We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Misibis Bay Weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Misibis Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
pque
1 review
“Fantastic Misibis Bay Weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

It was a vacation to remember. Their rooms were well-cleaned and maintained. Bathroom was huge and enjoyed the surprise I got from the Ferragamo toiletries that they had to offer. Television channels were quite limited but other than that, room was fantastic and we were happy that they also give the minibar snacks for free, They do have a wide array of activities to choose from. I recommend trying the ATV. Food was reallydelicious and the service was great, too. We will definitely come back next year!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jem o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    212
    110
    50
    39
See reviews for
336
159
14
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our Misibis Bay experience is definitely one for the books! Delicious food and great facilities! The staff are very polite and they treat their guests like VIPs. There's also a wide array of activities to choose from (I highly recommend the ATV to the hilltop!). It's definitely worth every penny! I would prefer Misibis Bay over Bella Rocca anytime. It's perfect for both getaway with friends and family! :)

Room Tip: If you stay in a garden view, make sure you stay at the second floor or your room isn't facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank your_solemate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We bought the Misibis Bay Deal from Deal Grocer. Upon our arrival in Legaspi Airport, a representative of the resort is waiting for us, he immediately directed us to our Van to start our tour. We had Raffy as our tour guide who is very attentive to our needs. By the way we are a family of nine (including 2 kids) so we have the van all to ourselves. It was very considerate that he dropped us in Hotel Venezia (which is a sister company of Misibis Bay) to use the restroom before we start the tour. The tour is just what we expect and got to see all the tourist spot in Legaspi, Mt. Mayon was a little shy though (the weather is cloudy) ,didn't let us see his full glory. Before getting to the resort, we ask for a place to eat. We dropped us off to this restaurant who offer P177 buffet meal. The food was delicious, they have shrimps and everything. It was truly value for Money. After an hour drive, at 1pm, we finally arrived at the Resort. We are welcome with Coconut leaves garland with a fish design and dancing Men in native costume (Ibalong playing in the background, which got the kids singing it all through out our stay). They gave us complimentary drinks and fish crackers while we wait in the lobby. It just took us 10mins to check in and we are shown to our rooms by golf carts. We got Villa 24 and 25 (1 bedroom deluxe). Our villas are just beside the pool and is situated in the middle of the resort (near the spice market and beach side). All of us love our rooms especially the bathroom that has rain shower head and bathtub. We went gaga with the provided Acca Kappa and Salvadore Ferregamo toiletries. I forgot to mention that they gave us a suggested itinerary to help us maximize the time of our stay in their resort so we did just about that. On our 1st day, we started with all the free water sport and by night time went swimming on their pool. 2nd day we took the eco tour ( ampi-theater) and went to the zip-line area. We are very fortunate that it has stopped raining when we got there because they suspend all activity when it rains. We also rode the mountain bike around the resort. By lunch time we hang-out on the seaside and had our lunch there. We told the staff that we want to snorkel so he just called somebody to pick us up by the seaside to bring us to the marina. Though they dont have the best snorkeling spot, you could still see some tropical fishes and the giant clams they put there. We really enjoyed it. After that we spent all afternoon doing their watersports and swimming. On our final day, we forgot to visit the chapel on the hill so we again sign up for the eco- tour however they told us the line was long and that it will not be available until 3pm, we are really a persistent group so they pulled some strings and got us our tour. We got Capt. Jun as our guide who is very accomodating. We took almost all our pictures and even suggested where to post to get excellent pictures. He is one exemplary employee.

And about the food, they have great buffet selection. Our tummys are very happy everytime. They have grilling stations at night and omelets, pancake and friend rice station in the morning. Though you have to wait to be serve its still a small price to pay for a delicious hot meal. The one thing i didn't like is it was very hard to flag down a waiter to clear out the table and have it set up but once you get their attention they will be very attentive to your needs.

All in all, our family had such a great time during our stay, we bonded with all the activities they offer, we are all very comfortable in our rooms, and our tummys are very happy with the selection of food they offer. They have a number of courteous and accomodating staff that will let you feel like VIPs. We cant wait until we visit this place again!

Room Tip: Villa 24 and 25 is located in the middle of everthing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rizzy_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

This place is a tourist trap, rooms looks nice at first view, but no hot water, brown outs, no sea view, no balcony, no table to work on, no service when your internet is down, nothing to do in the area, limited selection of food, long transfer from airport on bad roads makes it a place I cannot recommend.

Martin

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MartinBackstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived in Misibis Bay after an hour long trip by the resort van that picked us up from the airport. The place was fully booked and while The Reception Group did try to make arrangements for a smooth check in process, the housekeeping staff just could not get the rooms ready in time!
We arrived at 11am at the resort, check-in time was supposed to be at 2pm. They were only able to check us in at 2:55pm. Turned out the previous tenant busted a door handle and they needed to change it. It took 4 maintenance men to change 1 door handle (seriously?). If they had given me a screw-driver I was thinking, I could have changed the door handle faster myself. In the meantime, the 4 maintenance guys were making our floor dirty by walking around the room that I had to call housekeeping to clean it up again!

Beyond that initial hiccup, we had a lovely vacation! The food was delicious, the place was gorgeous and looked exactly like it did on their website! The Reception Group gave us an itinerary of the various things that we could do during our stay. We're pretty much a lounge around type of family so it suited us fine that the resort was remote, and there really was not much else to do other than being in the resort. You could choose to take an ATV up the mountain if you wanted.

Our package (One Bedroom Deluxe) allowed us the use of the watersports (Kayaking, pedal boat, hobiecat sailing, wind sailing) all for free. We also had a free zipline, which my teenagers enjoyed! We had so much FUN just bonding together!

What was unfortunate was that our package included full board (all meals free), but when we were telling the restaurant staff about it, they told us only breakfast was free and not lunch and dinner! We tried approaching waiters twice, but as we left Manila in a mad rush and had not printed our package options, I could not prove it. (I was also not so sure as I booked the resort months in advance, and was only able to know with certainty when we returned.) Our fault for not insisting and going up to reception/guest services about it.

Likewise, our package included a free City Tour, which we didn't get. Van drivers were going on a tight schedule and needed to bring us back to the resort right away. But, it makes you think, "Why bring me to the resort at 11am when you'll only allow me to check-in at 2pm?" You could have given me a city tour while we were Legaspi. Anyway, Legaspi is a pretty small place so it's something that we skipped.

The service was very good! People were very friendly, and accommodating! It's just that at times you need to wait very long for things to happen, or call guest services twice to make sure that they understood your request... You could see that the staff were running around because the place really seemed understaffed! If you're used to 5-star Makati service, this place is a bit lacking! It's not 5-star calibre.

However, considering that this beautiful resort is in this remote place in Bicol, then I'm very happy with the service they provided. I don't think you'll find a resort comparable to this in Bicol. E.g. The towels smell good, the place smells nice!. Aircon is new and can easily be controlled. Great facilities! Very clean! Beach is nice! They have golf carts to take you everywhere!

It was a big surprise that when I was feeling dizzy and lying in the room, the girl from housekeeping very nicely and courteously offered for the resort doctor to see me, and in a few minutes he was there! After being given pills for dizziness, I felt great and was able to enjoy more of the resort's activities! At the same time, the next day when we were planning our activiites and signing up to go boating with cave exploration, the same doctor was there at recreations explaining that the activity would involve climbing the mountain a bit, with a lot of stairs. He very nicely said, "Mam, you really have to be the very sporty active type or you will be very tired!" I got the cue and lounged on the beach chairs while my family enjoyed the water sports! At the end of the day, I appreciated the doctor's advice.

Last, my 6yr old son liked eating in the room rather than in the restaurant. Tip: We would order food an hour before a time when we really wanted to eat! So, we were still happy with the food quality when it arrived!

Overall, our family enjoyed ourselves on this vacation! There were a lot of hiccups, but hey! You're on vacation. Enjoy yourself! :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Just arrived today,so far here's a heads-up...

Pick-up service was more welcoming than the resort's staff. To think it's an outside company

Arrival at the resort,dancers seem tired,unsmiling. Front desk forgot to give us our key. Welcome drinks were not cold. Cold towel smellewd great though.

Room,no hangers.
Requested for some,plastic ones were given. Not what we were expecting from a "luxury hotel".Weird,funky smell from toilet.

Restaurant staff were busy chitchatting before attending to us. Complimentary bread and soup were great though.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kris Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Misibis Bay Resort was a great place to get away with the family. After a rocky start in getting there, we were picked up in Legazpi and carted away to a beautiful and relaxing resort for a long weekend of family bonding.

The resort is about a 75 minute drive from the airport through nice mountains with sea views here and there. Upon arriving, you realize that the resort is huge and pretty remote, perfect for getting away from the rest of the outside world for a few days.

Our room (1BR Family Villa) opened onto one of the many pools in the resort. Made it very enjoyable for the kids as they could open the door and jump in, and easy for us as we could see them from almost anywhere in the room. Smaller kids are required to wear life jackets, which makes it even better for the parents.

Service was very good. Would have been excellent if more of the staff spoke better English, but overall the staff was great. The buffet breakfasts and dinner were excellent, with enough food to ensure you only needed to snack between them for lunch.

Overall, Misibis Bay was a great vacation getaway. Hope to make it back there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Stolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagraray Island
33.4 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Fina
Hotel Fina
#1 of 2 in Tabaco City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#8 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#1 of 13 in Legazpi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
13.2 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#5 of 13 in Legazpi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Property: Misibis Bay Resort
Address: Misibis Bay | Albay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing