We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Los Horcones de Tucume
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was a bit of a get away and an adventure. The rooms are done very nicely but the grounds are a little rustic and wild. Very quite and relaxing. It's in the tiny town of Tucume. We arrived in the late afternoon after a bumpy combi ride from Chilcayo. We rested a bit and then decided to walk in to town for a bit to eat with out knowing that the locals eat early. Most places were out of food so we took a bus to the next town and found the same to be true. All in all we enjoyed it. The place has a lot of potential but then I think if they focused on it the price would go way up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TanianRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    21
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Good choice of stay in the less travelled Chiclayo area. We ( partner and I ) loved it. Stay in the old section...cheaper and quieter. Stay at least 2 days. Day one walk to the Tucume site/museum...buy the English visitors guide and enjoy the experience. Walk to the lookout and suck in the the view.Include a stroll to Huaca Las Bolas.Take your time...we saw humming birds and burrowing owls. About 3 or 4 hrs. Day 2 for 70soles do the taxi trip that takes you to the local sites...ask reception. We don't do Spanish and the staff only a bit of English but they were great. Its special to have accomadation like this .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarryGoesSurfing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Taking the positives first - property set in lovely gardens with birds singing peace and tranquility, Tucume site a few minutes walk away. The lady that manages the site was kind and helpful. The negatives - the property is 37km from Chiclayo it costs 50 -60 soles in a taxi £15. The rooms are nice and rustic but price is high for facilities. The lady that manages site speaks no English at all. The food is basic fruit and bread for breakfast no eggs. Difficult to arrange tours because start and finish in Chiclayo so extra cost and time.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woobsle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Very good location, Awesome sightseeing. nearest country hotel from "Tucume Pyramids". Beautiful accommodation, clean and nite. Big rooms. The only problem was food service time. Very lovely local people. The prices were reasonable. I passed a happy birthday over there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raton33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LondonJames2050
Level Contributor
161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Loved the Architecture of the accommodation. Clean and extremely helpful, friendly staff. 96% used by Peruvians. No English spoken but fine. Most people stay one night. 45 minutes from Chiclayo. A great breakfast of cornflakes, yoghurt, rolls, pineapple juice and coffee. The dinner menu simply great, even cooked specially for Veggie. Great location as it’s a 5 minute walk from seeing the Tucume Pyramids; we spent 3 hours walking around the official site. Loved lying in a hammock and taking a dip in the pool. Note Museums closed Mondays. There is noise from the unmade up small road behind which is well used, and the dogs and birds are vocal!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonJames2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Good quality boutique type hotel on the outskirts of main city and right outside of Tucume ruins. Rooms on one side of grounds right next to occasionally noisy road that can be a problem if you are staying in a second floor suite. Great breakfast, very friendly staff! Beautiful location.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor rooms or room on inside of grounds on the side against the ruins of the Tucume pyr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexT7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mls76
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

Frommer's hits the nail on the head in describing Los Horcones de Tucume as "stylish rural lodge in the shadow of the Tucume Pyramids." It is unquestionably the best place to stay in the Chiclayo area: charming, clean and well-located. Designed by a Lima architect, its style borrows elements found in nearby Moche, Chimu, and Lambayeque archeological sites and the hotel is situated in the countryside on peaceful and nicely landscaped grounds.

That's why it is such a shame that the hotel lacks on-site professional staff to help guests with transportation and local attractions. There is an on-site caretaker who prepares breakfast and shows guests to their rooms, but that is the extent of the help the on-site staff can provide guests.

Although the hotel boasts that it has a restaurant, this is quite an exaggeration. The night I arrived (approx. 7:30 p.m.), I asked about eating dinner in the "restaurant" and was told that I could have a bowl of chicken soup and a roll. There was no menu and no other option.

The hotel's website also announces that horse-backriding is available. This is true, but guests need to reserve their ride at least a day in advance --- a fact that is not mentioned on the website or by the agent who made my reservation.

Finally, and perhaps, most importantly, transportation to and from the hotel is difficult without hiring a taxi or renting a car. When I arrived in Chiclayo, I called the caretaker of the hotel to ask for assistance in arranging transportation to the hotel, explaining that it was dark and I was a young woman traveling alone. She seemed incensed and suggested that I flag down any passing taxi for the 40 minute ride to the hotel. (I knew this was not advisable. I live in Lima and many Peruvians have warned me never to do this.) After I insisted, she called a taxi to pick me up. I made it to the hotel safely, but not before the taxi driver tried to take advantage of the fact I was an American by claiming that the fare was actually higher than what we had agreed and that I needed to pay for gas and tolls. As one who has traveled extensively in Peru using taxis this is not standard practice.

In short, Los Horcones is a wonderfully charming hotel, but guests who visit should be prepared to be completely self-sufficient. It is a shame that such a beautiful, well-located inn doesn't take advantage of the niche it fills to become a sought-after resort in the Chiclayo area.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mls76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Horcones de Tucume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Horcones de Tucume

Property: Los Horcones de Tucume
Address: a 200 m de las Piramides de Tucume, Tucume, Peru
Location: Peru > Lambayeque Region > Tucume
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tucume
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horcones of Túcume is an experience of living with ancient secrets and structures made of mud and carob, won the First Prize Gold Hexagon Architecture Biennale 2002 for his integration and harmony with the landscape and culture,designed by architects Rosana Correa and Jorge Burga and built by Innocent Acostaand Juan Santa Maria.Where the sun moves between poles and carob wake up, surrounded by the sound of Chiscos and Chilalos and sheltered by smooth and undulating walls that exude love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Los Horcones de Tucume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing