We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Major construction site - Avoid!”
Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Misibis Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Major construction site - Avoid!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Although Misibis Bay has the potential to be a great spot, the resort is currently undergoing major construction and I would avoid it in its current state at all costs. It is highly irresponsible of the management not to alert guests to this fact. The construction was loud and intrusive and many amenities featured on the website were not available because of it.

That great looking stretch of sand you see in the photo on their profile? It doesn't exist right now, its a pile of construction dirt and dump trucks are plowing back and forth across it all day long. The construction is right at the center of the resort so the sound of backhoes and heavy machinery is all you will hear at the restaurant and in the infinity pool. The restaurant was also under construction during our stay which added the sound of chisels and chainsaws and meant we ate dinner at picnic tables arranged in what appeared to be some kind of lobby. Music was played on an iHome. Dozens and dozens of construction workers were walking through the resort and around the pools all day making it somewhat uncomfortable to be sitting around in a bikini. The stretch of beach that was open was nice enough, though small and quite pebbly. The beach bar and swim up bar were both not in operation during our stay.

On the last evening of our stay the resort threw a large party for its staff on the beachfront. Everyone on the staff was unfailingly kind and they absolutely deserved some kind of celebration, but the way in which it was organized was really unfortunate. We were given no notice of the party prior to booking or during our stay. We had a beachfront room and woke up one morning to find them setting up sub woofers and a dance floor outside our window. Setting up the event took up all day meaning that construction workers were not only around the pools and restaurant, but at the beach too. The party went until 1am and we had to try to fall asleep with laser lights flashing into our room and thumping bass playing right outside our window. We stayed at Friday's in Boracay immediately before coming here. The resort hosted a very small wedding with only 3 guests while we there and the resort contacted us as soon as we booked to make sure that we wouldn't mind. Misibis should have extended the same courtesy.

The resort was in no way worth the prices they charge, it felt half-finished and thrown together. Not at all luxurious. The staff were the one bright point. They truly were kind and tried their best to make our stay enjoyable. Unfortunately smiles alone cannot drown out the sounds of heavy machinery. The resort is undergoing a massive expansion and will likely be under construction for years to come. Acres and acres of new houses and rooms are in the works and given their inability or unwillingness to balance their need for construction with the needs of their guests I would recommend avoiding Misibis for a long time. If you do choose to go I would recommend that do some thorough research into the state the resort will be in at the time of your visit. This resort was a big splurge for us and a big disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ech215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Ech215,

Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!


Thank you for your detailed feedback. We truly appreciate your time and effort to share your thoughts about your experience at our hotel. We hope you are feeling much better now.

We regret that you encountered some inconvenience in some areas of our services such as the on-going renovation and construction for our expansion. Misibis Bay takes pride in its standards of service excellence, and any lapse is always immediately looked into and addressed by our department heads to ensure continuous improvement of our services.

We look forward to being of service to you very soon. On your next visit, kindly contact me directly and I would be more than happy to personally arrange your stay with us.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Associate Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    226
    118
    55
    42
See reviews for
361
167
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Misibis Bay resort offers lots of activities, from flying fox to ATV tour to Segway, Hobie Cat, kayaking and heaps more! If you are travelling with children, not to fret as they have a kids centre where you can leave your children and they can look after them for a minimum cost. You will enjoy your day activities and so will your kids. We got a beachfront villa and we loved it. It was huge and it had a very nice view too. On a clear day you can see Mayon Volcano on your sunset cruise.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapresto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Kapresto,

Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!


Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We truly appreciate your for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, and we are delighted that our services have pleased you.

It is our happiness to hear that you were amazed by our rooms and impressed by the options of our recreational activities to choose from. Indeed, it is a must try. We are also very pleased that you enjoyed the panoramic view of Mount Mayon while harboring the beach front sunset.

On behalf of Misibis Bay Team, I thank you and your family very much for your patronage and look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Associate Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka Prefecture, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

With their excellent service, delicious food (especially the bicol express, laing and pizza bicolandia) and friendly staff. It only made our vacation one of the most special and memorable. We were really surprised because we did not expect much from this resort. This is truly a pride of the bicolanos!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TGPSSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Louie N,

Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments about your stay. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our buffet and delicacies.

Your positive feedback has been most gratifying and is passed on with the entire Misibis Bay team. This will certainly encourage them to continue to excel providing genuine service to all our valued guests.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and we wish you the best in your personal and business endeavors. We look forward to your next visit soon.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Associate Front office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

THE GREAT
I've seen advertisements about this resort and has heard about them from other friends so even if the rates were expensive, I went ahead and made reservations. After all, it is to celebrate 2 special occasions.

Our package comes with free city tour and the entire family enjoyed this. Seeing Mayon that close and standing tall agaisnt the sky is impressive!

On our way to the resort - true to what I've seen in the website and the pictures, the resort is a hidden treasure among the mountains, beautifully landscaped with a number of pools and a long stretch of beach. The beach view rooms are spacious - it has a small kitchen and dining area, living room with comfy sofa which can also sleep 1 or 2 and a separate bedroom.

During our arrival, we were welcomed with cold refreshing drinks and a dance presentation which has a very nice touch to it.

THE GOOD
The breakfast, lunch and dinner selection is OK, not that spectacular but nevertheless good. The staff are courteous and helpful.

The toiletries provided with the room are from the line of Salvatorre Ferragamo fragrances and it smells good.

THE NOT SO GOOD
We've got a beach view room which on the good side has a captivating view of the sprawling beach but unfortunately also makes you VERY visible to the rest of the beach goers. There are some rooms perched higher on the incline but ours isn't. In fact the stairway to the beach is right outside our room which makes it a common passageway for guests. That definetely ruins the privacy. If you pull the blinds closed, there goes your scenery which is the main selling point of the room.

THE BAD
The doors from the living room to the bedroom and to the CR is very heavy and quite a challenge for a woman of regular strength to push open much more so for kids. Additionally, there were no doorstoppers so it really makes entering and leaving the bedroom a hassle.

The coffee provided inside the room is a disappointment. It is not branded - just a generic packaged coffee powder that doesn't taste good. And they provided 1 small pack a day only. I expected much more from a luxury resort.

MY MAJOR DISAPPOINTMENT -
Prior to traveling to Misibis, I've made a couple of calls to the Manila Reservation Office to explicitly indicate that this trip of ours is to celebrate 2 birthdays in our family. I didn't fail to remind the officer to make sure this is noted so that the staff can prepare something nice for the celebrants and make them feel special.

When I've checked into the resort, I made the same reminder with the front desk officer. I'm not looking for something extravagant from the resort. Just a simple gesture like singing happy birthday or anything that acknowledges their birthdays will be good.

From the start until the end of our trip, there were no special greetings from the resort or any extraordinary effort to recognize my 2 special family members.

In this day and age when more and more resorts are sprouting up left and right and each of them offering similar amenities, what differentiates a resort is the service - to be exact - personalized service. You wanted to feel special and recognized. Unfortunately I didn't experience this with Misibis which supposedly is marketed as a luxury hotel and to think I've made a couple of reminders.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kerriegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Kerriegan,

Greetings from your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We truly appreciate you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us because your feedback is extremely important to us to improve our products and services.

We regret that you encountered some challenges and difficulty in our food and beverage, room and to your special arrangements.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Misibis Bay takes pride in its standards of service excellence, and any lapse is always immediately looked into and addressed by our department heads to ensure continuous improvement of our services.

We have taken serious note of your comments and rest assured that appropriate action will be taken to avoid this kind of inconvenience in the near future. We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

We look forward to being of service to you very soon. On your next visit, kindly contact me directly and I would be more than happy to personally arrange your stay with us.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Associate Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were at Misibis Bay last December 2012. To have a world-class resort at a "remote place" was just astonishing!!! Everyone in the group was one in saying that the place proved to be beyond our expectation.
It is a place the Philippines can really be proud of. Our stay coincided with the soft opening of the Casino, I just hope that the "Casino crowd" will not in any way "spoil' the privacy of the guests once it is fully operational.
Rooms we used were superb, very classy. With full Acca Kappa toiletries. Guests can avail of the free foot washing.
Generally all water sports were free, kayak, paddle board, even Hobie cat was free. Kudos to the guys manning the water sport they were very helpful and professional ( apology as I forgot your names, bless you guys).
The free breakfast was just one of the best buffet breakfasts I've had. Aside from the usual buffet breakfast fare, there was a Fried rice station were you can concoct your own version of fried rice.
Area for improvement... they probably need to add additional front desk personnel to address guests' request specially during check in and check out.
Other than that Staff were very helpful and eager to please.
Truly a wonderful vacation.
Thanks!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edbsbc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your valuable comments about your stay.

Your positive feedback has been most gratifying and is passed on with the entire Misibis Bay team. This will certainly encourage them to continue to excel providing genuine service to all our valued guests.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and we wish you the best in your personal and business endeavors. We look forward to your next visit soon.

Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Associate Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

the service was good except for when we requested for the "bayong" for my mom, we had to follow up 3 times. everyone else was helpful and you get free popsicles given to you while you swim. a lot of them would offer different activities you could try for free. they are all helpful and nice. i especially liked the itinerary set out for you when you arrive. it is a beautiful place and the grounds, rooms, pretty much everywhere was well-maintained. food was good but way too pricey as the dinner buffet was 2000 per head. the staff was kind enough not to charge for my kid brother as he did not eat much. it was a good family vacation for us.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pinksocks1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Pinksocks1208,


Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your honest feedback. We regret that you have encountered some challenges in our services.

We have taken serious note of your comments and rest assured that appropriate action will be taken to avoid this kind of inconvenience in the near future. We hope that this experience will not deter you from staying with us again.

At the outset, please allow me to apologize for the service shortfalls you have encountered while staying at our resort hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing to stay at Misibis Bay, and we look forward to being of service to you in your next visit to us.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
ASsociate Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I went here last November to relax before the Holidays. Yes, the Holiday's can be very stresfful even when it is supposed to be a vacation.

We stayed in the Garden View Villa which is a bit far from the main club house, however, they offer golf carts to shuttle you around the place (just schedule a pick-up with the front office). The room was nice, clean, and ultra modern. The bed was nice and soft, the only bad thing I can say about the loding was that the shower took a few minutes to produce warm water.

Their service is excellent, and they have very attentive staff that are very courteous to offer you help when needed.

Value for money is okay, given that I got this at a discounted price from other online travel sites. I would say that the discounted price is the fair price and their full price would be steep for what you are actually getting.

Breakfast which usually comes for free with the loding is great, lots of choices. However, the lunch and dinner buffet is far from impressive. The food is very normal and the pricing, it's priced 3x the price of an ala carte menu. So if you don't feel like you'll be enjoying their entire buffet line-up, I suggest you just go for ala carte.

As for the activities, there's snorkeling, billiards, ping-pong, fussball, zip-line, and watersports at the beach. The sand is full of pebbles, not boracay-like so don't expect something power white.

Over-all, I would say that if you get this at their discounted prices, it would be a good place to stay and relax. The atmosphere here is very relaxing and the food is okay. However, getting this at full price, I would be inlclided to say that you're better off spending it somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank primopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misibis, Front Office Manager at Misibis Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Primopen,

Greetings from Misibis Bay Resort, your Luxury Island Playground!

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your honest feedback.

We regret that you encountered some challenges in our heater and food choices for lunch and dinner. We have taken serious note of your comment and rest assured that appropriate action will be taken to avoid this kind of inconvenience in the near future.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the luxurious amenities and the improved services of our hotel staffs. Your kind words has not only boosted the confidence of the team, but renewed the enthusiasm and their zest for the job. I would like to assure you of our continued sincerity and dedication to service in behalf of our hotel staffs.

We thank you for your continued support and it is always a pleasure for us to be at your service.


Yours truly,

Ma. Sherein Gaviola
Associate Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagraray Island
33.4 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
199 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 14 in Legazpi
459 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#7 of 14 in Legazpi
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 14 in Legazpi
165 reviews
13.2 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
83 reviews
54.9 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Property: Misibis Bay Resort
Address: Misibis Bay | Albay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing