We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to stay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Monyash, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philippa...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 7, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Our family group's ages ranged from 18 to 84 and we found this barn conversion perfect for our holiday.
We loved the layout of Spingle Barn, and we were very impressed with how well equipped it was.
This area of The Peak District was really lovely. We had some fantastic walks and also less energetic visits to local tea shops and tourist places.

Date of stay: March 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorinda G
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was our second visit to Spingle Barn and the excellent standard had been improved upon”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had previously stayed at Spingle Barn in October 2012 and were very impressed by it. I'm pleased to say that our second visit was just as impressive. Blinds had been replaced by gorgeous shutters in the dining area and there was a new huge corner seating unit and a new reclining chair in the lounge area. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. Again, we were amazed at how well-equipped the kitchen was - one of our party enjoys cooking and she was in her element trying (but failing) to use every implement provided! There is so much to do in the local area - on 2 visits we have only scratched the surface. We will be returning, but to our dismay it will not be until 2015 due to other commitments during 2014. I could go on for ever, but the best recommendation is for you to stay at Spingle Barn - I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert B
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC!!!”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What more can you say?
A truly excellent property, with everything you could want in a holiday home.
Very high standard & comfortable for the full party of 8 adults.
The TVs in every room, wifi & the computer provided with all of the local attractions stored on the desktop - what more could you want!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high standard of the property
Liked least: The driveway could of been a bit better for access
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DianeT32
Appleby-in-Westmorland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“First Class !”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our second visit to Spingle barn , Just as good as the first , lovely welcome pack flowers , a yummy choclate cake , wine etc , a great start to our family holiday ! Take a stair gate if you have toddlers , but appart from that everthing is First class , there's even a computer !

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The choclate cake !!!!!!!!!!!!
Liked least: No stair gate
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret...
Scarborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Wonderful place to stay, nothing was too much trouble for Gary, Andrea and Lauren.
Everything we needed and more was there......brilliant walks in the area, for us and the dog. Very comfortable stay, have booked again for next year.
Can't wait!!!!

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: Going home
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyB440
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in lovely area”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Spingle Barn was a wonderful place to stay. We were greeted on arrival with a blazing logburner and superb welcome pack. The house never felt cold in spite of the weather as there was also underfloor heating. The rooms were all spacious and the beds huge and really comfortable. We found the computer provided with internet access very useful. We had an excellent meal at the local pub, a few minutes walk away. For a fabulous walk, take the Monsal Trail between Bakewell and Millers Dale.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick H
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Luxury Barn in a Great Landscape”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent four relaxing and highly enjoyable days at Spingle Barn. It completely lived up to expectations, luxurious and well appointed, up-to-date technology and beautiful bathrooms in every bedroom. All four bedrooms are excellent, two on the ground floor, two upstairs. We highly recommend this property. The owners made a very generous gesture, providing us with a quite unexpected welcome pack! We won't spoil the surprise! The only downside is having to vacate at 9.30am not, as expected, at 10am. The Bulls Head has a good to very good modern restaurant, although the rest of the pub was a bit dingy. We found a great Indian restaurant in Bakewell called Raja's and the food was outstanding.

Date of stay: April 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Having to vacate just a little too early at 9.30am. But it is a minor dislike!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing