We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home From Home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Arbor Low

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arbor Low
Ranked #2 of 2 Monyash B&B and Inns
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home From Home!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband & I stayed 3 nights at the Arbor Low and came home thoroughly rested, refreshed and recharged!
The accommodation provided all that we needed, the bed was superb and we slept like the 'Dead' :-)
We especially enjoyed the Guest Lounge where we felt we were at home except for the magnificent views from the windows....and the cows!
The breakfasts were first rated, freshly prepared fruits (strawberries, blueberries, pineapples) were excellent together with the ''Full English' enjoyed by my husband each morning.
We recommend this Farm House to anyone interested in cycling, running, hiking as the owners are well versed in these activities and are extremely helpful in finding a trails/route to suit.
Well done Arbor Low, A Rare Jewel you are....Keep it Up and we will see you again.
Somei & Trevor Back, Gt Bentley, Essex

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomeiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Comfortable, friendly family, a goose egg for breakfast from the family flock. Easy walk to the Stone Circle, close to Chatsworth too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

Great location. I highly recommend this little b&b. There is a great bike trail that passes within half a mile of the house and you can borrow bikes if you ask.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My daughter and I enjoyed our 2 night stay at this farm very much. The owners were friendly and helpful, the food was very good and the room and bath were very comfortable. I was thrilled to find that this farm, which has provided access to the Arbor Low stone circle, had been purchased and refurbished as a B&B as well as a family home. To look out the window and see the earthworks on the hilltop was quite special to me. Two ladies who had their horses with them also stayed while we were there, and it would also be a great base for walkers.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

Arbor Low B+B is ideal for a relaxed break from the city, or as base for cycling / walking the south Dales. Situated on a farm it is peaceful and quiet, yet local pubs and small villages are within a five minute drive.
The owner is friendly, cheerful and very knowledgable about the local area. She has lots of insider information about the best pubs and walks in the area, as well as cycling routes. There are also maps available to borrow for the day, if you did not come prepared.
The accommodation is excellent - cosy and spotless, and the wood fire in the lounge at the end of a long day is just perfect. The cooked English breakfast is delicious, and coffee and tea are available throughout the day.
Several hiking trails start in Monyash, a short drive away, and the Pennine Cycling route is 5 minutes from the B+B (cycles are available for hire).
I found and booked Arbor Low on the internet, as I always do when I travel. It turned out to be an excellent choice.
I have already booked to go back in July. Value for money, friendly atmosphere, fresh air and as energetic or relaxing as you choose: a perfect weekend.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonCapie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2009

We stayed at Arbor Low on a very cold December weekend. The farmhouse is in a fairly remote location, though easily accessible from the road. The owner was very helpful though we arrived late and only stayed one night. The accommodation available consists of one en-suite double room and one twin/double with private bathroom Both rooms were attractive (see pictures on the website) comfortable and very clean. Downstairs, the guests had the use of a dining area, where coffee and tea was available to be made and where breakfast was served in the morning. There was also an extremely comfortable sitting room to relax in. Breakfasts were of very high quality with local ingredients used. We thought this B&B was excellent value and would be very happy to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrsaMinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2008

Arbor Low is a lovely b&b run by hosts who make you feel very welcome. We planned to cycle from Arbor Low along the Penine Bridleway to another farmhouse, and Nicky was very helpful in advising us and lending us a map so we wouldn't get lost!
The b&b is great - our bedroom and en suite was very clean and cosy, and there is a guest sitting room with a wood burner where you can relax in the evening with some wine and watch tv. Breakfast at Arbor Low is delicious and there is plenty of choice.
There is a couple of pubs fairly nearby (within driving or cycling distance) where you can get food in the evening.
It's quite easy to miss the entrance to Arbor Low as it's set off the road down a little track. If you go in winter though, you can see Christmas trees at the end of the drive which mark the entry!
Really beautiful area and definitely somewhere I'd like to return.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skikate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monyash
3.4 mi away
The Lathkil Hotel
The Lathkil Hotel
#1 of 1 in Over Haddon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
4.6 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Farmyard Inn
The Farmyard Inn
#1 of 4 in Youlgreave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.5 mi away
Knotlow Farm B&B
Knotlow Farm B&B
#5 of 40 in Buxton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbor Low? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Low

Property: Arbor Low
Address: Upper Oldhams Farm Long Rake, Monyash DE45 1JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Monyash
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monyash
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arbor Low reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing