We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Passing Thru!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Smithy Tearooms

The Old Smithy Tearooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Monyash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
645 reviews
291 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Just Passing Thru!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stopped here a few times as we travel through this delightful area in the peaks. The old Smithy is the perfect place for a pit stop at any time of year. Good quality freshly cooked tasty and satisfying food to suit every taste and appetite. Muddy boots, motorcycle gear, lycra clad cyclists, they are all welcome here and can be assured that there appetite be sated.
Today I needed a breakfast stop and one of The Smithy's bacon baps (consisting of a generous helping of good quality thick cut bacon sandwiched between the softest and freshest of white baps bit the spot. I took a little while to arrive but you can't hurry fresh cooked food and there was a huge order for several full breakfasts just before us. Thank you - we will be back again, and again, and again...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    32
    5
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
290 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Cafe in monyash”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Great cafe, very busy, nice friendly staff and very nice food.
Good for walkers, bikers or anybody.
Lovely location at Monyash village green

Helpful?
2 Thank Lambers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on a rainy Saturday. The place was quite quiet probably due to the weather. The staff were lovely. I would say we had some of the best service we have had in any restaurant. The food was good for the price paid. The bathrooms are a little run down but that was the only small downside. We will be popping in again I am sure of it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stopped off here by accident. Fantastic tasting and generously portioned breakfast. It doesn't look much from the outside but our food was great and service was pleasant.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daddy_clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
1 review
“No better brekky in the area......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Just happened to have come across other reviews whilst showing a friend where they should go for breakfast when in the area and genuinely shocked to see the below 3 reviews. I realise people are more likely to talk about bad experiences more than their good but, time I talk about my very regular and always fabulous experiences here.
No Sunday is complete without a full Old Smithy Breakfast, always cooked to perfection! The children also look forward to these 'Sunday Treats' because they are treated so well by the staff also. We often visit with friends from around the country, and world, when they are visiting and their first words always when their plate is put in front of them is 'WOW!'- Always! What a repeat statement to get.....
When walking in the area or driving through for a trip out we also regularly get our lunches from here to take with us- always exactly as we ask for- and more. Prices perfectly inline with the local area too!
Keep at it guys, as long as you stay this way, we will stay your customers :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank choccybar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Smithy Tearooms also viewed

Monyash, Derbyshire
Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Old Smithy Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing