We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful spot and wide open view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful spot and wide open view”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our first visit to Brittany got off to a delightful start with our four night stay here. We had no car and arrived by train and taxi, but from Le Manoir we could walk down the road to the beach and a row of shops and restaurants. If you do this at night, you may need a torch. It was out of season, but most things were still open and we could hire bikes. This was an up market B and B, costing slightly less than its UK equivalent. There was the welcoming sight of an honesty bar, and good muesli, fruit, charcuterie, breads and jam were available each morning.

No shower, only a shower attachment in our room which was fairly dark, but it did have a small fridge, a view of the sea and, most importantly, a comfortable bed. Our courteous and helpful host had fluent English and gave us a lift to Cap Frehel when we wanted to walk to Fort-la-Latte. Quite warm and pleasant weather most days (end of September) and I would recommend this hotel if you want to sit and read beside their large duck pond looking over La Manche and a vast sweeping stretch of sand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    56
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
54
163
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Had called in earlier during the day to get a brochure and returned later the same day to stay for the night. Loved the welcome we received, the outlook is wonderful with the grounds and lake then the seafront. Parking straight outside and easy access to nearby restaurants which all have guest recommendations from a welcome pack in the room. The breakfast with home made preserves was lovely. This is a hotel we would happily return to in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerseybeans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_du_Manoir_, Owner at Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thanks for your encouragement!

We enjoy really nice reviews like yours and always try to give value for money.
We appreciate guests like you who book directly instead of booking via "wholesale agencies"

Thank you. We shall be pleased to welcome you in our "Orangerie" which will be tilledwhen you next visit!

Best regards

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a magnificent setting, fabulous views over the beach at Les Sables d'Or, tranquil garden with wandering ducks and a great orangerie for afternoon drinks and the "to die for" breakfasts! Jerome and his family are the perfect hosts! An ideal base to explore this
beautiful and unspoilt part of Brittany.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggsmoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

For 5 nights, my wife & two teenagers used this amazing manor as a base to explore Bretagne. We slept like babies in the cozy beds with warm comforters and soft pillows only to awaken each day to the delight of the European breakfast (bread, home made marmelades & yogurt and granola).
The couple who run the place are very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations and tourism ideas for the ares. We went to Mt. St. Michelle one day, a long local hike another and a horse ride through the local fields.
The ambience was Tres Bretange and open to everyone.

Room Tip: Room no 9 for couples is perfect! We put our 20 & 18 year old in room no. 15 and was great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelYogiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome_du_Manoir_, Propriétaire at Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Many thanks for your review!

We always enjoy a nice feedback, especially with nice photos like yours!

And it motivate us to carry on this way and stay away from on line travel agencies, like Booking, so that we can keep REAL low prices. Only for you.

Thanks again and looking forward receiving you another time at the Manoir.

Kind regards

Jerome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked two rooms here for a 4-day break to celebrate my daughters 36th birthday.
To keep the overheads down you have to book directly with the hotel. I received very prompt answers to my e-mails and phoning through my credit card number was easy as both Jerome and Sandra speak English (and German). When we arrived in the evening we were shown around and a place at the local restaurant (within walking distance) was booked for us by Jerome. In fact he booked the restaurants for us on all three evenings and the last one (Le Relais Saint-Aubin) was really excellent. The breakfasts were delicious with home made jam and yoghurts, orange juice, cereals, cheese and ham with ample supplies of croissants and breads. Coffee, varieties of tea and hot chocolate were brought to your table. It is all very civilised.
Not being very familiar with the area (we were last there 30 years ago) Jerome suggested that we visit the Château de la Hunaudaye about 30 Km away. What an absolutely lovely place in the middle of nowhere. Built in about 1220 and overrun in 1790 it is a wonderful un-crowded site to explore. A great suggestion. We had an excellent lunch, with the local cider, in the Creperie next door.
So with all this praise why didn't I award it 5 stars (which is what I felt emotionally). Well is is because of the bathrooms in both rooms that we booked. Right in the middle is a grand marble topped large wooden wash stand. And I mean large! This makes it quite difficult to get to the toilet and almost impossible to get out of the shower which is very deeply set. We are fairly slim and reasonably mobile but we ended up with bruises from the corner of the marble. This would be very difficult for someone who was obese or who had mobility problems. The owner is aware of this problem and told me they have plans to turn these bathrooms into wet rooms. If that had been the case in rooms 5&6 I would have had no hesitation in awarding the maximum marks.
We would be very happy to stay there again as it was a most relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We have been here 7 out of ten days, the weather hasn't always been the best but in a beautiful place like this it hardly matters.
This is the best accommodation we have ever had, anywhere in the world.
Reasons would include:
Fantastic location and views over the water.
Comfortable cottage, small bathroom but that was fine.
Good free internet to the rooms and outside areas.
English channels on TV, not that we had much time for TV.
Management and staff were wonderful. They could not do enough to help and went well out of their way to assist in a range of areas, especially those that required an interpreter, since we do not speak any French.

When the weather improved, the local beach was fantastic for swimming.
Local bicycle hire was a bonus.
Local restaurants, a short walk away, were really good.

Others have already mentioned the grounds and facilities, we can only agree.

For a peaceful, relaxing time with access to the beautiful Frehel Peninsula, this place is perfect.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We thought this hotel was a real find. It has a terrific setting with views over the sea but also over its own absolutely lovely grounds with a lake surrounded by lawns. It is a gorgeous old building. We had a room in the main house at a very reasonable 55 euros. It was not huge but well equipped with a comfortable bed and small but functional bathroom. (Other rooms are larger (some with views) and at different costs so you have choice.) The hotel is furnished using many antiques which suit it well. The hotel is very well run and friendly. Breakfast was served in the lovely conservatory and offered not just the usual croissant and bread but also homemade yoghurt, muesli and charcuterie and cheese. Drinks - alcoholic or otherwise - are available during the day as well as cakes and there are chairs and sun loungers set out in the grounds. Very welcoming. Its an easy walk into Les Sables where you can eat but the hotel also has details of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukholidaymaker85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
1.1 mi away
La Voile d'Or
La Voile d'Or
#3 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel de Diane
Hotel de Diane
#2 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Bon Cap
Hotel Le Bon Cap
#1 of 1 in Plurien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel de la Plage d'Erquy
1.2 mi away
Auberge l'Air de Vent
Auberge l'Air de Vent
#1 of 1 in Pleherel-Plage-Vieux-Bourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Beausejour
Hotel Beausejour
#1 of 3 in Erquy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel

Property: Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
Address: 38 rue de la Carquois, 22240 Sables-d'Or-les-Pins, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming 400 years old Manor-Hotel 35mn from Saint-Malo and 75 mn from Mont Saint-Michel.All the rooms have a complete bathroom (some withbathtub), Flat screen TV with english channels, safe.Private free carpark on site.Located 300 Yards from the beautiful beach of the Sables d'Or les Pins, the Manor has its own lake and park with seeview.Very large breakfast with home made marmalade, cheese, fruit and home made cake Near the Cap Frehel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Le Manoir Saint Michel Hotel
Hotel Le Manoir Saint Michel Sables-D'Or-Les-Pins, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing