid enough and safe for kids. For comparison, the sand in Boracay is still finer and whiter. Free towels are available and there's a bar in the beach where you can order shakes, soda, cocktails or beer. If you'd have enough saltwater, you can head off to their exceptionally large pool.

The resort could've been perfect if not for the food - taste is just okay and the choices seem ordinary when we were there. Given the price per head of the buffet, it seems overpriced for the quality and taste. Perhaps we were expecting a showcase of Bicolano cuisine drenched in coconut and chili glory for the buffet but we got Filipino staples like adobo, mechado, among others, instead. Good thing, we still had an extra day in Legazpi to get our Bicolano food fix in places like 1st Colonial Grill, Sibid Sibid, Small Talk and Waway's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hizonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Misibis Bay Resort. Upon arrival at Legazpi airport, a hostess was just beyond the baggage claim area who immediately escorted us to our private van to the resort. In the van were both a driver and a guide, who was very knowledgeable about local customs and cuisine, so the trip to the resort was entertaining and informative, plus we did a few photo stops along the way. They also served cookies and bottled water in the van.

We were welcomed at the resort by some cultural dancers, welcome leis, and welcome drinks, and quickly escorted to reception. Check-in was efficient, and we had to wait just a few minutes for a golf cart escort to our suite.

The suite itself was pre-cooled, with a ref, in-room safe, coffee maker, a flat screen TV, a king-sized bed with comfortable mattress and pillows, plus a bay window bed that could comfortably sleep another guest. The bathroom was large, and the provided soaps, shampoos and lotions were Crabtree & Evelyn. They also provided coffee, tea and bottled water free of charge. Wi-Fi was strong in the suite, and was functional throughout the resort.

Included non-motorized water activities were handled professionally and with great courtesy - from kayaking, to snorkeling, to a zip-line at the Eco Park beside the resort. The resort also has very nice swimming pools, from a large, well-maintained infinity pool (with an in-water bar) to a lagoon pool that snakes around all the suites, to mini pools outside the garden villas.

We tried out the spa, and received excellent, relaxing massages. Most of the food at the restaurant is quite good, if a bit pricey, but that's to be expected.

The staff all around was courteous, friendly and very helpful. It's hard to find fault with them, except during one breakfast when they seemed a bit understaffed.

Check out was easy as well, pick up from the room, to reception, to the private van to take you back to the airport.

I really have no complaints about this resort. I'd highly recommend it and would be open to returning one day.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms offer great value for money, and are still very close to the junior suites/fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malupit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear malupit,


Greetings from Misibis Bay, your Luxury Island Playground!

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at and thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We do our utmost to enchant our guests and we are glad to hear that we have achieved our aim. We have a passion for all of our guests and cannot help indulging them. We thank for your pointing out many of our assets: city tour upon arrival, our Ibalong dancers, room amenities, recreational activities, food and our staffs.

Overall we hope you could keep a nice memory of your stay and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our resort hotel.


Yours truly,


Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Staff - I would like to thank all the staff of Misibis Bay who were all very accommodating and helpful during our 3D/2N stay.
Eco tour and all suggested activities are great.
Food is expensive but it was good.
Rooms and facilities are great - free towels, bottled water & yummy kropek everywhere you go
Transfers - available at anytime you want,

The price of Misibis is very expensive, but the quality of service matches the rate, first class service.
I would definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ioj_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear ioj_1,


Greetings from Misibis Bay!

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us.

It was nice to hear this kind of comments from you, they will serve as an encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services and keep very high the level of service. Thank you for naming us “Best Beach Resort”.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our on-going efforts to improve more of our services and products.


Yours truly,


Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Out of 5 stars, minus 2 for disappointing us with customer service --four of our friends were in the amphitheater halfway up the hill when Recreations forgot to send back a golf cart to fetch them, so they had to walk all the way down back to the resort! They were offered free Segway tour as compensation. Other than that, it was a pleasant experience.

Complimentary breakfast buffet, which offered a lot of variety, including local food (danggit, longanisa, etc.).

Had fun with the complimentary non-motorized recreational activities. Aside from the usual snorkeling (which I unfortunately had no time for) and kayaking, we did boat pedaling, stand-up paddle surfing, windsurfing, and Hobie Cat sailing. The highlight was the zipline with a “pit stop”.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jehsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear JehSee,


Marhay na aldaw from Misibis Bay Resort & Casino!


On behalf of the Recreations team, please accept my apology for the untoward incident happened to your friends during your last stay with us.

We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We want you to know that you are very important to us and we truly appreciate your feedback. Thank you for the comment, "Almost perfect" is one way for us to improve more of our services and products.

Misibis Bay takes pride in its standards of service excellence, and any lapse is always immediately looked into and addressed by the management to ensure continuous improvement.

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us in your next visit.


Yours truly,


Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagraray Island
33.4 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 2 in Tabaco City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#9 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#1 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
13.2 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#5 of 13 in Legazpi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Property: Misibis Bay Resort
Address: Misibis Bay | Albay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing