We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome vacation for family”
Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Misibis Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome vacation for family”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My family (4 children ages 1-8 y/o) went to Misibis summer of 2012. Staff were very kind and helpful. We arrived on a sunday morning and needed a ride to go to church (instead of the local tour they offered in the package). The driver arranged everything, from driving us there to having us picked up at no extra charge. Upon arrival, refreshments and fish crackers were served. The room was big, perfect for our family.
I am not a beach lover but I enjoyed their beach and water sports immensely. There are a lot of people but suprisingly, the beach wasn't overcrowded. We rode the ATV but sadly, it was cloudy that we weren't able to have a view of the Mayon volcano. Our ATV guide even brought water for us and even plastics for our celphones/cameras when it rained. Great service. Great trail (for us beginners).
My only gripe is their resto. The buffet's food isn't worth the price. We ended up ordering alacarte which took forever to be served. Food wasn't bad but not great as well.
I would love to go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    226
    118
    55
    42
See reviews for
363
168
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Misibis Bay is a beautiful island resort. Our villa has a master bedroom with two double beds and a daybed; and a receiving room with two chaise longues. We had our own jacuzzi at the verandah. The villa alone is perfect for lounging around and relaxing. The pools offer a nice alternative. When you come here though, expect to do just that. Lounge around and relax- for a couple of days at best.

Activities include taking the zip line, Segway, and ATVs around the complex; and wind surfing, kayaking, snorkeling, etc. at the beach. These are activities that can also be done elsewhere. You won't be missing anything if you opt to skip them. One activity that's different from resorts in Boracay or Palawan is whale watching in Donsol. However, sightings of whale sharks have become rare recently with the influx of motorized boats to the area, that traveling at least 2 hours each to and from Donsol, without guarantee that you might actually get an encounter with these beautiful animals, might be not be worth it especially at the rate of PhP5800 per person for a group of 6 or PhP17000+ if you're alone. Better to just schedule a different vacation to Sorsogon for that.

Dining options are limited. In fact, there is only one main area that serves food. It's actually 3 restaurants/bars rolled into one. The menu for all 3 is the same. Food choices for 3 days and 2 nights are almost the same.

There is also the problem of accessibility. Unless you travel by watercraft or chopper, the road to this haven of relaxation is long and winding. It takes about an hour of traveling through rocky pavements and winding paths to get to and from the resort. The ride can be exhausting and nauseating.

On the brighter side, the staff is very friendly and helpful. They helped make our stay as pleasant and relaxing as possible. So at the end of your trip, it might be best to sleep in the van on your way back to Legaspi airport in order to save whatever level of relaxation you were able to attain during your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear docajc,

Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!


Thank you for your detailed feedback. We truly appreciate your time and effort to share your thoughts about your experience at our hotel. We hope you are feeling much better now.

We were delighted to read that you commend our staffs for their service in making your stay pleasurable. It is always encouraging for us to hear that our guests are satisfied with our services as it is what we strive for everyday. Your kind words have been shared to the whole team. This will motivate them to keep up the good work.

We regret that you encountered some inconvenience in some areas of our services. Misibis Bay takes pride in its standards of service excellence, and any lapse is always immediately looked into and addressed by the management to ensure continuous improvement of our products and services.

Once again, we thank you for staying with us and we wish you the best in your personal and business endeavors.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

From Legaspi City, it took about more than 1 hour to get to the resort - zipping through zig zag roads led to my toddler throwing up once we reached the resort. So expect the land trip to Misibis to be tiring. Expensive even if we've booked ourselves with a coupon. We stayed at a villa 3D \ 2N. The villa was perfect. I slept in the master's bedroom together with my three children while my husband slept on the sofa bed. We weren't informed that there were extra pillows and blankets for the two sofa beds at the living room. We only knew about it when our daughter explored the villa an hour before we checked-out. The kids love the pool because it seems to be a heated pool. There's a bar where you can order snacks while staying in the pool. When we were there, no one was swimming in the beach. It's rocky so don't expect white fine sand.

The breakfast buffet was great with a lot of choices. The lunch buffet is so- so, suggest to order a la carte. The dinner buffet is set up near the Casino Filipino with a band. The dinner buffet is not for families with young children who want a quiet dinner so we ended up eating at the empty restaurant - which was fine but you have to wait for 30 mins. since most of their kitchen staff is focused on serving their dinner buffet.

For the luggages when checking out, please call the concierge early. We thought it was an automatic pick up by the concierge. So when we realized they seemed to be not picking up our luggages from the villa, we arrived at the front desk already packed with the rest of the guests checking out.

There's table tennis and billiards at the recreation area. There's a children's playroom which can entertain toddlers and children up to age 12 since there are computer games. The resort will provide a suggested itinerary for you but since we had young kids, we werent able to follow the itinerary.

Room Tip: Villas facing the beach have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marts1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear marts1117,


Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the service deficits that you have encountered while staying at the resort. We want you to know that we truly take your feedback to heart and I assure you that we will take the need corrective actions as fast as possible.

We are very glad that you enjoyed the sumptuous food at the restaurant on your breakfast and indeed it is a must try. Our daily main concern is to look after our guests offering them our undivided attention and our utmost reward is to hear our guest’s satisfaction. We thank you for pointing out the details of our shortfalls and rest assured it will be addressed to our team to improve more of our products and services.

Once again we are thankful to your comments and look forward to welcoming you back. Should you decide to give us another chance and return to stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact me at msgaviola@misibisbay.com.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went to Misibis Bay first week of April for a 4-day stay in a 1-bedroom suite. Upon arrival at the airport we were already greeted by the welcoming committee from Misibis. We were then escorted to our own van were we were offered fresh cold towels and cold drinks. We then proceed with the tour of the city, then off to lunch. Our initial experience was with our guide and driver was very good and we were well taken care of. I forgot their names, but all praises to you.

After lunch, we headed for almost an hour drive to the resort. Upon arrival at the resort, we were greeted by native dancers. My son was very amused. At then check-in lobby we were again offered fish crackers and refreshing drinks. I fell in love with the fish crackers. I think I ate the whole plate... hahaha! The receptionist was very pleasant and we had a hassle free and fast check-in. We were then brought to our room via the golf cart. On our way, the driver also acted as a tour guide for the resort. Again he was also very nice and pleasant.

Upon arrival to our 1-bedroom suite, I was amazed how big, clean, and refreshing our room looks and feel. Our table already have complimentary native delicacy and it tasted good too. I even looked for it in their restaurant. They also gave us 2 complimentary abaca bags. Our room have a veranda which is next to the pool. Perfect location for someone with a son who loves water. We spent the whole afternoon swimming and when we got back to our room, I was amazed that they have it cleaned again and the birds were turned down. Again, they gave us fresh fruits on our table.

On our first dinner night, we opted to have ala carte orders. The only down side to ordering ala carte is the long waiting time. I think we have waited for 30-45 mins. The food staff were very courteous and pleasant. Good job to them. The food is tastes ok. The serving size of the food amazed me. I was surprised that its big enough for sharing. Even their kids meals were hefty. I also fell in love with their frozen iced tea. They also offer kids buffet which is setup near the pool area where there is a big TV screen and lots of toys around. Older kids will surely enjoy this.

On our 2nd day, there were a lot of activities that were lined up for us, namely zipline, snorkeling, and others. Their beach area was very clean and well maintained. Though we did not stay long in the beach, I know there are still other activities waiting for us that we were not able to utilize. On their pool, there were 2-3 staff/lifeguards that are watching and roaming around. They are also quite strict with the policy that kids below 12 should wear life vests which I think is good. They have different sizes of live vest that surely fits every kid ages 2 and above.

The resort also has a playroom, both for toddlers and older kids who loves video games. Billiards and ping pong table is also available. They also offer Segway, ATV, and other special tours. We were fully occupied on our stay with Misibis Bay. There was never a time that I was disappointed nor dismayed. Overall rating for facilities, amenities, service and staff is superb! Excellent! truly world class. Thank you and we will surely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingleWorkingMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear CoolMomRocks,


Greetings from Misibis Bay, your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you very much for choosing us on your family getaway. It was lovely to read such positive feedback as yours. We try and provide an excellent service to all of our guests and I thank you for pointing this out in your lines above. We will share your comments about the friendliness and efficiency of our staffs with all of them so they will more motivated in performing service excellence.

We at Misibis Bay do not only meet, but exceed customer expectations. We give emphasis on all aspects of the elegance of our hotel environment such as beautiful ambiance, luxurious food, high end technology, friendly and experienced staff.

All your kind comments are certainly flattering and we are extremely proud that you call us as a "TRULY WORLD CLASS". We were truly glad to provide you with our high level of services.

We thank you for your continued support and it is always a pleasure for us to be at your service. On your next visit, kindly contact me directly at msgaviola@misibisbay.com and I would be more than happy to personally arrange your stay with us.

Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Front desk- very slow, Luggage-very slow (maybe because they only have 2 golf carts), Food Staff-Mark, Caloy & Ian Very Good!!!, Activities- Excellent (you'll never get bored)..Room-they dnt change bedsheets, pillow covers, duvets etc..U have to ask for towels, bottled water, toiletries again and again...the bathroom smells terrible (it's because of the drainage, i guess). No lifeguards???...why???...Entrance fee for ur visitors???...another NO NO...Too expensive...Overall: I will not recommend...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricci U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Ricci U,


Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

Your feedback is well noted. It is indeed concerning to hear about your experience. Please know that satisfaction is ingrained in our service culture and has always been and will always be our priority.

At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced while staying at Misibis Bay. We want you to know that you are very important to us and we truly appreciate your feedback. We are saddened that we were not successful in making your stay as enjoyable as you deserve it to be.

We hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us on your next visit. Please feel free to contact me at msgaviola@misibisbay.com if you have any further questions or comments concerning your stay.

Thank you.

Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

For a resort that's quite far and expensive at that you'd be expecting 5 star service. Rooms are perfect, pool is ok except that the color of water makes one doubt if it's clean, beach area is ok but I've seen better.. Huts in the beach don't match the beauty of the hotel. One needs to take the golf cart to get to snorkeling place.. Waves were quite strong the time we went snorkeling.. But then again I've seen better.

The service staff in the restaurant is disappointing really. It felt like they were hired because they couldn't get experienced and trained personnel to travel to a remote area.

The housekeeping don't get the used cups etc in the room or veranda when they go in anyway to bring snacks in the room.

The drivers though of the shuttle vans we used are efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isayqc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear isayqc,


Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort!

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us.We regret that you have encountered some challenges in our restaurant, housekeeping, beach club and pools. We have taken serious note of your comments and rest assured that appropriate action will be taken to avoid this kind of inconvenience in the near future. We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

Misibis Bay takes pride in its standards of service excellence, and any lapse is always immediately looked into and addressed by the management to ensure continuous improvement of our products and services.

On your next visit, kindly contact me directly and I would be more than happy to personally arrange your stay with us.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed in a premiere villa for 3D/2N, excellent private location for this, very near the beach. Exceeded my expectations. Very good customer service. Front desk took only few mins to check-in, although the room wasnt available yet but no prob coz we had lunch first. The only reason I'm not giving this a 5* rating is bec of food, although you wont go hungry once you're here they still have a lot to improve with their food. Staff were unfailingly friendly and enthusiastic and appeared to be genuinely interested in taking care of visitors. Also plus points are the free use of non-motorized water sports. Casino could seriously consider live poker tables to increase interest. Will come back again, hopefully very soon !!!!

Room Tip: Choose Premiere Villa near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilen518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!


Thank you for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate your time and effort to share your thoughts about your experience at our resort.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the luxurious amenities and the improved services of our hotel staffs. With our food and beverage service, rest assured that it will be properly address to them so to improve our service. Your kind words has not only boosted the confidence of the team, but renewed the enthusiasm and their zest for the job. I would like to assure you of our continued sincerity and dedication to service in behalf of our hotel staffs.

We thank you for your continued support and it is always a pleasure for us to be at your service.

Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagraray Island
33.4 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
205 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 14 in Legazpi
474 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 3 in Tabaco City
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.9 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
13.0 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
167 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#6 of 14 in Legazpi
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Property: Misibis Bay Resort
Address: Misibis Bay | Albay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing