We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Kid friendly too!”
Review of Misibis Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Misibis Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent! Kid friendly too!”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Staying in misibis bay is such an experience. The place was great and the staff was really accommodating and friendly. It is really better to upgrade to a villa. Because going there, we were anticipating the horror stories we read online, but our stay in a villa disproved all that.

Room Tip: Get a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evilstepmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    224
    117
    54
    42
See reviews for
360
164
15
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

The room, or suite, was excellent! Pool was 2m away from when opening up the terrace doors, we were on ground level. Beach was just a short walk from the pool.
Very good service with very helpful staff. At the beach the staff were very accomodating in lending equipment, our children even borrowed buckets and shovels for building sand castles.
There is a very good playroom for the children, lots of games.

Too bad there wasn't a restaurant or bar at the beach front though. But that is the only bad thing we could come up with! And perhaps that food is good but not super.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bredina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Visited the resort with family and had a really fun and relaxing, though activity packed weekend.

Upon landing in Legazpi, we were picked up at the airport in nice vans. The friendly drivers/ tour guides gave us cold bottled water and cookies to enjoy while we went on the city tour. They were knowledgeable about the sites we visited and would point out places of interest and share trivia about the place with us. Mayon volcano was a majestic site and pictures really do not do justice to how beautiful it is. The trip to the resort was quick and comfortable.

Upon check-in, we were welcomed with woven fish necklaces and a tribal Ibalong dance. A cool towel, refreshing pandan water and fish crackers were provided at the lobby. Check-in and briefing was a breeze and we were immediately introduced to our efficient and friendly recreational officer who was in charge of our schedule of activities during our stay. We were whisked to our rooms, and a golf cart was provided for my aunt who has difficulty walking. Our luggage was delivered to our villas without delay.

The junior premier seaside villas we stayed in was amazing. We had a suite with 2 day beds, a breakfast nook, a master suite with 2 beds. My sister and aunts stayed in the adjoining villa with 2 beds and a day bed. Both rooms had spacious baths and separate toilets, and scenic balconies that look out directly onto the beach. The bonus of the room was that the master suite in the junior premier villa had a huge picture window that gave us the majestic view of the sea right from our bed. Fantastic!

Amenities were first class, the bed and beddings plush, clean, and very comfortable. The villa had flatscreen televisions, minibar, a sink at the dining area, ample closet space and shelving, and an iPod dock. Room temperature was cold just the way we like it, and the rooms cozy and plush.

The staff of the resort were all polite, friendly, and eager to please and serve. Our Recreations Officer Isobel was particularly nice and efficient. The activities and schedule planned out for us were fantastic and we had a lot of fun riding the ATV's, going on the zipline, and just generally enjoying the resort. We also went on a sunset cruise. It rained on our cruise, but luckily the sun still came out and we were able to see it set, and were even blessed with a rainbow. Too bad Mayon was hidden behind the clouds.

We thoroughly enjoyed the resort's swimming pools and appreciated the well-designed layout of the resort. The lady at the pool bar gave us ice candies and cookies to enjoy while swimming in the eternity pool. Attendants were discreet and would even make sure that our belongings were arranged neatly on the pool chaise.

Villas were well placed and spaced giving guests privacy without having to walk too far to get from one place to another. Landscaping was nice and gave the resort a lush tropical feel. The beach itself had yellowish sand and was quite rocky, but very clean. Kayaks, paddle boats, hobie cats, and jet skis were available. Misibis offered a good variety of activities for both the sporty and less active guests. There was a play room for kids, a pool table, a table tennis setup, a gym, and spa. We had nice relaxing massages as part of our package which we opted to enjoy in the comfort of our villa.

One disappointment though was the food. Their buffet selection was decent, but I've seen better at several luxury resorts. The food preparation was not up to par with other high end resorts and first class luxury hotels we've visited. The restaurant staff was similarly unprepared and needs more training in buss service. It seemed like the restaurant was sorely understaffed as dishes were left to pile up on our tables. We also had to wave around like crazy just to get a drink of water. However, the waiters were truly eager to serve and please and would really make sure to ask you if you want anything else from the buffet. The wait staff needs to be trained properly not to allow this to happen. In other luxury establishments, staff to guest ratio would be small, and the staff would be trained to anticipate the needs of the diners.

The grill stations were particularly lackluster as those manning the grills tended to overcook the beef and pork. Dishes had similar tastes and decidedly lackluster. Even their Bicol Express was a huge disappointment as our cook at home makes a better dish than they did. If you are expecting seafood to be served much like with other high end beach resorts, you will be sorely disappointed as their seafood selection has slim pickings.

Dessert was the biggest disaster of all. They actually served room temperature, liquid mousse on our last night at the resort. Fruits were not particularly good quality either. Prizes for ala carte are on the expensive side, especially for the taste and quality. Drinks are ridiculously expensive and a total rip-off in my opinion. High end resorts in Palawan don't charge as much for drinks. Imagine having to pay almost 180+ pesos for a can of Coke, and a similar amount for iced tea that decidedly tastes like Nestea. For some reason, the resort's price points for their food and beverages is just ridiculously high compared to other similarly posh establishments.

If the resort's food and beverage management can step up their game and improve their food, service, and prices, it would really go a long long way in making the guest experience at the resort a wholly satisfying one. The food isn't really bad, but foodies out there who appreciate the nuances of fine cuisine will definitely find the fare at Spices below standards.

That being said, the main highlight of the resort for me was really the view we had in our room. I just enjoyed watching the sea from the bed, as I snuggled under the covers with a book. Very very relaxing!!!

Overall, a wonderful stay at Misibis Bay, and would definitely welcome the opportunity to return.

Room Tip: The beach front villas are the best! The villa beside ours even had its own private plunge pool. An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Misibis Bay Resort has a good balance of having all the creature comforts any discerning person would require while keeping it vernacular through their great hospitality, local staff, good food. Ive noticed that some good resorts lose their identity when aiming for the 5-star service. Good thing this resort didnt.

As I said the beach is nothing to rave about, but its not really about the beach. Its about the different activities that you can do there. I went with my family ( my wife, my kids 7yr old and 3 yr old, and my wife's family) All of us tried the zipline, underground caving, scuba diving, sunset cruise to view Mayon volcano.

Special mention is the ATV ride up the hillside to view the sunrise. (highly recommended) Most of the time its on road driving, but there are enough rough road patches to keep you on your toes. When you reach the top, the guide will serve you coffee and cookies while appreciating the spectacular view.(warning: call time is 5am)

To top it all off, I love the food...good thing because there are no nearby restaurants outside the resort.

To sum it up, if you just want to lounge and be a beach bum this is a nice beach.. but there are a lot of beaches in the Philippines that can serve the same purpose (and much cheaper). But if you are looking for adventure this is where the resort really shines. My suggestion is to try the different activities the resort offers, because for me, this is what Misibis Bay resort is all about.

Room Tip: Get the beach front villas, priced a bit more but worth it because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank architectjason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This is so far the best island resort I've visited. Boracay/Bantayan and every beach I know was beaten by this beautiful resort. The sand is not as fine as Boracay but the beach itself is clean, the SERVICE IS TOP NOTCH. I could not ask for more. I do not know how they do it really, from the land transfer going to the resort itself, till the transfers going back to Legazpi. Service is superb!

We had a very comfortable ride going to the resort. Upon reaching the island, we were transferred to a private cruise going to the resort. We were given Lei's and welcome drinks and there's a welcome dance everything guests arrive. They also have a Recreations Department, they assign one person to guide you with the rest of the activities you can do. The resort offer a LOT of activities from videoke, segway, hobie cat sailing and etc.

Food is good as well though its too expensive for a glass of coconut shake for almost $6 (it wasn't on the menu but they provided one for me). But the service was just impressive. We didn't have to ask for water, table napkins, towels, or anything! Everything was just there!

While lounging in one of their sun beds, we were given free water/ice candies to eat. :) Every time we are going to have a swim, they take good care of your belongings, make sure your towels are placed neatly.

There's so much good things to say in this resort. My partner is very particular with service that's why he said we will DEFINITELY visit Misibis Bay resort again. 5 days is probably not enough... or maybe, you wouldn't want to leave the resort!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadeandthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

One of the most beautiful beach resorts I have been to in the country. The sand is not as fine as that of Boracay's, but beach itself is clean and sand is light khaki color.

SERVICE is top-notch. They are the first resort I have been to which gives free complimentary water bottles to guests (no charge at all!).

They also have one of the best RECREATIONS DEPARTMENT! We did so many things during our 3-day stay here like videoke, Segway x2 tour of the resort, jet-ski, ziplining, Hobie-cat surfing, windsurfing. They offer a lot more activities but we can't try out all of them due to limited stay. They also have game room! You can play xbox, PS3 and Wii in the kiddie game room.

FOOD QUALITY is so-so. The buffet spreads are generally OK, but with a price that is almost near the 5-star hotels in Makati, I expected more. Ala-carte cooking is unsatisfactory in my opinion. Their sister hotel - Venetia - in Legazpi City cooks way better than them.

ROOM is excellent! They go out of their way to please guests. We booked a villa with king-size bed. They give us a free abaca hand-woven bag (bayong) as a souvenir, which you can use as a beachbag too. THen they also have abaca slippers! Room ambience is modern and spacious.

POOLS : simply amazing! They have an infinity pool and a lagoon pool which runs lengthwise in curves. Good for laps.

SPA massages are SOOO expensive! :( I wanted to get one but had to cancel my plans when I saw the price list.

WI-FI is quite slow, but at least usable!

Only GLOBE has a cell site here, so other cellphone networks will not work.

TIP: better to bring aqua socks/shoes when you want to hit the beach. The sand is not that rough, but you will step on a lot of flat round stones (they're smooth) and natural shells which does not make walking the shoreline easy. Not that they are not painful by the way.

Misibis Bay resort also boasts that it is one of the only 3 resorts in the Philippines that made it to the exclusive list of best resorts in the world (I forgot the name of the book). The other 2 are Escaya (Bohol) and Discovery Shores (Boracay).

Room Tip: Let reception officer know if you prefer your room to be nearer the pool or the beach. I would sugge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vanilla-ivory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was our second stay at the resort. The first was when the developers were just starting to build structures (early 2008 I think) and the second was two weekends ago where we stayed for two nights. Contrary to our nightmare stay back then (due to the noisy karaoke singing all day and till early evening), this time, we had the most relaxing weekend.
Generally, Misibis lives to its reputation of being a small luxury hotel. Like any establishment, however, it has its own flaws, if we are critical of everything about the place. But I'd rather focus on the positive experience we had.

A van picks up guests from Hotel Venezia to transfer to Misibis. Aside from the driver, a cheerful guide provided a general overview of the place you would pass through. He also offered cookies and cold bottled water as soon as you board the van. It was scorching hot when we arrived but there were two ever-smiling Ibalong dancers providing entertainment to arriving guests. Complimentary drinks were provided as soon as we entered the reception. Check-in was a breeze. We took a golf cart to our villas and our luggage followed without delay. Butlers did not seem to wait for any tip after they dropped off our luggage. The villa was huge with complete amenities you would expect from a luxury hotel.

Food was great and carefully selected. You could exchange plesantries with the waiters and they seemed to exude a certain comforting character. I guess it adds up to the good ambience that the restaurant already posseses.

Guests have the option to take their food near the beach and it didn't seem to bother them to set-up tables and all. A romantic breakfast or dinner indeed. On a lunch (and then a dinner), however, we were told that they only had a prepared set of menu (considering the very low occupancy that time) and not a buffet. To our surprise, the food they prepared for me and my husband could feed five more guests!. It was unbelievable; we ended up not touching some of the plates at all.

One thing I really liked was that they offered unlimited bottled water wherever we went: beach, hobie, zip line, snorkeling...The staff are commendable with their friendly but not-over-eager-to-please-approach to guests. Unlike other resorts where bottled water is limited to two a day in your fridge, as long as you are still billeted, you could ask for a dozen a day and they will gladly add more.

It was also good to note that the resort has put up solar street lamps along the road, making it a truly eco-park in the near future.

The island faces the Pacific. Thus, it is directly vulnerable to typhoon. But, the Philippines being a tropical country, typhoon is a way of life. It only comes during the season anyway.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: If you love the sound of the water, choose the beach front villa. It is pricey but worth every secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rower98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cagraray Island
33.4 mi away
Tugawe Cove Resort
Tugawe Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Caramoan
196 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Oriental Legazpi
The Oriental Legazpi
#4 of 14 in Legazpi
454 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#6 of 14 in Legazpi
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#2 of 14 in Legazpi
164 reviews
54.9 mi away
The Avenue Plaza Hotel
13.2 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#1 of 14 in Legazpi
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misibis Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misibis Bay Resort

Property: Misibis Bay Resort
Address: Misibis Bay | Albay, Luzon 4509, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Cagraray Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cagraray Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Misibis Bay Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a tropical hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets wild natural beauty. This verdant, beach-fringed island offers sophisticated pleasures on land and water – from a relaxing foot wash, welcome upon arrival in your villa, to splashing, sailing or diving in the jewel-like sea and in the pristine lagoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Misibis Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misibis Bay Hotel Cagraray Island
Misibis Bay Resort Philippines/Cagraray Island, Bicol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing