We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another Great Visit ...”
other travelers have booked this property
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect Tourist Board awards
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Feature lounge / diner with oak beams and comfy sofa, together with a woodburning stove.
Avonlea Cottage frontal aspect
Tourist Board awards
Lounge / Diner with blazing log fire, TV/DVD/freeview and Broadband below open plan stairs
Welcome bubbly on arrival
Private and secluded sunny rear garden with view to open countryside with two seating areas.
Garden view with open countryside views and second patio for BBQ and al fresco dining an
Large double bedroom with cast iron bed with co-ordinated decorations and linen.
Bedroom with comfortable bed and distressed pine furniture
Bedroom with wicker chair, ladies dressing table / stool and hairdrier
Large bathroom with 3 piece white suite with power shower over and countryside view from window
Relaxing chair with view through bathroom window  to countryside
Fully appointed kitchen with with fine quality porcelain crockery, cutlery and crystal glasses
Fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washer/ and ample utensils any chef.
View over the garden and patio to open countryside
Garden view from kitchen window, is a delight when birds and animals come to visit.
Garden view towards Cottage with 2nd patio. An ideal location for a BBQ and outdoor dining.
Visitors to bottom of Avonlea's garden usually cows or horses
Monyash village showing Avonlea's location with The Bulls Head pub on the village green
The Bulls Head pub and Smithy cafe on the village green in Monyash 150 meters from Avonlea
Hartington - Lambs at play on walk to Beresford and Wolfscote Dale
Walk high above Ladybower Reservoir with picture postcard Peak District scenery.
Chatsworth House with acres of Grounds
Original Bakewell Pudding shop in Bakewell town centre
Bakewell bridge and river Wye. Bakewell is probably the most popular venue in the Peak District.
View from Monsal Head looking down onto Monsal Dale. Beautiful scenery and a must to visit.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alistair...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Another Great Visit ...”
Reviewed August 12, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

... this is our second stay at this lovely cottage, very cosy and welcoming to the small village of Monyash. The cottage is full of all the required amenities that you require whilst on holiday.
The Avonlea Cottage is very central to any places that you wish to visit within the Peak District, this time we explored other areas that we found last time, but never had change to go too.
Bakewell is very close for any required shopping, and more importantly, should you decide not cook meals, the Bulls Head is at the end of the road, which serves excellent meals and a nice cold Pint!
We shall return again at some point knowing the location and property fit ideally into our budget and requirements, very highly recommended by us!
Thank you Chris.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greg J
1 review
“Avonlea Cottage - Monyash”
Reviewed January 7, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We had a 3 night stay and thoroughly enjoyed it. Monyash is a really great place to stay convenient for walks and only 10 minutes drive from Bakewell with a great pub and cafe in the village itself. The accommodation is excellent - really clean with everything you need for your stay. Highly recommend staying here - would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global622...
1 review
“A lovely week in Monyash”
Reviewed December 23, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Our fifth visit to Monyash and once again we were not disappointed.

Our first stay at Avonlea Cottage. A lovely cosy property for two. Well equipped with everything you want on hand. The Christmas decorations another great touch and we made good use of the wood burner.

There are a number of steps in the Cottage, so more challenging for those with limited mobility but impossible to do more in a lovely Cottage of this age.

The Bullshead in the village fantastic for food and almost more than you can eat.

A lovely stay thank you Chris.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2018
A great review from our guests at Christmas 2017. We always decorate Avonlea at this time of year and we had five different sets of guests over this holiday period.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blazastua...
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Quaint cosy cottage”
Reviewed December 10, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

This was our first ever stay in a cottage and this one doesn't disappoint. On arrival it was a nice warm cosy welcome with a nice bottle of bubbles and chocolates. There was also a Christmas tree and decorations up to make our stay feel christmassy. We had some snow and very cold weather during our stay and it was nice and cosy in the cottage. The addition of having a wood burner made it feel even more special. Had a fantastic meal on our last night at the bulls head just down the road. Highly recommended. Cottage is ideally situated to reach many areas of the peak district. We would not hesitate to return to a fantastic place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 12, 2017
A lovely review from our guests. Christmas is a special time and we like to make a stay in our cottage a little bit special.
We have another 4 bookings over the Christmas period, as this is one of our busiest periods and a magical time to visit the Peak District.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DWoollyTr...
Saint Albans, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cozy Cottage at Heart of Peak District”
Reviewed October 10, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage was perfectly situated for our 10-day stay in the Peak District. It was conveniently located to all the sights and attractions. Walking trails located a short distance from the front door, with Bakewell and Buxton only minutes away. The cottage was as promised and the photos are accurate. It is a nice place to stay and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. We would stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Lovely review from our Canadian guests who would definitely return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
_clarecro...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A wonderful well equipped cottage in a perfect location. Monyash is beautiful and we had a great night in the local pub. The cottage has everything you need and is great place to explore the Peaks. Thank you Chris & Carole...lovely personal touch when we arrived too with prodecco waiting for us, we had a great 4 days. Clare and Ant X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2017
Another lovely review from our guests who visited in May. Its nice for us to receive reviews as it help us to understand what our guests like and where we can improve Avonlea, to suit personal tastes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte...
Windsor
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in beautiful, peaceful Peak village”
Reviewed March 17, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We've just returned from our three night stay at Avonlea and we absolutely were not disappointed! From the very first interaction we were welcomed by the very helpful owners and made to feel right at home.

Monyash itself is right in the middle of the Peak District and so the cottage proved the perfect base to explore from. The cottage is easy to find and had all the necessary comforts of home. The log fire was a very pleasant addition to curl up in front of after a long day of exploring. The whole property has everything you could need for your stay - as the description says, you need only bring food!

We did cook for ourselves one evening of our stay and the kitchen was well supplied for self-catering. I would also recommend a visit to the nearby Royal Oak pub, a short drive away, and of course the very local Bull's Head is a must. Just don't make the rookie mistake we did of not realising it didn't open until 5.30pm for dinner!

Overall I couldn't rate Avonlea highly enough and we would definitely stay there again if visiting the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2017
What a stunning review from one of our recent guests and as owners, we really appreciate their comments and feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing